We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, bad neighborhood, bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great rooms, bad neighborhood, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I thought staying in downtown D.C. would be a good idea, I was wrong. This is not a good neighborhood after dark, but it isn't the worse either so if price is the most important thing for you then this hotel can work. The rooms are very clean and large, I loved the lay out and I cannot say one bad thing about the rooms themselves. however, the service i received form the front desk lady was really bad. She was rude and would cut me off mid sentence, she asked for proof that I had reserved my room with free parking and when i went to reply she cut me off and told me not to worry about it. Although she didn't give me problems about the free parking because i had prepaid the room, the way she treated me was rude and unnecessary. I would never stay here again based just on this person, I haven't been traveled this rudely by any hotel staff. The rest of the staff was nice but this woman puts them all to shame.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHamilton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Hello,

Please accept my most sincere apology for the inconvenience that we have caused you during your stay. I want to ensure you that this unfortunate experience is not a normal practice of One Washington Circle Hotel.

I understand that we failed to deliver the service that you expect from our property. I have addressed all of the issues with my staff and as a result we are instituting new standards to ensure our guest experience is a positive one.

Again, I would like to apologize for this unfortunate incident. If I can be of any assistance to you in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    624
    152
    37
    37
See reviews for
597
313
114
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed at One Washington Circle for only two nights, but I wish we had been able to stay longer! It's location is perfect (in a nice neighborhood very close to the Mall area, with plenty of restaurants and a neat independent cinema) and we found a great discounted price online for a studio room w/ kitchen. The rate even included free valet parking (normally a $30/night cost). It was so convenient to be able to walk to Trader Joe's to get groceries and prepare food in the little kitchen, which was equipped with everything you might want or need.
The hotel staff were very polite and helpful, and actually gave us a free upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite when we arrived. The room was very nice, with modern furnishings and tasteful decor. It was usually very quiet, but a little noisy outside in the morning. However, the bed was so comfortable that we still slept very well. If we go back to D.C., I'm sure we'll be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Hello,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.

Thank you
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We just returned from a three night stay at One Washington Circle. We had a wonderful stay from the moment we pulled into the driveway until we left. The gentleman who helped us with our car and luggage was outstanding. I believe his name started with an "M" -- he should be commended (was working on 2/18 at 7PM). My young children were exhausted and somewhat grumpy from a very long trip. He sensed our stress and immediately began engaging them in conversation and entertaining them while we emptied our car. He then brought our luggage up and proceeded to give us an overview of the area (metro, CVS location, Trader Joe's location) from the balcony. He went way above and beyond.

We were delighted to receive an upgrade from the friendly desk clerk especially given the very inexpensive rate we paid for the room. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The maid was friendly and did a nice job. We needed maintenance at one point and he was at our door in less than 10 minutes.

We ate breakfast and dinner every night in our suite. Trader Joe's is an easy walk. CVS also had a lot more food items than the ones at home. If you are planning to cook, I would suggest bringing a sharp knife and a foil pan since those weren't available in our kitchen. Otherwise, it was very well-equipped. Also, we weren't able to find kids shows on the tv (for free) but had a portable dvd player with us that helped when they were in need of some entertainment (and I was in need of not providing it LOL).

We walked to the White House from the hotel and used the Circulator bus to get to the Smithsonian. We used the Metro to get to the zoo. Everything was very easy to get to from this hotel.

Clearly, this is a very well-run hotel. I highly recommend it (but I hope that in doing so I will still be able to still find a rate I can afford--I definitely look forward to coming back!).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Hello,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.

Thank you
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

We were visiting my son at GWU and chose this hotel for it's location near the University (which was great) and the rate we received through Travelzoo. The room was clean and large (with kitchenette as others have mentioned). We had two minor problems: (1) the remote control for the TV would not work and (2) the toilet ran off and on the entire night. We advised the desk about the remote (that it probably just needed batteries) and they told us they would send someone up, but no one ever came. A breakfast buffet was included with our stay. Unfortunately, the eggs were cold. The staff was very nice and cheerfully kept our luggage for us for a few hours after we checked out. If I received a good rate again, I would probably stay here in the future as it's so close to GW.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Hello,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write a review of our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. I can assure you the next time you stay with us I will personally make sure everything in your room is in working order. I have also spoken with our chef about your experience.

We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.

Thank you
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
369 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Booked One Washington through hotels.com and had both an excellent rate and complimentary valet parking. Enjoyed a spacious suite, including a full kitchen, internet access, etc. Staff is extremely helpful! Will book it again for next DC travel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Hello,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.

Thank you
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We were in DC to see the DC tourist sites and just walked down to the mall every day, but there was a nearby metro station and another bus system close by if you weren't up for a big walk. We really enjoyed the area that the hotel was located in. There were lots of restaurants, colleges and embassies. This hotel had a complete kitchen and it was fairly close to the Trader Joe's so it would be possible to not have to go to restaurants. We, however, enjoyed the local restaurants, although a small continental style breakfast would of been nice in the mornings. The staff seemed especially friendly and helpful, and I noticed the support and connections they established with visitors staying at the hotel who had relatives at the nearby hospital. Anyway, we had a nice stay here and the price was very reasonable for the area. We would stay here another time. I noticed the ambulances at night on a couple of occasions but they did not bother me.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Hello,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation. The next time you are staying with us please stop by to see me it would be my pleasure to offer you a chance to have breakfast at the Circle Bistro restaurant on me.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.

Thank you
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

In a lot of the reviews I saw complained about the noise- what did they expect? it's central! We slept right through it, if it even lasted that long. The room was very spacious and the staff helpful- if I had to put a "but" in the place I'd be that the beds could be more comfortable. Walked to Lincoln Memorial from there, very moving. Excellent stay, at great price!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moneymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Hello,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.

Thank you
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#36 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Property: One Washington Circle Hotel
Address: 1 Washington Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing