We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience at the Topaz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #77 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our group of six had a fabulous experience at the Topaz. We often stay at Kimpton Hotels because of the ambiance, service, and small luxuries like the complimentary wine in the early evening, and the animal print bathrobes! HIghlights of this particular Kimpton were its excellent location off the busy main thoroughfares (a leafy, neighborhood feel to the street), and the genuinely helpful and friendly service of everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Little touches like citrus-flavored water and fresh fruit in lobby at the end of a hot, humid day of sight-seeing are nice touches, as well!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel and higher up tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sarah N,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit so much and found the location so comfortable and quiet. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the little touches that we like to do to make things fun and feel more like home.

We hope you will come and see us again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent location - short walking distance to the metro, a block from coffee shops, and when the weather is good, you can walk to a lot of the attractions.
Located off of Dupont Circle, you would miss the hotel if it wasn't for the entryway.
The lobby is small - serving desk functions and the daily wine social Kimpton hotels are famous for.
The room however was very spacious, and decorated in typical Kimpton style (each room in every hotel is a pleasant surprise). Clean, modern, excellent Wifi coverage, and all the amenities you would expect.
Outstanding, friendly service starts before you enter the hotel, and extends throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Noam Z,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so happy to hear that you had such a good time and found your accommodations to be so comfortable. I am also really excited to read how much you enjoyed the level of service you received from the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Found the Topaz through an online service, as I was in DC for a quick business trip. The Kimpton line is a favorite & Topaz did not disappoint. Expecting a small room, I was surprised by a large space, lovely amenities, and, overall, the gracious Kimpton hospitality. The location is a short walk from numerous interesting neighborhoods, dining choices, etc.

Contrary to the reviewer who complained about dogs, I did not spot or detect any in 2 days. As to parking, in DC, as in many major cities, hotel rates are typically over $40 per night. An alternative is to use a public lot, which average $30 for overnight rates.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Springtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Springtraveler06,

Thank you so much for your great review of your recent stay! I am really happy to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and how comfortable you found your guest room.

I am glad that you were not inconvenienced by any dogs and were able to find a suitable parking option as well and thank you for your understanding on the pricing structure.

We hope you will come and visit us again!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a long overdue review. My family and I stayed here last May and were treated so nicely by the staff. They gave us rooms across from each other and made sure that it was located at the least noisy spot. The rooms are large with a nice layout and even had a powder room. I loved the complimentary wine and location. It is walking distance from restaurants, shops, and the metro. The lobby is a little small and so were the elevators but the staff and hotel itself made up for it. Looking forward to staying at Topaz again and at other Kimpton hotels.

Room Tip: Corner room is large. Had double beds and a a daybed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank samantha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear samantha l,

Thank you for your amazing review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so happy to read how well the team took care of you and how much you enjoyed your time with us. I am happy that the entire family had so much fun.

We hope you will come see us again on your next visit to DC.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Topaz and would recommend the hotel, but they could improve on a few things. We arrived shortly before noon and were told that our room would be ready at 1:30. It wasn't ready until after 5:30! A major inconvenience for us. The decorating in general is tired and worn and somewhat dated. The decorating in our room consisted of bold clashing colors between the drapes, carpet and wallpaper and wasn't conducive to relaxing. The staff was friendly, but seemed weary and a little harried.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank plasalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear plasalle,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am so sorry about the inconvenience of not having your room ready until so late. That is totally annoying and I am really sorry that you had to wait for that. Normal check in time is 3PM and your room should have been ready no later than that.

I appreciate your comments also on the property and the staff as well. We are planning some refresh work on the hotel itself this winter, but the staff issues we can address immediatley.

Thanks again for taking the time! Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We looked for a hotel in Washington, DC that takes dogs. This place is great for people with dogs. It's very clean, beautifully decorated and the rooms are very spacious. Our dog got a bag with treats and they gave us plenty of poop bags. For people traveling without dogs, don't worry, there are no doggie smells or any other distractions. The hotel is very well located for walking to all the sights and there is a small grassy area two short blocks from the hotel for walking your pooch. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We felt very safe in the area and walked to restaurants at night with no hesitation. They valet your car for a fee and you have access to it whenever you need it. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Kyahorse,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so glad that you and your dogs had such a nice experience with us. I am really happy to read how much you all enjoyed everything and that you had such a nice time and enjoyed the neighborhood so much.

We hope you will come see us again soon!

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in early August and would not stay at Topaz again.

PROs: We had reserved a King room, but got a room with 2 Queen beds instead. It was a very large room with a very good layout. The air conditioner worked well. The price was reasonable (booked through Priceline). The location was convenient to the Metro and other places we wanted to walk around Dupont Circle and further. The room had blackout curtains so we could sleep in. We also liked the eucalyptus smell of the body wash in the shower.

CONs: This hotel is in need of a renovation. The carpeting, tile, furnishings, and wall paint are very dated and in shabby condition. It is definitely a 3 star hotel, trending downward. We chose this hotel based upon the cost and a friend's recommendation. Although the price appeared to be reasonable, it wasn't when you add $45/night for parking. There is no option for self-parking and sometimes our car was underneath the hotel; other times it was kept somewhere off-site. We would've preferred a hotel where we could self park. Apparently dogs are welcome at Kimpton hotels and everyone seemed to have a dog with them this weekend. We are dog lovers and have 2 of our own (who stayed at home), but think it's gross to stay in a hotel with so much pet traffic. The only thing worse than the foul smell that greeted us each day in the lobby was getting onto the elevator after a Great Pyrenees had just vacated it. The water pressure in our shower was not great. The furniture in the room had lots of knicks and scratches. The beds, though comfortable, creaked every time we turned over.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank craterlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcimei, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear craterlake,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I do apologize that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback and we will certainly see what we can do to enhance our guest experience and the hotel itself going forward.

Thank you,
Ryan Cimei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#84 of 142 in Washington DC
1,871 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#48 of 142 in Washington DC
2,150 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,700 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £100 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing