We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #79 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large rooms, friendly service!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I just stayed two nights at this Kimpton property. The staff were amazingly friendly, which is not particularly common in Washington, DC. From the time I arrived to the time I left, they helped with my bags, greeted me by name, and asked about my day, always with a smile. What a treat on a dreary DC day!

Also, for a downtown hotel, the room was incredibly spacious and laid out thoughtfully. The desk was in a separate space from the bed, there was a couch and several chairs for sitting, and, while the bathroom itself was not large, there was a separate dressing room with vanity table and mirror just outside the bathroom. Kimpton included some nice extras such as a robe and umbrella in the room. They also gave me $10 in "bar bucks" to use in the mini-bar (which had a nice variety of soda and snacks, in addition to the usual alcohol).

I ordered room service while there. Service was quick and food was delicious. I ordered soup and a grilled chicken sandwich. I'd happily go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looking_4_good_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Hello looking_4_good_food,

First off, that's a great name! Thank you for posting this fantastic review of Topaz here on Tripadvisor. We put a lot of effort into creating an enjoyable experience for all of our customers. So it's always great to read that we've succeeded at doing so. Your recommendation is the highest compliment we can receive. So please know that it's greatly appreciated.

Thanks again,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    418
    120
    47
    24
See reviews for
221
313
110
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Va
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was my first Kimpton Hotel but I will certainly try others and I will definitely return to the Topaz. Room was fairly large and included an alcove with a desk that kept my computer and business out of the way. The bed and pillows were good. The room was quiet. The bathroom was a little tight but that was about the only thing that "dated" the room at all. Located on "embassy row" the neighborhood was nice; close to the Metro and duPont Circle. The "restaurant" was also the bar but the food was good and the staff attentive. In the evening there was free wine - no tickets, no limits - your glass never got empty unless you wanted to stop. Great little pub next door. Parking was a personal best - $41 a night for valet and there was no self parking. The staff was superb. Friendly and efficient. Learned your name quickly and recognized you coming in and out. The only problem was that it has a few steps up to the level with the elevator and the entrance to the bar. There was a lift for wheelchairs but if you had a little trouble with steps and didn't want the hoopla of the lift, it caused some effort. I would come again without question.

Room Tip: I was across from the elevator and had no problem with noise. I was also on the street and it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HokieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello John,

Thanks for this awesome review! It's great to read that we took great care of you and you loved the hotel. I couldn't agree with you more about the neighborhood and about the Tabard next door. It's one of my favorite places nearby. Stop in for a visit the next time you're in the area.

Thanks again,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We'd never stayed at a Kimpton hotel before, but they've looked nice, so we tried this one out in Washington, DC. Its about a $20 cab ride from Reagan airport and close enough to the Metro that we used it for the return trip to the airport.

We checked in around 6:45pm and were told we had a few minutes to get a free class of wine in the bar. This happened every night between 5-7, which was a nice amenity. The bar was quite busy on Saturday night although empty on Sunday night.

The lobby is very small and you have to walk up several steps to get to the elevators or bar area. We liked that the hotel was advertised as pet-friendly - although we didn't bring a pet.

The Topaz looks as if it was built in the 60s or 70s and has been remodeled in part to be high style and boutiquey. The room itself was very large with big windows overlooking N street. It was decorated in a very eclectic way with a comfortable large bed, a sofa, many unique unmatching lamps, a room outside the bathroom, a safe and a desk located in a side nook. The decor struck as a little unusual since nothing really matched, but it was kind of fun and ultimately it all worked together.

Thes are the things we really liked about the Topaz Hotel:
- The location: its a short few blocks to Dupont Circle with lots of restaurants and shops. We ate all of our meals in the area.
- The animal print bathrobes - they were warm and made us smile
- A fridge (minibar) that had room for us to keep our juice cold
- The size of the room - it was huge
- The staff: very friendly, willing to give us a late check-out until 1:30pm and printed our boarding passes
- Real glasses in the bathroom (not plastic) and wine glasses in the room

These were the things that could have been better:
- The bathroom: it attempted to be modern with a sink mounted on top of the cabinet, but the rest of the bathroom was small and either not updated or not remodeled well. The bathtub seemed to have an overlay placed on an original tub. We only noticed it because it was squishy (not solid) to stand on for a shower. The shampoo and soap were mounted in the shower. It was difficult to get in and out of the shower because the toilet was right next to it. In addition, the door to the bathroom appeared to be original and was pretty scuffed up.
- The hallway to the room: it was all in beige with some type of elaborate moldings on each door from some other era. It looked nothing like the rooms.
- Breakfast: We chose to eat in the bar for breakfast on our last day. We ordered eggs instead of the continental breakfast. It was less expensive, but took a long time and wasn't prepared as we had asked. Continental would have been a better choice.

Although the bathroom was a negative, the room and location were winners. We'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hi baileyfirestone,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor. It's great to hear that your experience was an enjoyable one. Many of your observations are spot on! The building was originally an apartment building in the 50s. It's, of course, been completely redone multiple times since. But, we've retained a few of the charming elements of the past. The crown molding is the most noticeable. I'm sorry about the egg snafu and the tub liner. We'll find and address it immediately.

Hope to have you back soon!

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherwood park, Alberta
Level Contributor
292 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a nice, contemporary hotel with good sized rooms (for DC), quiet surroundings (yet very close to Connecticut Ave shops and restaurants), about one block from the Dupont Circle metro stop which makes getting around quite convenient. We had a room facing the street, and did not have much of a problem with noise as the road quiets down in the early evening,

The staff here are extremely friendly, and go out of their way to assist you. My wife had reserved a cab to go off to an important appointment. It was a cold and slightly snowy morning, so someone scooped her cab. They not only sent someone out right away to get another one, but had them stand guard (in his shirtsleeves despite the bitter cold winds) to make sure that nobody else got the second cab. My wife made her appoinment on time.

What more could you ask for....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hi howho,

Thanks for the great review! It's great to read that our service what sets us apart. Our team works really hard at it. It's that much better when it all works out. We're glad your wife made it to her appointment on time. Feedback like this goes a long way.

Thanks again,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We've stayed at 3 Kimpton hotels in D.C., and this one had by far the friendliest, most efficient staff. They were so nice to our dogs, and welcoming to us. Room Service food was fabulous. We got a great package and an extremely reasonable price. Bed really comfortable. There were indeed fewer amenities at this hotel, but it is a smaller hotel for Kimpton, and the quality is no less. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello Susan,

Thanks for the awesome review! It's always special to hear that we've outdone our brothers and sisters at the other Kimpton Hotels in DC. I'm not saying it's a competition and I'm not saying that it isn't (it is). But, if this review gets copied and pasted into an email and then sent to the GMs of our other hotels I wouldn't have a problem with that (I'm probably going to do that).

Thanks again for the review,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The bedding and the bathroom were clean and comfortable but I did miss the lack of amenities even though I booked knowing that there weren't many. I liked the layout of the room: there was a small room/area leading to the bathroom that was perfect for toiletteries and such. Also, and this is probably specific to only our room, our bed squeaked every time I got up to go to the washroom.
The staff were polite and professional.
The hotel bar was not the sort of thing I thought it would be. I had assumed the hotel was a more modern boutique hotel yet it hasn't quite hit that mark (which I think it was aspiring to be) and yet it wasn't sumptuous old-world class either.
The location was perfect for me as I had business meetings in the area; however on the weekend we walked to the Capital in about 20 minutes so it's not bad for sightseeing. Having said this there are closer hotels near to the Mall if that is your main purpose of travel.
The hotel is also extremely close to shops on Connecticut which came in handy as I forgot to pack a pair of black slacks which I needed the next day. I found a pair on super discount at the nearby Anne Taylor shop.
All in all, I can't complain, particularly as the room rate was more than reasonable. It's just that I had different "boutique" expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank salzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Hello salzetta,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience here on Tripadvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall and found our rooms comfy and our location convenient for both work and sightseeing. I was disappointed to read that we didn't quite fit your expectations. However, I truly appreciate the feedback.

Sincerely,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Hotel is on a quiet street amidst the buzzling Washington DC streets. Quiet location!!! You don't hear a noise at night.
Very spacious hotel room. Bed was extremely comfortable.
Room would have been great also to share with kids since there was a "sleep nook" in the room with a couch bed and a curtain for privacy.
Loved the eliptical exercise machine in the room!
Bathroom was nice too, but is small.
Very convenient location to walk to White House (approx. 15 minutes casual walk) and all the museums, Metro stations, restaurants etc...
Staff was very friendly.
Breakfast was ok. Coffee is complimentary. Everything else you can buy (from bagels, pastries, toast, cereal or a made to order breakfast). Prices are pretty fair.

I definitely would come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2013
Hi seekAdventures,

Thank you for this great review! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Our Energy Rooms are very spacious. I always feel better about working out when the equipment is right there in the room. Come back in for a visit the next time you're in town.

Thanks again,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#75 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing