We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capitol Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Capitol Skyline Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton George Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,809)
Filter reviews
1,809 results
Traveller rating
1,115
526
102
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,115
526
102
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslibrary of congresscapitol hillsupreme courteastern marketsecond buildinggreat locationmain buildingcatholic churchcontinental breakfastwithin walking distancenational mallsmall kitchenettemetro stopquiet neighborhoodyogurtpennsylvania avenuejunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,222 - 1,227 of 1,809 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A Travelzoo offer to stay at this hotel was a great surprise we hope to take advantage of many more visits to come. The secret is the hotel's favorable location and its ammenities. Fabulous experience! Really appreciated the square footage and comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, sunny
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Hello Jeanne C,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to post a review here on Tripadvisor. It's great to read that you loved the location and amenities of the hotel and that you had a great experience with us overall. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope you make it back soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our first visit to Washington DC so we didn't know which area would be best to stay in. This proved to be a good choice, it was just a few minutes walk from The Capitol, Supreme Court and Congress Library (all well worth a visit!)and only a couple of blocks from the metro to get to other areas.
The hotel room was spacious, the kitchenette area very well equipped with good crockery, cutlery, glasses and even washing up liquid, dishcloth, & tea towel. The bed was very comfortable and our room very quiet, 5th Floor, although being located at the rear there was no 'view'. The decor of our room was a little tired, but decorators were in evidence in the hotel.
The buffet breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, fruit, bagels and bread, juices and hot drinks.
As other reviewers have said the hotel staff were friendly and courteous at all times. All in all an excellent stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hello Andrea W,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us here on Tripadvisor. It's great to read that your service experience with us was consistent with our previous reviewers and that you found our location to be convenient to several sites of interest. Capitol Hill certainly has a charm like none other. Thanks again for the review. We truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here in January for a conference that my husband needed to attend. We had a great time. It had been a while since we visited DC. The location was wonderful. I truly enjoyed myself while my husband was busy. The evening doorman was friendly, pleasant and very helpful. Shame on me for not remembering his name. The room was great and I had no complaints. Look forward to visiting on his next business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hello sharon214,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your experience with us. It's great to read that you were able to enjoy the hotel and the neighborhood while your hubby was at the conference. The doorman you mentioned was either Corric (taller, slimmer) or Fikre (about average height/build). Don't beat yourself up about it. I can remember once I forgot someone's name immediately after being introduced to them. It's like I forgot to set my brain's DVR to record the information or it just decided on it's own going in "no way we're holding on to this piece of info we're about to get."

Thanks again for the review and I hope you make it back soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had the pleasure to staying at the Capitol Hill Hote.. The location was excellent-close to the Metro, walking distance to many restaurants and in a lovely neighborhood. The staff was amazing-professional, friendly, helpful no matter how trivial the request. Breakfast was delicioius-the perfect way to start a busy day of sight seeing. The room was spacious, comfortable and inviting.We so enjoyed hanging out in the lobby after dinner and just unwinding. We can't wait to stay there again. It is the BEST value for the money in the DC area.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine. They have TV, refrigerator, micro-all the comforts of home. The view from our window wasn't the best but who cares-we were only there to sleep and spent the rest of the time out and about.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello Sandra D,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to review our hotel here on Tripadvisor. In addition on our great location we often sell the hotel as the best value on Capitol Hill. It's one thing when we say it. But, that sentiment goes exponentially farther when it comes from a recent guest of the hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you can visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We hosted our families and out-of town guests here during our wedding weekend and is hands-down the best hotel experience in the area! It has the best location: within a few blocks of the Capitol building, Library of Congress, National Mall, Eastern Market and all the best that Capitol Hill has to offer. You literally can walk in any direction and in 5 minutes you'll run into great restaurants, shopping, monuments, gyms, metro, and the beautiful tree-lined streets of historic Capitol Hill. The staff was professional, friendly, and very accommodating. The hotel was clean, full of amenities, had free wi-fi and hot breakfast. And if you're looking to host any wedding event, it's a wonderful hotel with gorgeous rooms - definitely captured the look & feel of Capitol Hill, as opposed to other brand name hotels. All of our friends and families had a great time and we always recommend it to anyone visiting DC!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hello Sharon A,

First and foremost, congratulations on your special day! We're delighted to have been a part of it and truly appreciative of this review. I actually just finished a 20-minute conversation with another guest about the unique benefits of our location. Capitol Hill is a community like none other and our team works really hard to provide a warm and inviting experience for each of our guests. It sounds like that really resonated with you and your family. Thanks again for the review. We hope you make it back this way soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews