We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located property with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Centrally located property with helpful staff”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located and has spacious rooms with very helpful staff. It is priced a little of the higher side but that is probably a function of being in DC. The kitchenette is an added bonus to be considered.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGandhi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear RGandhi123,
We're so glad that you and your family were able to enjoy our hotel, our room sizes and our wonderful location during your recent visit to Washington DC.
We hope that the next time your travels bring you to DC that you will choose to stay with us again!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    641
    157
    38
    37
See reviews for
617
326
118
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

The Washington Circle Hotel is a great hotel with excellent, first-rate reservation service. We had a reservation issue that was our own fault, but Kirsten Richardson made it right. You know there's attention to detail when there's not only a coffee-maker but whole bean coffee with a grinder! Good size kitchen and nice size living room. The bedroom was smallish but actually there was a good balance in use of space. Surely a suite but we didn't have an upgrade that we knew about. Cleaning staff extra pleasant. Good location, except this happened to be a very cold week in the District. The hotel and its staff are both very highly recommended. We did not use either the restaurant or room service. Good, large new tv's plus relatively large closet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Peter C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad that Kirsten was able to assist you with your reservation and that, in turn, you had a wonderful stay with us! You'll have to return to DC soon as it seems Spring has finally arrived!
Best wishes,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed a couples of nights in this hotel during Thanksgiving break week. The staff is really helpful and the hotel is perfectly located : in a safe area, five minutes walk from the nearest station and in a walking distance from Georgetown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faïza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Faïza R,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us over Thanksgiving! We're so glad you were able to enjoy the Thanksgiving Holiday with our wonderful team and enjoy our great location!
We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here twice for weekend trips to DC. Very central location, huge suite-style rooms with oodles of space, kitchenette, and big bedroom and sometimes also separate living/tv area. Found it to be very reasonably priced all things considered - paid around $100-$120 depending on when I went. Would stay again if I got a good deal. My only complaint was that on my second trip I had requested a wake-up call at 7am which I called again at midnight to cancel. They confirmed it was cancelled then woke me up at 6.30am with a wake up call. Then again at 7.30am with a wake-up call. Then again at 9am for house-keeping. Complete mess on the part of the front desk and management and didn't offer to do anything to make-up for it or even offer an apology even though I mentioned it when I was checking out and was really quite annoyed with the incompetent front desk people the 3rd time they woke me up at the crack of dawn on a sunday morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeyafrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear honeyafrose,
thank you so much for sharing your experiences of your past 2 stays with us. We're very pleased that, for the most part, you've been able to truly enjoy your experiences with us. However, we sincerely apologize for not only the mix up with your wake-up call and for then getting woken up by housekeeping, but also for not properly addressing this lapse in service when you brought it to our attention. Please know that we have not only addressed our communication regarding wake-up calls amongst our front desk, but also have revisited our housekeeping policies in regards to knocking on guest doors of guests who have not yet checked out.
We certainly hope that the next time your travels bring you to DC that you will give us another opportunity to provided you with a great experience and that you'll get to enjoy our new mattresses and linens as you sleep in on a Sunday!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was perfect for our needs. The price was excellent for the area as well. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Have recommended this hotel to others. It fits it's four star rating well. It is very comfortable and homey.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nileshore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Nileshore4,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us! we're so glad that our one-bedroom suite and our team helped to make your stay exactly what you needed!
We certainly hope the next time your travels bring you to DC that we can welcome you back!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in this great hotel. The only problem we had was that when we arrived at 5:00 p.m. our room was not ready, so we waited in the lobby for over an hour. This normally would have annoyed the heck out of me as we had dinner reservations at 7:00 at Marcel's and it was 6:15 when we finally got to our room and still needed to change into formal attire, but we were served champagne and the doorman named Michael was so delightful and helpful that it just didn't seem so bad. We also got an upgraded room and drink tickets for the bar. So, well done in the customer service dept.
Our room was clean and spacious. We were very comfortable the whole time. It has been mentioned in previous reviews that the hotel is located in close proximity to a hospital and, so, yes, there is a lot of sirens and commotion at all hours of the day. We were on the fourth floor facing the circle, but we did not find it to be a problem to sleep through the night. If you are not a sound sleeper it could be an issue though.
The location can't be beat. We walked about two minutes to the metro and were able to be almost anywhere within 20 minutes. Also there's an abundance of great restaurants within a 0.5 mile radius of the hotel and places to buy groceries- Whole Foods, Trader Joe's. We ordered room service a couple times and had dinner and breakfast in Circle Bistro and the food was very good.
We had a great time in Washington D.C. and the wonderful staff at the hotel is responsible for a large part of it. Good job to everyone!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank raferjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear raferjack!
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us! It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us; of course, we do apologize that your room wasn't ready, however very pleased to hear that we were able to make it up to you! We're so glad you had a lovely time while visiting our wonderful city and certainly hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to DC!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nothing but praise for this hotel!

I have brought student groups to One Washington Circle for several years now and have nothing but the most complimentary things to say about it. The location is excellent (very safe, and an easy walk to Georgetown or GW, or to the metro), the rooms are spacious and clean, the food is good, and every single member of the staff I have dealt with over the years has been kind, competent, courteous and totally professional.

Is this the "lap of luxury, limousines waiting out front, L'Occitane and Bulgari toiletries" Four Seasons, several blocks away? Of course not. But that is hardly a criticism. There are, of course, different kinds of hotels. That one is for travelers for whom cost is a total non-issue, and that simply is not most travelers. At THIS price point, in THIS category one simply cannot beat the wonderful, first-rate, all-around experience you get here.

Next time I bring a group to Washington, one detail I know I won't have to worry about is where we are staying. We'll be at One Washington Circle!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear ajw65,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback and experiences with the Trip Advisor Community! It is always such a pleasure to host your student groups and yourself when you are in town!
As a team, we very much strive to become the best in class hotels; so it was a pleasure to read that you've identified our efforts and that we've consistently delivered wonderful experiences for you!
As always, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,588 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,453 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
494 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
300 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing