We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property at the right location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice property at the right location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel didn't get as high a rating on some reviews as I think it deserves. For a quick business trip into DC, I chose this location as part of a flight deal.

Having stayed in other DC hotels, I had an idea of what I should get for the price, and what I should expect from the location.

Location -- fantastic. A couple of blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop -- and across the street from GW Hospital. It's located about halfway on K street from the White House to the east, and Georgetown to the west. If you like to walk, a very convenient location.

When I checked in -- and it was very early, before noon, my room was ready. The front end staff was excellent and friendly. There were actually two rooms available, but the staff directed me to the choicer of the two.

My room was ENORMOUS. Having spent the past months traveling to Europe and New York City, this was a supreme pleasure. King sized bed, full kitchen, separate bath, balcony. And absolutely soundproof. Well done.

I didn't stay long, so I couldn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but my brief experience was excellent. If you are a business traveler in need of a quick, tidy, and oversized room, this is a perfect spot.,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rml01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear rml01752,
Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad to hear how much you got to enjoy the hotel's location, room size, restaurant and team despite your short stay with us!
It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back to DC very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    636
    156
    37
    37
See reviews for
612
320
116
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Have stayed at some fine hotels with attentive staff who are well trained and clearly monitored constantly to provide customer service commensurate with room cost. Sometimes it feels like they are doing it in order to keep their jobs. For some reason, the outstanding service delivered by the staff here feels really genuine, not forced by management. One gentleman in particular (Emmanuel?) exemplified this attitude. This is clearly not a stuffy, venerable, expensive hotel. It just delivers a quality experience in a great central location with comfortable accommodations and amazing staff. I was surprised there were no ice machines on the floors, but within five minutes a staff member arrived with a huge bucket of ice that lasted our whole 3-day stay in the large refrigerator. Room service was quick and delicious. Obviously, the nondescript building was formerly apartments, and sure the carpets could use come updating, and the bathrooms are a little small, but this hotel delivers a quality product for much less money than most of the fancier "name" properties in the area. It appears there is a real commitment on the part of ownership to make the hotel a place where customers will make return visits. And by the way, I am a light sleeper and the nightly sirens did not wake me up once.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlessUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear BlessUSA,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review! It was a true pleasure to read and see our team (especially Emmanual) recognized by you!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My first impression was that the hotel staff were afraid of my dog (70 lb boxer mix). We got into our room and it was extremely hot, maintenance staff had to replace the unit. Opened the refrigerator door and found food leftover from the last person. Patio furniture was completely black and dirty, had to clean them off before we could sit down, shower head was broken, toilets hard to flush (had to hold the handle down until it flushed), and lastly we didn't take treats because the website said they give you a welcome bag with treats and poop bags but when I went to the front desk to ask about it, they tried to give me huge trash bags!!! Apparently no doggy welcome bags available. Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper because the hospital is right across the street, also people stand outside and scream in the middle of the night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Shauna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Shauna R,
I'm so sorry to hear that your expectations were not met---we have followed up on the feedback you provided to insure we are providing the expereince both our guests and our furry friends expect when staying at our hotel.
I hope the next time you are in DC you will give us another chance to provide you with the stay we strive to provide to all of our guests!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Honestly the most comfortable bed, pillows and linens that you could ever hope for! The hotel staff is super friendly, the restaurant food is awesome, and the pool was an added bonus for my son. Great location, convenient to so many attractions! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cupcakesmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Hurricane74,
We're so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! And it's so wonderful to hear you enjoyed our brand new mattresses and linens! We're very proud of them and it's always so great to hear a guest truly enjoyed them as well! And we're so happy that your son got to enjoy our pool!
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

booked a 1 bdrm suite. The living room is big with a large balcony. The light colored carpet does not look clean. Kitchen is also outdated. It would be much nicer if they do some renovation to replace the carpet, furniture, etc. The location is good. close to Georgetown neighborhood. George Washington University is across the street. Parking is $30 per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kxz255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear kxz255,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us. While we wished your experience would have been a better one, we do recognize that areas of our hotel are in need up updating and we are looking forward to various rennovations projects that are planned throughout the year to come. We hope that you will give our hotel a try in the future and that you will have a better visit with us.
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for partial business with some pleasure tacked on for almost a full week. The room was well-appointed, very clean, and the quality of the linens and furnishings made us feel that we were in the lap of luxury. The staff offers some of the best service we've seen in DC. Each person who works at One Washington Circle was sincere, positive, friendly and had a "can do" attitude. The location is so very close to the metro with plenty of restaurants close by. We will definitely stay here again. If you get Naara at the front desk - you'll know you'll be well taken care of for sure (though everyone at the front desk seemed like they really cared if you had every need met!).

Room Tip: Excellent quality for a low price! We stayed on the east side - facing residential with partial view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdc1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear sdc1921,
What a wonderful review to read! Naara and our team felt so honored to read it and truly thank you for taking the time to share it! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your part-business/part-vacation visit with us and hope that the next time your travels bring you to DC that we will be able to welcome you back!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent 10 days of June 2014 at One Washington Circle. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Our bed was fabulous and the availability of a kitchenette made things so much easier. The staff was wonderful, especially Dawadi, who was the doorman/concierge. We were greeted every day with friendly smiles and solicitous help. There were apples and ice water with strawberries or lemons in the lobby. They also have a free happy hour every afternoon. They are a stop on the Big Bus tour and just across Washington Circle from a Metro stop. Surprise -- if you want to take advantage of some inexpensive meals, stop by the George Washington University cafeteria right near the Metro. They have wonderful meals, especially breakfast, for amazingly inexpensive prices. We often brought back dinner, including salmon, and took advantage of our kitchenette for dinner. I would highly-recommend this hotel and will stay there again if I am in D.C.

Room Tip: It was very quiet in our room with the exception of ambulances arriving at the emergency room at GWU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Kathleen R,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful and informative review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad that Dawit, our team and our hotel made your visit to DC a memorable one!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing