We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest staff in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #80 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The nicest staff in DC”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel about 6 times in 2011, and each stay was good because the staff were so nice. Tip: the best item in the hotel restaurant is the Topaz Salad with fried shrimp, and the wine selections are decent.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators -- they're loud. Also, they supposedly have rooms with exercise eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNiceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear TNiceT,

Thanks for the review and thank you for making Topaz your home away from home in Washington. I’m glad to hear that you’ve been treated well by our folks. That doesn’t surprise me one bit. Good news: There are several rooms with exercise equipment in them and we actually just replaced the machines a couple of weeks ago. “Bad” news: The Topaz Salad is not on our new menu. However, I think you’ll enjoy the variety and overall deliciousness of our new items.

Sincerely,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    428
    126
    51
    25
See reviews for
236
320
111
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Not only was the room nice and affordable, when we checked in the desk asked us what we doing so they could suggest the order to see things, make and confirm reservations, and even offer us a gift card to the snack bar in the room.
great location , even better service.
there wqas a flaw in our billing (3 days 3 different rates) but they gave us the lowest rate for all 3 nights

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear AJK69,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your Topaz experience with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor.com. I’m glad your stay was a great one! I’m terribly sorry about the confusion with your room rate. It’s great to hear that the matter was promptly resolved. We hope to have you with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This hotel is in the best location. You are in the heart of Dupont Circle, steps to tons of restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Literally Steps. The rooms are very stylish and comfortable. I highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Washington DC.

Room Tip: Get the King-size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear vanessakate,

Thank you for posting a review of Topaz here on Tripadvisor.com. “Best Hotel in DC” is high praise. We promise not to let it go to our heads. I definitely agree that the location is fantastic and the great folks that work here can’t be beat! We’re lucky to have each one of them and to be on a quiet, tree-lined street in a great community just steps away from bustling downtown Washington, DC. Thanks again for the recommendation. Come back to visit soon.

Sincerely,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Kelly, Muhammad and staff were all amazing. The rooms are large and roomy. Area is close to transit or to walk to attractions. Bad side DC is under construction.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eegentry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear eegentry11,

Thank you for recommending Topaz here on Tripadvisor. Kelly does a great job with us and Muhammed was actually covering from the Helix. But, we’ve worked together twice previously. So, I know he’s also a winner. Thanks again for the review and we hope you come back soon.

Sincerely,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed at Topaz for 2 nts. Hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from Dupont Circle metro stop on a quiet residential street. Queen deluxe was roomier than expected, clean, well-furnished, but on the drafty side. Bathroom looked new/recently re-done. There's a flat screen tv, but oddly it's not HD and channels are very limited (if tv watching is important to you). Signed up for the Kimpton rewards program online and got a complimentary minibar credit for it which was nice. Coming back around 5pm one evening, we noticed there was a guest happy hour in the hotel bar. We wished we'd been told about it at checkin, but were glad to catch it. Our experience with the hotel staff was mixed. We were approached by 3 different staff members during our stay which we appreciated, but ultimately none of them were particularly helpful. We asked someone at the front desk if the hotel could get complimentary tickets for a particular museum we were interested in. He said yes, but then later told us they were actually tickets for a completely different museum. We asked another staff person for a dinner recommendation. Her only recommendation was the restaurant at one of their sister hotels. Really? Of all the restaurants in DC, that's the ONLY one you can recommend? There are, in fact, plenty of good, affordable dining options within walking distance of the hotel. We liked Moby Dick's Kebab, Teaism, Ezme, Cafe Luna. Another time we asked a staff member where the closest liquor store was - she had no idea. We found one just a few blocks away. On the plus side, the woman at checkout was super efficient, as was the guy who got our bags and got us a taxi to the airport. We had looked at other Kimpton hotels in DC, but chose Topaz because it was the least expensive. When we're in DC again, we might try one of their other properties instead.

Room Tip: It can get a bit noisy when patrons are leaving the hotel bar at night, so avoid rooms facing the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okitt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear okitt07,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us here on Tripadvisor.com. I’m glad your visit was an enjoyable one overall. However, the interactions outlined above fall well short of the level of service that Topaz guests deserve and have come to expect from us. I apologize for that and hope you’ll return if you’re in this area in the future. We’ll be much better and the neighborhood will still be fantastic.

Thanks again for the review.

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Everything about the Topaz made our first visit to Washington a memorable one. Kelly and Mark were most welcoming and our stay was made even more special with the surprise delivery of bubbly and nibbles to celebrate our anniversary!! The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and when we mentioned a noisy heating unit, Kelly very quickly suggested a move to another room; we were most appreciative of her ability to make us feel that nothing was too much trouble. Happy hour was a great opportunity to meet other guests or chat to the friendly staff. Topaz is in a very convenient location and we were able to walk to all the sites from here. We dined at the local restaurants and were pretty impressed with the standard of meals and service, not to mention the price!

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor as the heating or water unit on the roof creates some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear terryandhelen,

Happy Anniversary! Thanks for the fantastic review here on Tripadvisor. Kelly and Mark do a great job of taking care of our guests. They’re also tons of fun to work with. I love the neighborhood restaurants. The quality of food and diversity of cuisine in DuPont Circle cannot be beat. I hope to see you next year (or sooner)!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here after 10 days in Canada and were so impressed with the size of the rooms. My husband and I were in a king room and we interconnected with our children. We had an amazing amount of room for us and all the luggage. The rooms had little nooks where you could easily keep stuff out of the way. The bathroom was small - but the dressing room outside made it perfectly fine. We had a package that for $1 we had breakfast - to be honest the breakfast was basic - cereal and toast - but for $1 extra - it was what you would expect. The location was perfect - we ate locally every night - and the kids loved the Pinkberry frozen yoghurt just down the road. The free hot chocolate in the afternoon was very welcome after a long cold day of sight seeing. The staff were all helpful, perhaps not 5 star out of this world - but for the price we paid - we were very impressed! We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydFam40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear SydFam40,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor.com. After 10 days you’re officially a part of the Topaz family. So, I’m glad to hear that you were treated well. I’m glad the kids liked the hot chocolate. It was wildly popular throughout the holiday season. And, if the temperature continues to (brrrr) nose dive we may have to bring it back. Hopefully you’ll come by soon, too.

Thanks Again,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,257 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,844 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,654 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing