We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay... with the right expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Ranked #116 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very good stay... with the right expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

End of the quarter budget time and could not get to where I wanted to go with Priceline but instead found this hotel a few stops out of downtown on the Red line metro and I had a very good stay.

i usually do not stay out past the Woodley Park stop and this is at Van Ness which is a couple of stops past Woodley on the Red line but it was worth the extra 5 minutes. The price was very reasonable and was close to anything ($$) I could have gotten on Priceline ( w/o knowning which hotel I would get). It's a very safe neighborhood and the hotel is literally 2 blocks from the metro.

I had dinner(s) from the Giant Food store across from the metro and ate healthy all week. I did try the italian restaurant directly across the street and it was good/not great. I also ate lunch from the Potbelly Restaurant which is on the way to the metro and that was also basic but good.

Front desk was friendly and helpful when I checked in, free coffee and tea but no breakfast, Room was a bit on the small side but very nice and updated. I was on the backside and it was quiet all week. Shower was hot in the morning and heat worked great during the very cold week outside. Pillows were plentiful but way too small and I ended up waking every night w/ either a stack of them or laying my head directly on the mattress as they had slipped out. Lobby is very small w/ very limited seats but I did slip into one of the chairs one afternoon and drank tea while watching the news and it was comfortable. I did hear a couple of complaints about having to pay for parking but I am a public transportation guy. I also overheard the manager solve a parking problem for a road crew that had stopped overnight w/ a very large truck and she was very good laying out the solution to the problem and the crew walked away happy.

i did not pay much at all for a DC visit and for the $$, this hotel is a GREAT value and I will book it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We alwasy strive to be the best value hotel in the Washington, DC area. We look forward to you returning and being our guest again. Thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    593
    479
    195
    134
See reviews for
500
307
205
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monthey, Valais
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

I really appreciate this place with an amazing staff. The manager was very helpfull and all the people were cool.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Safe LOCATION, a quick 5-10 minute walk straight down the street to the red line Van ness station, a 15-20 minute metro ride to Metro Center. There is a McDonald's next door for breakfast. We ate at the Chinese restaurant down the street and the Pizza place diagonally across the street. Both restaurants were decent. There is a CVS, a market and liqour store within walking distance. Super Shuttle took us to the airport.
The ROOM'S were small but comfortable. There was a big flat screen TV. The rugs could have used a good vacuuming in the corners and the heater needed dusting. The bathroom was newly tiled and very clean. The matresses were brand new (no sign of bed bugs). We had a good nite's sleep in a quite room. There was an Avis rent a car behind us. For $90 this was a DC bargin. I was dissapointed that I was unable to print my boarding passes on their internet(3 terminals in lobby), and the front desk could not help me.
The STAFF was very nice. They let us leave our luggage there as we went sight seeing. Lost and Found mailed us our left behind cell phone charger. A great experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
On behalf of management and staff I would like to thank you for your candid feedback and your business. We are pleased that our hotel was able to meet your needs during your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back as well as welcome those who you recomend in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

I've tried so hard, and finally found this hotel, close to van ness metro station, is great! for the price, clean, and nice people. Everything was ok with this. I absolutely recommend this hotel for vacation based on budget limitations.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ludsamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Google Translation
Thank you for choosing the Days Inn Connecticut Ave. We appreciate your comments and look forwad to serving you again in the near future.
Gracias por elegir el Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Celebramos sus comentarios y esperamos poder asistirlos en el futuro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

The room was clean, not too bad, but a little on the small side. My problem is not with the room, but the fact that I was not aware that there was a fee to park. My boyfriend and I drove seperately since we were coming from 2 different directions, so we ended up paying $20 plus tax PER parking pass! So that total ended up being $44.80...half the cost of the room just to park our cars! What makes this worse is that it was totaled into the cost of the stay, but now the hotel is holding that $44.80 on my charge card. Not a good system, and should have on their website before making a reservation that there is a fee to park!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank one_singing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any incovenience that our Parking policy my have caused. I am confident that our parking policy and fees are properly displayed on our websites however, I have instructed our marketing department to review other 3rd party sites that my have omited that information and to contact those site managers to update the policy if necessary. Our parking fees are compatible or below other's charges in the city. Please contact me directly as you plan any future visits to the Nation's capital and allow me to remedy any worng impression that you might have of us.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Clean, comfortable, convenient location. If this was badged as a luxury hotel you could pick some minor holes but I paid 79 dollars plus tax for a king room and it represented excellent value compared to what else seems to be available in DC.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Having read a couple of recent mixed reviews I was a little concerned about what I would find. HOWEVER, I was immediately reassured on check in, despite having been travelling for nearly 24 hours from England and low blood sugar! The room was fine, tidy and clean and the location is very good indeed for exploring from and gettng around. This is not a 5 star hotel but what you get is excellent value for money and I will not hesitate to book again when I next visit Washington.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLA091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnConnAve, General Manager at Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Days Inn. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We will continue to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Windsor Park Hotel
#123 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#127 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Property: Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Address: 4400 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in town on business or pleasure, our Washington, DC hotel offers quality accommodations, generous amenities, an first class service just three miles form the heart of downtown DC, and just one block away from METRO accessibility. The Days Inn Washington DC-Connecticut Avenue is the perfect hotel to experience the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Connecticut Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Connecticut Avenue Days Inn
Days Inn Washington Dc
Days Inn Connecticut Ave Washington Dc
Washington Dc Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing