We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #84 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel for the inauguration and had the best stay we have had in a long time. We are avid travelers and Kimpton Hotel members. We have never stayed at the Topaz, but will put this hotel and especially this location at the top of our list!! The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, the rooms was a good size and accomodating (except the bathroom-no space for toiletries). But most of all, the staff were service friendly!!!! They made you feel at home!!! I called ahead and they ensured me that I would have a comfortable nice size room (the Kimpton hotels in NYC are small with oversized furniture). Anthony Herring at the front desk was so friendly and accomodating!!! We were rushing and he contacted Julian to get us to the airport quickly!!! My boyfriend enjoyed the bar and the special drinks that Rick the bartender prepared for him. We will definitely be back to the Topaz when we return to DC!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear jnherring,

Thank you for posting such an outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz from Inauguration. I am so delighted to hear that you had such a great time and the team took such good care of you and the room worked out so well.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    415
    116
    46
    23
See reviews for
215
311
110
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Topaz is located within four blocks or so of two metro stations on different lines, so more attractions are accessible without having to transfer. A longer walk takes you to the White House and beyond it, to the National Mall.

The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful, e.g., printing boarding passes. The Topaz takes pets--when we called the front desk to report a barking dog in an adjoining room, the attendant immediately notified the owners who arrived to quiet the animal.

The cleaning staff was accommodating, and rooms were clean and comfortable. Our room was larger than expected--it had two queen beds, and office alcove, and a small dressing room.

Continental breakfast in the bar area is convenient, reasonably priced, and can be supplemented with orders for a few items at extra cost. The restaurant menu is limited, but the food is good.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The double queen room we stayed in had a small dressing room and an office alcove with desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear TravelerAl,

Thank you for the outstanding review about your trip to the Topaz. I am so happy to hear that the team took such great care of you and you enjoyed your trip so much.

We look forward to having you come and see us again.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We love Kimptons and stay there when we can, Los Angeles (Palomar), Salt Lake (Monaco), DC (Monaco, George, Palomar) and Baltimore (Monaco). You get the idea. So we stood on the tree-lined street in DC, gawking at the Topaz. Didn't look like a Kimpton to us. It looked like a little inn tucked into a residential neighborhood. Which is sort of what it is. Not a grand old building repurposed to Kimpton standards. Topaz is something smaller, quieter, and surprisingly, more charming. Most Kimotons, to us, are about the edgy decor. Topaz is all about the most wonderful staff we have met in recent years. The reception staff was uniformly helpful, friendly, thoughtful and paid attention to the smallest details, from connecting with long lost friends to parking (and un-parking) our car. Breakfast was ho-hum but the attendant was lovely. When we wanted more of a dinner than Topaz offered, Rick Lewis in Topaz' bar directed us to the Tabbard Inn next door. OMG, what a great meal. We left half a bottle of wine on the table and called Topaz reception. When they offered to retrieve it for us, we were floored. Kenny, who delivered it to our door (room 1011 - great view), told us that he met the waitress from the restaurant - she was bringing the wine to our hotel. You get the idea. It is like you have friends there. Great location, comfortable room, some small details could use tinkering with, but you don't really care. We just returned from the Four Seasons in LA last week. The best five star hotel in Los Angeles. The Topaz can hold it's head high in terms of customer satisfaction.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mastdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear mastdis,

Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so glad that you enjoyed your "Kimpton change of pace" with us an the smaller, more quaint atmosphere was so much to your liking.

I am also so glad to hear that Rick and Kenny and the team took such outstanding care of you.

We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to DC and be your Kimpton of choice.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My friend and I, stayed here during inauguration weekend in room 610 and I must say the best part of the hotel is the front desk service. The rooms are okay the bathroom was tiny. Nice area to look in the mirror and get dressed outside the bathroom. iPod docking station didn't work. I wasn't to fond if the front doors to the hotel. If you want to be near Dupont circle this hotel is perfect for that. Room service was nice and the food at the hotel restaurant was good. Oh and free wine hour daily.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keynah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Keynah,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed the service so much and I do apologize for the Ipod dock not working.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My family and I went on a vacation to Washington and we found this hotel on hotwire.com. For a great price we got all we could ever ask for with service, large, clean rooms with a new look. The only con was the lack of pool and the small atmosphere of the common areas. Also, the decor was a little startling. Otherwise, great hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beniesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Beniesta,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the guestroom was spacious and to your liking.

We hope to have you come see us again.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Two weeks stay in January visiting from Kenya. Great value, spacious clean room. Extremely pleasant staff - Kelly treated me like a VIP. Loved the exercise bike in the room. Just overall a more than comfortable stay made enjoyable by the quality of service from the staff.

Peter S. Kenya

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PeterBwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay at the Topaz. I am really glad that Kelly took such great care of you and you enjoyed your guest room.

We hope to see you again on your next trip over from Kenya.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Topaz is small but very nice. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and modern. The location is great - close to transportation. Overall, Topaz felt like a boutique hotel but we didn't pay boutique prices so the value made it a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Arthur8129,

Thank you for the great review of your stay at the Topaz! We hope that you will come see us again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing