We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny break in DC”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in DC and we picked the right Hotel in a great locataion. The Capitol building is very close and Free to walk round. The Train station is also very close. If you like walking this is the place to do it.
The Hotel has two buildings and we were in the one next door to the main block. Very nice large room and very clean. Micro wave and kitchen with fridge freezer, kettle ect. Very nice. The buffet breakfast was included and there was plenty of it. Only down side was paper plates and plastic forks. But hey not an issle really!
Restaurants very close by and plenty of bars.
I will certainly use this hotel again. Must mention the staff, very helpful.

Room Tip: If you like tea take a few tea bags with you. Only free coffee sachets were in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGee-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello BigGee-64,

Thank you for posting this fantastic review of your stay with us! I'm really glad you had an enjoyable visit to Washington and that you were well taken care of by our team. I also want to share with you and our viewing audience that we've now gone back to real actual flatware. We were performing dishwasher maintenance during your stay and used to the paper and plastic as substitutes. Thanks again for reviewing us and we hope you visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed one night with my mother. Exceptionally well-priced (esp for Washington, DC).

Location - On Capitol Hill. Right across the street from the Library of Congress Madison Building. The building is in two parts. One building, where you check in, is right on the corner, with a small lobby and a library. The other building, where the actual rooms are, is in the middle of the block. There is no way to get from one to the other without going outside and walking down the street. They do have rolling luggage carts and bellhops, but this could be both confusing and annoying if you aren't aware of this beforehand. This disconnection between buildings is why I give the Capitol Hill Hotel a 4 instead of a 5.

Room - 2 queen beds (not amazing, but comfortable). One small coat closet and one larger walk-in closet without door but with full length mirror. One desk and desk chair, large screen tv, both across from beds. One reclined lounger in addition to the beds. Fairly spacious dining alcove with round table. Separate kitchen with 4 burner stove, full-size refrigerator with freezer, toaster, coffee and well-stocked pots/pans, utensils, and dishware (nice dishware, not the Corelle kind). Average size bathroom, but limited shelf space.

Breakfast - Served in a dining room on the lobby level of the building where the guest rooms are. Continental breakfast til 9:30am on weekdays and 10:00am weekends. Coffee (decaf and regular), several kinds of tea (including Constant Comment, Earl Grey, and a no-name decaf tea). Several kinds of sliced bread, 2-3 kinds of bagels, cream cheese, peanut butter, grape jelly, cranberry sauce + toaster. Sliced meats (2 kinds) and cheeses (2 kinds). Cereal (2 kinds -- Fruit Loops and bran flakes) + 2% milk. Danishes (2-3 kinds). I also saw some guests with cups of yogurt and juice, but I was not able to find any, probably because I came down at 9:20am.

Toiletries - Shampoo, conditioner, lotion, small bar soap, shower cap, hair dryer

Parking - Scarce on-street parking (majority requires residential permit). Valet is $44, but is courteous and prompt. Same person acts as valet and bellhop.

Service - Friendly and efficient.

Would definitely recommend staying at Capitol Hill Hotel. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_drama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello lil_drama,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of your experience here at Capitol Hill Hotel. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and fellow travelers. I'm glad to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We hope you visit again soon. We'd love to have you back!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Perfect location near metro station--easy to take metro line from Reagan airport--and easy walk to congressional buildings, Supreme Court. Area is quiet and clean. Also a good healthy walk to mall and museums and monuments. Found a couple of decent restaurants within a block or two on Pennsylvania. Interesting mix of business and tourist travelers. Glad to have good continental breakfast included. Stayed 5 nights and were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieESL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello MarieESL,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us here on Tripadvisor. In reading your review of us and a couple of the others you posted from your trip to Washington it looks like you had an enjoyable 5 days. Some of the things you mentioned in your review are among my favorite reasons to visit Capitol Hill. We're on the doorstep of history. Yet within a 2-minute walk there are a wide variety of great places to grab a bite. Thanks again for the review. Come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Only 2 blocks to Capitol. Walking distance to most monuments and museums. 1 block to Metro. Near restaurants and Union Station. Excellent room with fridge and microwave. Comfortable bed. Helpful staff. Recommend highly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Randall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello Randall A,

Thank you for this very concise review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback. I'm glad you had an excellent stay and we hope you'lll return soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We traveled to Washington DC the first week of July 2013. The trip was planed 3 days before it happened so the search for a hotel didn't take that much time. As usual, I used Trip Advisor to make the decision and once again I was not disappointed.
The Capitol Hill hotel is only two blocks from Congress and one block from a Metro station which makes it extremely convenient to move around the city. It is also at walking distance from several restaurants and the Eastern market.
The room was big and very comfortable. It had a kitchenette, walking closet, desk and lounge chair. Everything was clean, the AC worked wonderfully (DC is very hot in summer and the AC worked without a glitch during our one week stay). The bed and pillows were soft and pleasant. After spending all day walking, they offered a very good night sleep and allowed us to wake up rested.
They offer an assorted breakfast everyday that consist of bread, pastries, cereals, fruits, boiled eggs, coffee, juices and tea. It is good enough to hold you until late afternoon while you are walking around visiting the city.
The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. Always with a smile and always aiming to please.
I will definitively stay at this hotel again and strongly recommend it for those visiting DC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroServigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello CaroServigna,

Thank you for taking a moment to post to a review of your experience with us. It's great to read that your stay was enjoyable and you were well taken care of by our team. As you noted, our rooms feature amenities that are ideal for short visits or extended stays. Our location seems to be one of the most popular elements of the Capitol Hill Hotel experience. Whether you're visiting Washington for sightseeing or to lobby on The Hill we agree that it can't be beat! Thanks again for the posting a review and giving me an opportunity to shamelessly plug some of my favorite things about our hotel. Come back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Once block from the Cannon and across the street from the Library of Congress. Rooms are small but perfect for single business travelers. Refridgerator, microwave, safe, coffee maker, iron and board (a full size one not the ones that allow you to iron 3 inches at a time).

Modern deco-european, boutique feel. Nicely decorated, clean and very friendly and accomodating staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the streets and as higher up as you get. Otherwise you are looking at garages and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello Jody18,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your experience with us. It's great to read that your stay was an enjoyable one. It's great to read that the decor, amenities, service, and location were highlights for you. Thanks again for your review and we hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Four of us stayed at the Capitol Hill Hotel in Washington for two nights, from September 13 to 15. The location of the hotel is ideal. It is on a quiet, residential street but only a minute away from the National Mall. We recommend this wonderful hotel wholeheartedly. The suites are very large with well-appointed kitchens, ideal for longer stays or for families. The rooms were immaculate and well-maintained during our stay. The breakfast had lots of selection and our European visitors remarked on the excellence of the coffee. The staff are extraordinary. We were given excellent care by David and Hichem, both during check-in and during our stay. Everything from the valet parking to getting cabs went smoothly, thanks to their efficiency. We asked about jazz clubs and on their recommendation, we spent an evening at HR-57 at 1007 H St. NE and had a great time. We also spoke with a manager, Chris Newman, who was enthusiastic about the hotel and interested in our comments. The atmosphere at this hotel is everything one would wish for. Everyone was very professional and everyone went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Both rooms were beautiful and spacious with a small, well-appointed kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello Leon V,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this outstanding review! It's really amazing to hear about folks on our team connecting with our guests in such a memorable way. Our guests genuinely look forward to seeing David and Hichem in the lobby in the evenings and so do I. And Chris brings a personality to the team like none other. Thanks again for the review. Come by again soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,385 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
728 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £89 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the Hill: This boutique property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Our hotel is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, our hotel embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. All guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $150.00 fee per pet. Breakfast is served daily from 6am to 10am Monday-Friday, and from 7am until 11am on weekends. WiFi is also included. Enjoy our fitness center & bike rentals included in your room rate and fees, and unwind with our daily wine-hour from 5-6pm Monday-Thursday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing