We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Safe, quiet stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Ranked #117 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Anoka, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe, quiet stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

No problems here, good location next to a great Italian restaurant. Tesoro's. Be sure to show your room card there for a 10% discount. Also near a Burger King and subway entrance, and a cafeteria-type restaurant where you pay by the pound for food (right at subway entrance). The liquor store/cheese store across the street had great selections of wine and food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraWucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We agree with your assessment on the location. Everyone, staff included, loves being in one of the safer areas of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    581
    463
    189
    129
See reviews for
487
301
202
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of bigger USA tour over Independence Day weekend.
This hotel was chosen as it was one of the more affordable hotels in DC. Although it is a liitle way out of the centre, the location is still excellent as it is only a 2 minute walk from Van Ness Metro on the red line, which will take you right into Downtown. It felt a safe area to walk around, even at night.
Breakfast is not included (though complimentary coffee is available in the lobby all day and night) and the hotel does not have a restaurant. However there are a few places nearby where you can get one (Subway, Starbucks and a place right next to the Metro where you get anything from a simple bagel to a full all u can eat buffet).
The room was large, clean and very comfortable.
Our only disappointment was with the reception staff, who seemed a little un-interested. The information in the room clearly stated that they could cash a travellers check to a value of either $50 or $100 a day (can't remember which!!) however when I tried this I was told they couldn't do this on a Sunday and to try again tomorrow, So on the Monday I tried and was told they didn't have any cash on site and to go to bank across the street (at 8.00am when it was closed !!). This is only a small quibble but they shouldn't advertise a service they don't provide.
Overall, this hotel is good location, reasonable price (for DC hotels) clean and comfortable and perfect for a city break if you just want somewhere to lay your head.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than those at the front as the hotel is located on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We feel our guests are the best gauge of what we are doing right as a hotel, and also our greatest areas needed to improve upon. I am terribly sorry for the confusion you encountered while tying to cash a traveller's cheque. We do indeed offer that service, and am not sure why anyone would tell you otherwise. This discrepancy has been cleared up with our entire front desk staff, and the entire staff now knows our policy on traveller's cheques. I am so glad you brought this to our attention, as this was definitely an area that needed to be addressed. I hope this hasn't soured your view on our hotel, and hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the Days Inn Connecticut Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We were pleased with our hotel! The room was small with 2 double beds. The linens were good with 4 square pillows on each bed. I liked having more than 2 pillows per bed!

The room was clean and there were no bad odors in the room. Although we did smell food odor (from Burger King?) in the hallway. There is a safe in the room, but no fridge or microwave.

Parking was $20 per night. We arrived after 3pm and were able to leave the car in the garage until 5pm the next day. Nice perk! Check-out was at 11am, so we simply put our luggage in our car, walked about a block to the Van Ness Metro stop and spent the day in DC.

Burger King is RIGHT next door. They served burgers and breakfast food in the morning. Overall, this worked out SO CONVENIENTLY for us!! Will stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you so much for such a positive review! We definitely aim to please. One of the reasons we went with the smaller square pillows is so that our guests could have more pillows. That change was a direct response to customer reviews on TripAdvisor. We understand our guests would like to do some sightseeing on their last days as well, that is why we offer the late parking. Just so you know, we also stow bags if you're not comfortabe leaving them in your car. We thank you for your review, and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Leon C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here for a quick weekend to visit son who is in Tenleytown. Metro'd everywhere, had such fun! Injured my leg due to hotel problem. They were extremely helpful and kind considering I had to walk a lot. They made up for my injury with professionalism and customer service. The front desk was harried, but it was a weekend. Easy, clean, cheap. Not the 4 seasons but great for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alohatexas240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel on an impromptu trip to DC with my best friend. Parking was a little tricky, but overall the stay was very pleasant. The service was average. Not bad, but nothing to speak of really. The room was standard but could have been a little cleaner (we found a dirty sock in the room), but was still a good value for under a hundred dollars a night. The room was quiet, the area felt safe and there was security in the lobby at all hours. We were a few minutes drive from the Adams Morgan neighborhood, which was our destination. Also, there was a restaurant attached to the hotel. We did not get a chance to eat there, but it seemed very convenient. We were two young, single women, travelling alone and we felt safe and comfortable at this property, even when arriving back in the early morning hours. I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole_D0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I never stayed in a Days Inn and I was pleasantly surprised! Excellent staff and service. Not too much going on in the surrounding neighborhood but just walk down a couple of blocks and you are in the Woodley Park area and lots of restaurants and the National Zoo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakehurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Wanted to take a special trip with my Grandaughter for her 10th birthday and thought Washington would be fun. I wanted something near the National Zoo because I knew she would want to spend a lot of time there. This hotel was just GREAT. It was 2 blocks from a Metro station, but you could walk to the zoo on a nice day. The 2 girls at the front desk were friendly, helpful and could answer all of my questions about DC. The room was a little small, but very clean. Parking was available for guests for $20.00 a day (which is a bargain in DC). Coffee was available in the lobby 24-7 and there were 3 really restaurants on the same block. The neighborhood was beautiful, I felt very safe.
I will defenitely stay here any time I come to DC.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugaltravelerbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#80 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#128 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#123 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Property: Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in town on business or pleasure, our Washington, DC hotel offers quality accommodations, generous amenities, an first class service just three miles form the heart of downtown DC, and just one block away from METRO accessibility. The Days Inn Washington DC-Connecticut Avenue is the perfect hotel to experience the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing