We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another amazing stay at a Kimpton hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another amazing stay at a Kimpton hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I'm a big fan of the Kimpton hotels. Their funky, boutique-y feel is fun and you have to love a place with a free wine hour!

This was my first time at the Topaz; I went on my own for a city weekend and to see some friends. I brought my dog Libby, who was adored by the staff. Front desk supervisor Kelly, Mark and others made our stay wonderful. Everyone had a treat in their pocket, though fussy Lib wasn't always gracious about accepting them.

We had a great room (King) on the 4th floor, which seemed to have a number of other dogs staying. We heard the occasional bark, but nothing too intense. If you're traveling with your dog, the Kimpton chain should be your first choice. Other hotels say they allow dogs, but that's about it: they "allow" them. Most have hefty pet fees, rules about crating and other ominous warnings about excess charges for cleaning and the like. Kimpton does none of that nonsense. They are truly dog "friendly." Everyone at the Topaz smiled at her as she went by. And a few smiled at me. Kidding! The staff was outstanding. Whoever is doing their training is doing a stellar job.

As for location, it's a block from a Starbucks and beyond that is DuPont Circle. The only caveat with this hotel is the $41 + tax per night parking fee. It's valet and you do get in-and-out privileges, but this adds to the otherwise bargain rates they offer. I found a $119 a night rate on Priceline. You can beat the parking charge if you drive a hybrid, then it's free. Next time I'm renting a Prius!

Great stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Hello Mary Beth,

Thanks for posting this awesome review! We love all of our guests including the four-legged ones. It's always fun when we get to meet our guests' pets.

Mark and Kelly are especially great and we're lucky to have them. We'd love to have you and Lib back sometime soon. Hopefully by then we'll have found some treats that she can get jazzed up about.

Thanks again for the recommendation. We truly appreciate it.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    416
    116
    46
    23
See reviews for
216
311
110
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one Saturday night while having our first weekend away EVER since becoming parents. We loved it. The hotel was great. It's best advantages are its cool interior decor and location. Very cool interior -- loved our room (which was also spacious) and the look of the hotel. Location is great -- very central DC, close to metro stops/museums/sites/shops/restaurants, but not too noisy/bustling. (Although, in the afternoon when we checked in, there was extraordinarily loud music playing from a rooftop bar down the street that we could hear in our room -- but it stopped a couple hours later, and it's a city, so what can you do? At night, it was nice and quiet.) The service was great -- friendly, helpful. They provided us with some basic yoga equipment -- great! Wish I had that when I travel for business! The exercise channel on the TV wasn't working (we did talk to reception, who were surprised and didn't know how to fix it but tried to be helpful), so we just did our own workout, but I appreciated the equipment (and there's enough space in the room, too).
Also, we really liked the Topaz Bar. Great ambiance. And great bartender! My husband enjoyed his cocktail. I was bummed out that I couldn't drink, but the bartender made me a great mocktail -- looked and tasted like a real cocktail -- and he was really nice about it! Usually, I get such attitude from bartenders if I ask for a non-alcoholic drink. I really appreciated it, and it made a great start to our night out.
We used their valet parking -- expensive at $41 a night, but we were able to leave it for more than 24 hours, and the valet was good. It was worth it to have the convenience and not worry about security.
We didn't travel with our son, but it seemed like a family-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Hi Kerry,

Thanks for the recommending us to fellow travelers! Congratulations on becoming parents (and on getting away for the first time since). I'm glad we were able to help you guys unwind and explore our little corner of the city at the same time.

Thanks again for the feedback. We really appreciate it.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Everything was perfect - location (although a longish walk from the Metro in the heat with luggage), quiet street, but you could walk many places from there, from the White House to the bars on U street. Rooms were spacious, bright and comfie. All the staff were above and beyond in being helpful and friendly. Loved the bar, the free wine hour every day was needed after a tough day of sightseeing (plus the little apps). Kellie and Rick rocked that bar. Highly recommend staying here if your travels bring you to DC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hi lovingit_11!

Thanks for posting a review of Topaz. We appreciate you sharing your experience. Rick and Kellie do an awesome job of taking care of our guests every day in the lounge. So, it's great to see their names show up on here. We hope you can make it back soon.

Thanks again for the recommendation.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is my first time staying at a Kimpton Hotel. The staff at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. She got me a Birthday month coupon after she saw my ID and recognized I am a Kimpton intouch member. I wasn't aware of that promotion and I am glad that she did that. Though the original price I would consider as a good value already. The room is spacious and clean. On-site restaurant has very excellent food. The location is very good. Great neighborhood and is close to DuPont circle, white house, shopping and dining places. Can't think of anything to complain.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hello Madeline,

Thanks for the awesome review and for celebrating your birthday with us! It's great to read that you were well taken care of and that your stay was an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again next year, if not sooner.

Sincerely,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stayed for 4 nights recently while on a vacation in DC. Was very pleased with everything. Great location on a quiet street near the restaurants and shops of Dupont Circle and within walking distance of downtown attractions or taking the Metro. Used the valet parking and left the car parked for the whole time. Staff were all very friendly, front desk, valet, cleaning staff and all very and helpful. Room was nicely decorated, very quiet, great beds and pillows, quaint decor and very clean. Reasonable rates and well worth every penny. Would return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hello Dave,

Thanks for the recommendation! I'm glad you enjoyed your vacay and that our folks treated you well. It's great to hear that you'd return and we certainly hope you have a chance, at some point, to do so.

Thanks again,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our first time staying with the Kimpton Group of Hotels and we were more than pleased. We recently went to Washington for a long weekend gettaway and chose the Topaz based on previous reviews. We arrived late on a Friday evening, and had booked to stay for 3 nights for our anniversary. Upon arriving to the small, but clean and trendy front desk, we were told that our room had been upgraded to congratulate our anniversary. The staff at the front desk were genuine and friendly and we felt very welcome. We opened our door to an enormous room, king sized bed, chocolate covered chocolates, a bottle of champagne and several bottle of beer chilling on ice! There was a hand written note welcoming us and wishing us a happy anniversary.

The reason this hotel really stood out is all in the details for us and I will describe only a few. Complementary umbrella in the room, 10$ "raid the mini bar" voucher for joining as an InTouch Member - which was free to do. There are several complementary items if you need them (tooth brushes, hair straighteners, all the way to sewing kits and razors) as well as several items that you can purchase for a small price , who needs CVS! There was a complementary wine hour from 5-6 each day in which you go to the bar and have a glass of wine on the house. After arriving back late one afternoon, wilted from the heat and exhausted we were THRILLED to see a table in the lobby with ice cold lemonade and iced tea - complementary of course!

There were too many of these fun surprises to list, but all in all the service in our three day stay was above and beyond what we expected. We will certainly be staying with Kimpton again in coming trips to Chicago and New York.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Hi Cara,

I'm glad you enjoyed your first visit to Topaz and to Kimpton! It's great to read that our team took great care of you guys. Thanks for taking the time to post this awesome review! Visit again soon.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlem, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My friends and I came down to DC for Howard's Homecoming (HU!) and my birthday and this hotel was awesome! They had very personable staff, the beds were SO comfy and they even gave me a fruit platter and small bottle of wine for my birthday. The location was perfect, we were able to hop on the metro right at dupont circle to travel to wherever we needed to go and there are a crap load of stores, bars and restaurants right in the area.

The only issue was parking since there are meters in use 6 days out of the week but that's nothing against the hotel, that's just DC, lol. All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to DC.

Room Tip: They're all awesome- no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Hi Regina,

Thanks for the fantastic recommendation. So glad you had a great birthday/ HUH visit with us. The parking meter attendants in Washington are spectacularly dilligent. We wish they weren't so great at their jobs. Don't let that stop you from celebrating your birthday and HUH at Topaz this year. See you in a few months?

Thanks again.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing