We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ravenna, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Great boutique hotel tucked into a great quiet neighborhood. Rooms were clean and spacious. The bed was to die for comfortable. Lots of great restaurants and bars nearby and the Metro is only a block away. You are minutes away from The Mall and museums. The price is a bit steep but you are paying for the convenience of being so close to the heart of D.C.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for writing this brief and informative summary of your recent stay with us.

We are proud that you chose Capitol Hill Suites for your hotel accommodations while doing business in the District and look forward to hosting you again whenever you return to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    452
    85
    32
    24
See reviews for
450
410
65
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Very short walk from the Capitol South Metro station, in a safe area, and amazing quality, especially for the price - most hotels in DC are two or more times as much. I will be staying here next time I come to DC.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you loved the convenient location, wonderful amenities and great price.

We certainly look forward to your stay with us again on your next visit to the nation's capital.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is place is great. Really. Great decor. Clean suites with lots of amenities. Walking distance to lots of places to eat and drink. Also easy to get cabs from this location. We had a great stay for a great price. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jette78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your kind summary of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you loved the suites, amenities and the convenient location of the hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again whenever you return to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
321 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The location of these suites is quite good, not far away from downtown and very close to the Eastern market which I found to be a very interesting place to visit since locals shop there.
The people working in the hotel were helpful with replies to my questions, as you would expect. Breakfast was in boxes but there was plenty of it and I actually really liked it, since it allowed to me consume in my large apartment. Next time in Washington, I would return to this place. Capitol Hill is just next doors and the library even closer. Overall, I really liked DC, there really is too much to do, you need several days to see its attractions.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for writing this review.

It is a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests and to know that we are meeting and surpassing their expectations.

We are glad you loved the Hotel's convenient location and that you got an opportunity to visit Eastern Market.

We look forward to your return on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were going specifically to the Library of Congress to view a movie from 1927. The Capitol Hill Suites is literally right across the street from the Madison building. Our suite was huge! Basically, they are apartments that have been converted to rental suites. Very nice, clean and in great location for walking. The Capitol building, Supreme Court, Library of Congress and many more attractions within a decent walking distance. Trust me, I'm a big guy and the walking was enjoyable.

The only down side to staying here is the availability of parking. IF you are lucky enough to be able to use their valet parking, be prepared to pay $32 per day. When we arrived, they had no parking available so we had to go park at Union Station (about 2 miles away). Aside from the aggravation of having to park so far away, it was actually cheaper ($22 per day) to park at the Station. So even with a cab fare to go pick my car up upon checkout, I saved $10 overall. Cab fare was about $6 from the hotel to Union Station.

Continental breakfast was good. It is located in the annex building, so you might actually have to walk from one building to the other (outside).

Within walking distance to several restaurants (1 block away).

Thought the price of $99 per night was extremely reasonable considering it was in the heart of DC.

The presence of Capitol Hill police on almost every corner also makes this a very safe place to stay and walk. Be advised that to enter all attraction buildings in DC requires each person to go through security and metal detectors.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flatbroke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for writing such an informative summary of your stay here at Capitol Hill Suites.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the convenient walk to all the attractions. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest especially when the price is right.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again whenever you return to Washington, DC.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We picked the hotel mainly from a $79 Travelzoo deal (didn't realize parking was an additional $40/night + $11/night in taxes, but still not bad for DC I suppose). We also picked it based on location to the Metro (only a block to the Capitol Hill South). However, that Metro stop was closed while we were there, which proved to be incredibly inconvenient. Luckily, we had decent weather so we walked a fair bit. The hotel is about a mile from the monuments and $12 cab ride to Dupont/Adam's Morgan.

Breakfast was included in the price. They had bagels, limited fruit and juices, and limited cereal. The only complaint is that there was no place to sit and eat so you had to get everything "to go". I suppose if it's free, I can't complain too much.

Another minor complaint is that the safe didn't work. Not a huge deal except that the door wouldn't shut all the way unless you really pushed it. Each day, we would come home after housekeeping had been there and the door was open! We didn't complain to the front desk however, as we were only there for a few nights.

I will say the people that work there were extremely friendly and accommodating. Very nice!

All in all, a nice, clean hotel (spacious rooms) in a good location IF the Metro is working!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for writing this review and for choosing Capitol Hill Suites for your hotel accommodations.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the closure of one of several Metro Stations which was to facilitate their urgent maintenance work over the holiday weekend.

Our Management Team has been very focused in responding to our guests' requests for additional enhancements and services, some of which have been completed and we are working to complete our service enhancement list which includes a new beakfast restaurant.

Our Staff appreciates your kind comments and we all look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Regards,

Ian Harvey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovisio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We are pretty disorganized vacationers - we reserved this room through booking.com at a McDonalds on the outskirts of the city. There were so many hotels available in DC that we had trouble deciding, but I'm glad we chose Capitol Hill Suites. The location was perfect for visiting the Smithsonian, and there were plenty of nice restaurants and shops in the area. The price was excellent (and would have been even better if we had remembered our AAA card...) especially considering all of the luxury touches we found in the room - great toiletries, thick towels, bathrobes. Fast WiFi and a nice kitchenette, too. The staff was helpful, friendly and on-the-ball. Breakfast included a wide selection of foods - bagels, danish, juices, yogurt, fresh fruit, good coffee. We will definitely stay here next time we're in Washington.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank averygosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCHS, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased to know that you loved the great location, luxurious touches and great price.

We look forward to your stay with us again on your next visit to the nation's capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Property: Capitol Hill Hotel
Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the HillThis boutique lifestyle property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. has just completed a renovation, marked by a more upscale, federalist chic design. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. Great restaurants, shops and sights abound! Large Guest rooms, spacious closets and kitchensAll guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast and WifiComplimentary breakfast is served daily from 7 am and 9 am Monday to Friday, and from 7 am until 10 am on weekends. Wireless Internet is also complimentary in guestrooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing