We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic room, inexperienced staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic room, inexperienced staff”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My four days at the Topaz were very pleasant. The decor and layout of my room were really exceptional--lots of room, beautiful design, comfortable bed. Truly one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in, among many business hotels. The location was very convenient--walking distance from Dupont Circle and many restaurants. It does the major things right.

The not-so-great:

First, there's practically no lobby, and almost no restaurant; a bar with some snacks. As I said, you can walk to any number of restaurants, but if you want something in the hotel, your options are very limited.

Second, the front door is always locked, presumably to keep out the riff-raff, so you have to wait for someone at the front desk to open it electronically. They do, but it's a minor irritant to have to pause every time before going in or out. The Tabard Inn next door doesn't seem to have the same concerns. Also, the lobby is very small and the front desk directly faces the front door, so I don't see the need for heightened security

Third, there seemed to be a different person at the front desk almost every time I went past it. It's nice to have some consistency. And the people who were at the front desk were friendly enough, but inexperienced and unprofessional. One of the other reviewers described it as seeming like it was their first summer jobs--exactly. Young people talking with each other, or on their cell phones, not very knowledgeable. When I asked the person at the desk to call me a cab to go to the airport, she suggested a service she knew, so I agreed. The driver was late, and every time she called him to find out where he was, he was "almost there." This gets old pretty fast. I'm pretty sure he was a friend of her's whom she was trying to help out. OK, but if you're working for a hotel like this, you'd better be sure your friends are reliable.

Still, I did enjoy my stay, and the room was hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    417
    117
    46
    23
See reviews for
219
311
110
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cordova Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Topaz Hotel experience has been consistent. This was my third visit in their home. It was a place where all my needs were cheerfully met. I needed a quiet place to prepare for the next days and the Topaz allowed me to do so. I had wonderful meals in their dining area; I had help with my logistics; I had a friendly face to greet me at all hours. The staff treated me so special and I felt pampered. I also saw that they spoiled everyone who stayed there. Their standards have been consistent yet when I needed a special favor, it was granted. I met interesting staff as well as interesting fellow travelers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatienceAleut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

During my stay at the topaz was great. This is not my 1st time staying there, I go often because the service is excellent and the hotel speaks for itself.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unique_tees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We went to DC for our anniversary and birthday. I found the Topaz Hotel last minute, the week before we left on our trip. From the moment we made our reservations it was a BLAST. They were so attentive, caring, and accommodating. We received comps for food, drinks, and they were very helpful in giving directions, and had awesome suggestions for places to eat, etc. They went out of their way to make sure that not only our stay in the hotel was comfortable, but made sure that our entire
trip was going great.
I have to give a thumps up to Haley (hope name is spelled right) she was amazing, from the minute we got off the plane to the moment we left she was right there making sure we were having a great stay. The whole staff was great they really made us feel special. Usually when a hotel is busy you get lost in the shuffle, But NOT at the Topaz they gave us great service the whole time we stayed there. Even when we extend our stay 2 days there they made it so we could stay in our original room. Which was awesome, because they were pretty full. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, 10 min walk to the Dupont Circle metro, near to restaurants, shops, bars, banks, CVS, very convenient. We were close to all the major attractions either by Metro or even walking.
Whether for business or pleasure the Topaz Hotel is a great place to stay. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettCH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We initially chose the Topaz because it was a bargain compared to its competition. We weren't sure what we'd find when we arrived, but it was great. The lobby is small and won't impress anyone, but check-in was fast and the desk clerk was the best. We were surprised to find that our room was actually a suite, with a separate living room area. Both were smartly designed and trendy - the exact opposite of the way the hotel exterior looks. Our room faced N Street and was on the second floor, but was very, very quiet. The bed and linens were high quality. A short walk to DuPont Circle gave us a variety of dining and entertainment options. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

This hotel is very conveniently located in Washington, not too far from DuPont Circle. The room was very spacious, well-appointed, and quiet comfortable. Free afternoon cocktails and wine are an added bonus. Overall, highly recommended for business travelers, but also families, and those looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnlieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I never write negative reviews about anything and I have to be perfectly honest, though this was a year ago, I couldn't help but write one now. I stayed here for a conference and the hotel was booked by my company. I was given a very small room, which was made worse by the fact the lobby is tiny so I couldn't even escape the confines of the room for an open lobby space. The room was a bit tired looking and the bed was unimpressive... that is, until I realized it was impressive for the quantity of bugs in it.

I left this hotel with bug bites from the bottom of my feet to top of my neck and when i requested to check out early out of disgust, they told me I would have to stay the full length or pay for the remainder of my stay anyway. After I complained thoroughly, they switched us to a different room, that was admittedly bigger, but by no means made up for the fact that I now had enormous welts and was awkwardly scratching during my conference!

I had brought my husband along for this conference so he could enjoy the stay and travel a bit. We were VERY happy we had elected to stay elsewhere for the weekend portion of our trip since no one could relax in that room.

Maybe they cleaned the place up, but if not, stay away!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessman85m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Kimpton Topaz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Dear jessman85m,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us and fellow travelers here on tripadvisor.com. I’m terribly sorry to read that your stay with us last year was not pleasant one.

On average our rooms are approximately 400 square feet and we have a really comprehensive pest control program which includes frequent preventative treatments throughout the building. I have shared your experience with our team to ensure that any necessary operational adjustments are made, as well.

I’m sincerely disappointed that your experience with us was not consistent with our standard or your expectations. So I’d love to speak to you directly if you’re able to carve out the time. I can be reached at 202.521.7355.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
1,211 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
1,796 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
1,984 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Topaz Hotel

Property: Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Address: 1733 N St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Topaz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing