We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff incompetent, rooms dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue
Ranked #121 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed at the Days Inn for 2 nights and could not wait to move out. I arrived in the evening. Others were trying to check in as well. I stood there for almost 45 minutes until I was checked in. Once, checked in, they had given me a room that had not been cleaned. The problem was they had not other rooms to check me into due to overbooking. I had to wait another 20 minutes while they tried to figure something out for me.
The room I ended up with was dark and dirty--it looked nothing like the pretty photos online. The furniture was worn and chipped. The carpet and blankets were stained and just plain filthy. I felt so uncomfortable staying there and would have checked out if I could have found a different hotel nearby that had rooms open.
One of the other guests I spoke to in the lobby told me that her family had been checked into a room and the staff at the hotel checked another guest into the same room. Their belonging had been gone through and items were stolen. When confronted, the second guest disappeared.
I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS LEVEL OF INCOMPETENCE AT A HOTEL. I wrote to Days Inn but did not receive a response.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellycares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were looking for an affordable hotel in Washington DC, but I was skeptical about finding anything nice. After reading some other reviews for this hotel, I decided to take a chance. I was greatly surprised about how nice it is. There are not any amenities (pool, fridge, breakfast), but is is clean, well kept, and we felt totally safe and secure, which was also a concern. The neighborhood is very nice and the metro is only a block or so away.

A special shout out to Melissa at the front desk and to Salvador in maintenance who jump started our vehicle for us!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlf2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We loved the accomodations and the hotel staff was very helpful. Our hotel also had a souvenir shop and a nice location in general which made our holiday in Washington all the better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meowzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Burger King almost next door. Very close to VAn Ness Metro station, four stops from the Mall where all the mounuments in Washington are situated. Two good eating places Pot Belly salads sandwiches, and Epicurian Chinese and western food both reasonable and would recommend. Take the Shuttle around £15 from Dulles airport to the hotel. Rooms are clean, staff helpful and friendly too a real find if your doing DC and don't want to pay five star prices. Area is quiet and safe to stay in and all main attractions accessed by Metro quickly.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaFoale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Not so close from downtown and monuments, but just two blocks from subway station.
Just five steps from Burger King, very nice pizza crossing the street. Just two blocks from a nice restaurant for breakfast or lunch. Very clean, nice staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauricioCampinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This hotel is located in a nice local neightborhood close to Vanness Metro Station. Short metro rides can get you to Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan and Union Station. Very reasonably priced and restaurant/bar next door provides great food and service for relaxing. 2nd time staying here and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitapita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

parking + $20.00 a nite; Burger King only place for breakfast, desk personnel rather rude, Drawer of dresser was gone when we came back from Dinner?? Non -english speaking maintainance man returned it,,,,no explanation!!! Only positive-close to metro line.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollymint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#130 of 142 in Washington DC
398 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#131 of 142 in Washington DC
334 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#133 of 142 in Washington DC
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue

Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £54 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Forest Hills area, our Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue hotel is an ideal choice when visiting the nation's capital. The nearest Metro Station is just 1.5 blocks away and Avis Budget Car Rental is onsite for your convenience. Sleep soundly in your comfortable room, complete with free WiFi, Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses, and 37-inch HDTVs. Indulge in a delicious meal at Tesoro Italian Restaurant, located onsite. We provide ChargePro EV charging stations for electric vehicles. Familiar landmarks such as The White House, U.S. Capitol Building, Washington Monument, and the Lincoln, Jefferson, and Martin Luther King Jr. memorials, are just a short Metro ride away. Explore Smithsonian Institution museums, the Smithsonian National Zoo, Arlington National Cemetery, and Mount Vernon. Hit the links at Rock Creek Public Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Washington DC / Connecticut Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing