We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol Hill Hotel - location, location, location”
Review of Capitol Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capitol Hill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Capitol Hill Hotel - location, location, location”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for years, and have watched its metamorphosis into the modernized establishment it is today. Many of the staff have been there for years, and make one feel very welcome. The location is superb for those doing business on the Hill, and there are wonderful restaurants nearby. In the span of one block one can walk in the park, attend church, partake of spa services, eat and drink fabulous food (or order in great Chinese/Thai or Mediterranean, if one is so inclined). The lagniappe is a dear senior fellow, Mr. Chubbs, who often provides cab service from this hotel. Mr. Chubbs gets my vote for the best cab driver in D.C.! Keep up the good work, CHH folks.

Room Tip: The corner suites are spacious and have nice windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello EmilyHannah,

Thank you for writing this fantastic review! It's so great to hear from the people who've been staying at the hotel and built strong relationships with the people here over the years. As we've fancied up the place we always want to remain true to the warmth and personality that has always made this a great place to stay for decades. Thanks again for the feedback. We really appreciate it!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    471
    89
    32
    24
See reviews for
475
430
69
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was in this hotel in the end of October 2013. This hotel near Congress Library,subway, Capitol and park around it . 15 minutes to airport by car. There were a lot of houses in Victorian`s style around hotel,like fairytale. Room was clean and comfortable with free wifi and little kitchen . On the first floor -free cocktails coffee and tea every day. And, of course, kind and smily personal on resepsion) It is really good place for travelers in the centre of Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello Inga M,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review of your stay here on Tripadvisor. It's great to read that you explored our charming neighborhood and enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We've done a lot since October. We've unveiling a new sleeker look. You have to see it when you're back in town. Thanks again for the review! We really appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Elegant and modern with friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are spacious and include all necessities. Breakfast was amazing along with the location to all the must see sights. We stayed on a busy weekend with Cherry Blossom and the hotel met all our needs during this busy season.

Room Tip: Kitchenette was handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiesalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello Aussiesalso,

I'm glad you were able to enjoy The Cherry Blossom Festival and a few days on The Hill. There's no better time to visit, especially if you catch them in full bloom. We definitely have a winning combination here with our location and the service at the hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and we'd love to see you again next year.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

After looking at a large amount of hotels, this one based on price and location stuck out. We arrived a little early and took a moment to walk and enjoy the neighborhood. However, when we arrived back at 4:00pm our room was not ready. The man behind the desk (do not recall his name but had a French accent) was very unhelpful and did not seem concerned. Luckily, another gentleman stepped in and was very knowledgeable and explained that they had delays due to housekeeping and the volume of the cherry blossom festival. This was annoying, but at least he had his ducks in a row and did show concern (finally got our room at 4:30).

Beyond beginning, we did enjoy the hotel and the location options it offered. The breakfast was a nice surprise, not your typical small hotel size. The other hotel staff members were very polite and helpful and made our stay great. The room size was great for our family of four and the full size refrigerator was a blessing. The hotel's location to the mall and the capital south metro station was a blessing and the "hill" neighborhood offered great restaurants and friendly people as well. Overall we enjoyed our time at this hotel and when we return to DC, this will be our first option.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dawgssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello dawgssi,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to share your experience. I'm terribly sorry that your room was not ready on time and that the reception you received wasn't what we would've liked for it to have been. I've personally discussed this with the team to ensure that we're taking great care of our guests espcially when we're not able to get them checked in right at 3.
It's great to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you enjoyed our awesome neighborhood and continental breakfast. We'd love to have you back with us on your next visit to Washington. Thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good accommodations, and breakfast. Near from the biggest attractions. Very nice bedrooms, very clean. The attendant team is very helpful. near of the subway. No private park. Great place to stay near of the central power.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto_Ellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Roberto_Ellery,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to post this great review! We truly appreciate the feedback. It's great to read that you well taken care of and comfy during your recent stay. Visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We did not have a good experience.

First, the check-in process on a busy Friday afternoon was HORRIBLY managed. When we walked in, the line was so long and the lobby was so crowded that it seemed more like a hostel than a hotel. No rooms were available as of 4pm, despite check-in time being at 3, so we had to wait awhile which put us at risk of missing our event.

But, by far, the worst element was how unbelievably HOT our room was. The room was a consistent 80 degrees the entire night, making it impossible to sleep. When we complained, we were told it was because the building was old and the AC took a while to turn on for the season. We were handed a small, handheld fan which had no impact. We were there in early April, and there was not a heat wave in DC; there was NO reason that air conditioning shouldn't have been available to all guests at that point. At minimum, a large number of fans should have been available, and all guests should have been made aware of the ungodly hot rooms prior to checking in.

The manager on duty the next morning was sympathetic and gave us a slight discount, but ultimately we would not have stayed here if we'd known about the kind of experience we were getting for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello Cameron C,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. I'm terribly sorry about the wait to get into your room and that we failed to get the room cooled to your satisfaction. Our Housekeeping Team fell behind and we needed to make some repairs to the air conditioning system. It's great to hear that the manager was compassionate the next morning and that you were given a credit for what must've been a tough night. The air conditioning is fully functional now and we don't anticipate any further issues. I'd love to hear from you if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio,TX
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent location, walking distance to the Capitol, the Mall and the Smithsonian facilities. Two blocks from South Capitol Metro station.
One block North up 3rd Street SE and down Pennsylvania Avenue towards 4th, there's several good bars (Hawk N Dove, Tune Inn) a liquor store if you want to buy a bottle and head back to your room. Walk West towards 2nd street on Pennsylvania avenue and there's a decent wine bar, chines place, and a great lunch place called Burrito Brothers that will fill you up (cheap!)
For those fitness conscious travelers, walk a block south down 2nd Street SE from the hotel and take a left on D Street SE and there's a Sports and Health Club (you can purchase a day pass).
I parked on the street after hours, so can't comment on the hotel parking. Overall the place is well maintained, though could use a little spit and polish in some of the common areas and some of the fixtures are showing signs of wear and could benefit from a scrub and a spot of paint. The rooms are reasonably sized, bed comfortable and linen in good shape. Microwave and small fridge allowed was great (there's a Whole Foods and Trader Joes right off the Foggy Bottom Metro stop). Staff very friendly. Quiet at night, no street noise and thick walls so can't comment on the extracurricular activities of my neigbours.
Breakfast included (continental breakfast) and was good.
Overall, great facility and enjoyable stay. Would stay again on future visits to DC and recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalterReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donte J, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello WalterReed,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting this great review of the hotel and our fantastic neighborhood. You tried out some of my favorite places on The Hill. I sit at the bar and have lunch at Hawk and Dove a couple of times weekly and on other days I just stop into the first place that catches my eye. It's a great neighborhood. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks again for the review. I hope you make it back again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
274 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,510 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Hotel

Property: Capitol Hill Hotel
Address: 200 C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stylish Hotel on the HillThis boutique lifestyle property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. has just completed a renovation, marked by a more upscale, federalist chic design. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, Capitol Hill Hotel Washington D.C. embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. Great restaurants, shops and sights abound! Large Guest rooms, spacious closets and kitchensAll guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $75.00 cleaning fee. Complimentary breakfast and WifiComplimentary breakfast is served daily from 7 am and 9 am Monday to Friday, and from 7 am until 10 am on weekends. Wireless Internet is also complimentary in guestrooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing