We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm area, very central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #81 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Calm area, very central”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Topaz hotel is placed at N street ( horiz ) between 17 and 18th streets ( vert ) just aside of Dupont circle(10min). This gives you an nice opportunity to visit both Washngton DC goverment buildings, but also to shop at exclusive shops and eat in both fast food ( 5min) and exclusive restaurants(20 min). Subway ( expensive in DC) is nearby (15min walk). Walk to White House takes about 40minuttes.
Rooms are huge and luxury. We had an office, room, hall and bath.much mor than we needed. WiFi included, thorough Kimpton. Lobby was small, but stuff was very friendly. There is a brekfast / bar on the side of lobby, american style, so if you want continental brekfast you have to pay additional sum or search to eat on other place.
Minus is price, this as all other places in DC is expensive.
But if you want stay at DC , I can freely recommend it:)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligator1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hi aligator1975,

Thanks for the recommendation! I couldn't agree more about our location. It's pretty convenient for almost anything there is to do in DC. Drop by on your next visit to our Nation's Capital.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    418
    120
    47
    24
See reviews for
221
313
110
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I originally booked the hotel because it is pet friendly. and found out the service was great. Kelly at the front desk was very accomodating. The bartender, Rick, was very good. Conversational, service oriented, great hospitality overall. restaurant food was different from most hotels and very good. Morrocan donuts were great. Room was spacious, bed and pillows very comfy. definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hello Thomas,

Thanks for the great review. We love Kelly and Rick! They take great care of ours guests and are two of my favorite people to chat it up with. Thanks again for the review. We appreciate it.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed for a friend's bachelorette party and everything was amazing! The rooms are super clean and swanky and the staff was extremely helpful. They even helped our group catch cabs outside the hotel, which is not easy with 15+ girls! Location was perfect for our out of town guests - lots to walk to and so easily accessible. On top of everything, found that the price was one of the most affordable in the city - an amazing value. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting DC!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mqbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hi mqbw,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Taxis for 15 ladies headed out celebrate some upcoming nuptials? No problem. We've got you covered. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back soon.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great location just a block from Dupont and Conn Ave. Great staff - friendly, helpful and kind. Wine hour was great. Room was large for DC, clean and in great shape. No workout room but YMCA access one block away and Rock Creek Park for a run close by. Tons of great eats and drinnk in walking distance. Once again Kimpton two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better in the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hi Stoweboard,

Thanks for posting this awesome review. I love that YMCA. I workout there a few times every week and it has everything I need and more. Thanks again for the feedback.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed at the Topaz the last night of our vacation. Great location, on a quiet side street, close to DuPont Circle and Embassy Row. Front desk staff were welcoming and Helpful. Building is older, but the facility has been renovated. Room is a very nice size. Decor is modern (what you would expect from a boutique hotel) although they cut some corners on the renovations: i.e. painted rather than replaced door jams and base boards. But that really is a inor detail. My primary complaint was the bed. The box spring was obviously old and worn. The wood frame made a sound like two cats fighting every time I turned over. Made for a long night with less than a restful sleep. Perhaps this was only a problem in our room however it was disappointing and not what I would expect. Otherwise this is a charming boutique hotel in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doublem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Hello Doublem001,

Thanks for posting a review of your stay with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed your visit overall. And thanks for the feedback on the beds. We'll get the replacements for the ones that need them.

Hope you make your way back soon.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I traveled here with my husband for his business trip. We could not get a reservation at the Palomar, so this was our second choice. However, we had a great stay. The staff was attentive and our room was very nice. There is a nice complimentary happy hour every night, which is a nice way to interact with other guests. The location is great, with the subway stop being only a few minutes walk. Lots of lovely restaurants nearby. I definitely would go here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Hi Sue,

Thanks for the awesome review! Glad you got to carve out some fun time during your husband's business trip. Hopefully we've now eclipsed our brothers and sisters over at the Palomar as your top choice. A little friendly competition never hurt anyone :)

Thanks again,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was a cute little hotel. We stayed over halloween so the hotel was buzzing with party people which we are not...it was no bother during our stay couldn't hear anything from our room. There are no nice views from the rooms. It is located on a tiny very busy street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Hi olivebaby,

Thanks for posting your review. We appreciate the feedback and we're glad the Halloween partygoers weren't disruptive. Come back and see us soon!

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing