We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home, only better!”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Felt like home, only better!”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at Capital Hill Suites for five nights on our recent trip to DC. What an amazing find. The room was so easy to live in - the kitchen was great: full size fridge, stove, microwave, just the right pots & pans & utensils &dishes you would need. It was compact, which I liked, with an eating area. The closet next to the bathroom was like another room, with a safe. Bathroom very nice. The room was very clean, and well heated/cooled. Also, good breakfast in the morning - nice selection of offerings. Hard boiled eggs (rubbery, but that's per usual), yoghurt, cereal, fruit, juices, toast & bagels. The staff was always extremely helpful, positive, and seemed to really want to help. Parking is expensive but available, and the only thing about the rooms is the windows don't open, but I'm from MA so I like fresh air! Neighborhood great; easy access to Eastern Market where I loaded up on fresh food on Sunday, and quick walk to Metro. You can walk to the mall (museums, etc.), though, which we did. Very reasonably priced. Out of the four beds (we had 2 rooms) one was not great, the others were fine. Oh, and I used the exercise room too!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review.

Your comments are appreciated and we certainly look forward to hosting you again whenever you return to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    452
    85
    32
    24
See reviews for
450
410
65
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This location was wonderful--walking distance to Capitol and National Mall. The hotel staff was friendly. I plan to stay at Capitol Hill Suites every time I visit DC from now on.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for this kind summary of your recent stay at Capitol Hill Suites.

We are glad that you loved the wonderful convenient location and look forward to welcoming you again whenever you return to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I recently stayed two nights at the Capitol Hill Suites in Washington DC for business. My room exceeded my expectations. I was in the second building, and had to use a key card to get in the building. It felt quite secure. I really enjoyed the location on a residential street. There were several restaurants and stores nearby, and the Capitol South metor stop was only about a block away.

The room itself was very large, with a dressing area, nicely remodeled bathroom, two double beds, a breakfast nook (with table and chairs) and a mini-kitchen. I was disappointed only that the cook top did not seem to work, but I cooked my eggs in the microwave, which was fine. I was able to pick up a few groceries and make my own breakfast each day, which was great because I am on a limited diet and could not take advantage of the continental breakfast, which I heard was good.

Nice flat screen TV, and the bed was very comfy, with nice bedding. There were even nice comfy robes provided for me. I got great sleep, and only heard the person above me walking around in the evening for a little while. Otherwise, it was perfectly quiet. I really wished my husband was with me on this trip, as he would have really enjoyed the room. I would recommend this to others who need to be close to the Capitol, so business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for your recent review.

It is a pleasure hearing from you and to know that our service efforts exceeded your expectations.

In an effort to serve you even better, we are currently working on our services enhancement and improvements plan and trust that you will return to Capitol Hill Suites on your next trip to Washington, DC to share in our new and improved facilities.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel exceeded my expectations based on online reviews. Very close to metro,Capitol,& the Mall. Added security of Capitol police makes it a safer environment. We enjoyed the Library of Congress,Capitol, US Botanical Gardens, & nearby museums. The hotel breakfast was well stocked and replenished throughout our stay.The furnishings were new & well kept.
The neighborhood is quite & well lit . Nearby metro capitol south got us to DCA for departure

Room Tip: over looking street was a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRLRPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for this brief but informative review.

We are proud to have exceeded your expectations and certainly look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the nation's capital.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We came from Orlando, Florida for the swearing in ceremony of my daughter at the US Supreme Court. We arrived much earlier at the hotel than we expected and it was very convenient that the lady at the front desk allowed us to check in early. Also the location of the hotel was very convenient since it is only a stone's throw away from the Supreme Court.
As expected at a location like that, the rooms are not very spacious, but the room was nicely decorated, very clean and everything worked. The small fridge and microwave were very handy.Parking was a problem but the FD helped us out to let us park in the loading zone for some time. When we received a parking ticket anyway the hotel promised to pay for it (we don't know yet if they really will). The room rate was reasonable. We were charged for a roll away bed but it was brought to our room as promised in a timely manner. The breakfast room is nice, the persons taking care of the breakfast very friendly and the continental breakfast (included in the room rate) excellent. Front desk agents and housekeepers we met were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our view from the window was not very good since we were on the first floor (not important to us sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royalty42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you had a very pleasant stay.

We trust that you will make Capitol Hill Suites your hotel of choice whenever you visit Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve last year with my companion and it was very cozy, with good coustumer service. We arrived in the afternoon to check in. Walked around the corner to grab a bite and some pre New Years bevrages and relaxed until that evening. We had no interuptions, nor did we hear anyone else throughout our stay there. It is a private hotel in a nice secluded area and we both loved that about it. We are definatly considering staying there another year for New Year Eve again if everything pans out.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTee2sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure hearing from you and to know that you will return to celebrate and welcome the New Year with us.

We certainly look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iselin, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Overall nice location of hotel near Capitol and Metro stop, great room and pleasant folks! Free breakfast helps a lot too :) My only criticism is the high car parking cost of $32 a night!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your recent review.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay here at Capitol Hill Suites and we are looking forward to your return on your next visit to Washington, DC.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Property: Capitol Hill Hotel
Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the HillThis boutique lifestyle property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. has just completed a renovation, marked by a more upscale, federalist chic design. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. Great restaurants, shops and sights abound! Large Guest rooms, spacious closets and kitchensAll guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast and WifiComplimentary breakfast is served daily from 7 am and 9 am Monday to Friday, and from 7 am until 10 am on weekends. Wireless Internet is also complimentary in guestrooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing