We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was blown away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #85 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I was blown away.”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here the night before my wedding, and I'm currently on my honeymoon to the Omni Grove Park Inn in Asheville, wishing that my husband and I had returned instead to the Topaz.

The Topaz went above and beyond to make me feel special - the staff handwrote a note congratulating me on my nuptials, delivered a complimentary cheese plate and champagne bottle, and comped both a room upgrade and parking. Honestly, I was stunned by how wonderful they were.

We use Kimptons all the time when we travel, and while the Topaz met all our (high) expectations that we have for Kimptons, it also went above and beyond. I'm thrilled that we directed our wedding guests here, and I will be recommending it highly and enthusiastically whenever friends return to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Kenlyn M,

Thank you for your absolutley amazing review of your stay at the Topaz. I am so happy to hear how well the team knocked it out for you on your special day. Congratulations on your wedding! We hope you come see us again on your anniversaries.

Have a wonderful honeymoon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    422
    123
    48
    25
See reviews for
228
316
110
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel is tucked away on a relatively quiet one way street. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful during check in and check out. The room was spacious, clean, the shower was hot and the bed was very comfortable. Good view of the street from the large windows. I like how the hotel is not as big, fancy and high traffic as other hotels in DC. The $50 valet/overnight seemed quite steep compared to other hotels in the area who offered a lower price. Wifi worked great in the room as well. Rooms come with an umbrella which definitely came in use during my trip!

Didn't utilize the bar or breakfast so I can't comment on those.

Price was great as well, would return on the next trip to DC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h3rbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear h3rbie,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Topaz. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the boutique feel of the property and found the rooms and staff so much to your liking.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again on future travels to DC, which hopefully will not require as much usage of the umbrella so you get to see the sun.

Thank again,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We've stayed in many Kimptons in DC for many visits: Palomar, Madera, and Topaz. We love the style and service of all the Kimptons but the Topaz is our favorite. We usually get the best rate here. We ask for a higher floor on the street side to get a great view. The rooms are large and the staff is the friendliest of all the DC Kimptons we've been too. It does not have a fitness room but we prefer using the complimentary YMCA a block away as it has so much more to offer than any hotel fitness room. Location is great and we most recently dined at the newly opened Iron Gate Inn across the street and loved it. We were not really fans of the Hotel Tabard restaurant nearby-dined there twice and have not tried the Topaz restaurant. Love the cucumber water dispenser and wine hour served in lobbies of all Kimptons.
I accidentally swimming pool and kids activities which they don't have but could not get it to deselect on my ipad.

Room Tip: higher floor on street side for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear famtravs,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay at Topaz! I am so happy that you enjoyed the property and the location so much. We are excited to have the Iron Gate so close and available for our guests as well.

I am so happy to hear you enjoy the wine hour and fruit water as well. We hope that you will come see us again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Topaz is a quirky, well-located option in DC. It's personal flourishes make it eccentric rather than classy. People seeking traditional luxury would be better off looking at the Hyatts or Hiltons. Topaz is the kind of place that offers leopard-print bath robes, indigo walls, feather-lined mirrors and cucumber laced water coolers. The building itself is a bit dingy, but the loud decor disguises the fact. The rooms are also a little worn out, well kept, but musty rather than smelling like fresh linen (as they do at some of the more high-end hotels). The rooms are, however, very spacious - mine had a separate dressing room, adequate bathroom and mini bar stocked with regular items as well as Luna Bars and snacks. The bright violet/blue decor and can have a funhouse effect. Beds are comfortable, and the room service food is prompt and quite tasty. I stayed about 10 days on a work trip, and once you're used to the quirks, its quite a comfortable place, only a short walk from Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear N S,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I appreciate you taking the time. I am happy to hear once you settled in that you enjoyed your stay and the location worked out so well for your long visit.

We hope to have you back to see us again.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Topaz is a little boutique hotel a short distance from Dupont Circle which is a safe and very conveinent location. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the metro. There are many great places to eat within walking distance.
Pros: comfortable bed, great service, free use of the YMCA located just around the corner, relatively clean.
Cons: needs some repairs. In my room the wall paper was coming off the wall in the bathroom, the chalking around the bathtub was coming off, the bathroom had a bad odor, and the carpet had some stains. (I would have asked to change rooms but I had a busy schedule and it was too much of a hassle.) There is valet parking only.

Overall, the hotel was good. If the repairs are made I'd reccomend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear tgdow,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Topaz. I am glad that the location and and the service worked out so well for you. I very much appreciate you taking the time to let us know about the issues in your guest room, we of course took care of them right away.

We hope you will come see us again on your next trip to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great place to stay. Very clean and quiet. Service was impeccable. Everyone always had a smile to greet you. The only thing was that the gym is located around the block; however, location is awesome for walking or jogging in safe area. I found it to be centrally located since everything was at a reasonable walking distance to get in some shopping for just about anything, dining including delivery to the hotel as well visiting important attractions such as the Washington Monument. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castlegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear MGM305,

Thank you so much for your outstanding review of your stay with us at the Topaz. You were so wonderfully kind in your words and I really cannot thank you enough.

I am delighted to hear how much of a great experience you had with us and how well you enjoyed the location and the property and team.

We really look forward to having you come see us again so we can do it all over for you.

Happy New Year,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Accompanied husband on biz trip and this Kimpton Hotel is less than a block from his meeting, so this is why we stayed here.
Here's why I thought this hotel came up short: HDTV but no HD service, hot water pot & tea but no coffee (Starbucks nearby), requested papers not deliver as
Romped, except last day of 5, mattress sounded like it was wrapped in plastic, so noisy when sleeping, tiny bathroom and not grab bar in shower/tub, soap dispensers in shower didn't really dispense well, and you must negotiate 2 steps to access the elevators.
Otherwise, was fine. Over $200 per night.

Room Tip: Can't think of anything to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegamomSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear MegamomSeattle,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am disappointed you did not have a better experience and we fell short of your expectations. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback as it does appear we had some service gaps that we can work on.

I hope you have a wonderful holiday. Thank you again.

Cheers,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#77 of 141 in Washington DC
1,815 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,033 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,609 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing