We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
riverside california
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed for 2 night in July 2011 in room 443. Got a corporate rate of 199 and they upgraded me to the next class of room. I am surprised at the other reviews about how small rooms are - my room was large especially for one person. Good desk set up for work. I agree a coffee maker would have been nice. Staff at the desk and the doors could not have been nicer (altho bar tenders in bar not very friendly nor attentive). Will certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank attytrav.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    843
    242
    93
    56
See reviews for
521
868
186
873
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This a fabulous hotel for their very reasonable rates. The beds were comfortable, the concierge(s) were extremely helpful and the bar is fantastic! We had an excellent breakfast at the restaurant as well. The hotel is also very convenient for those taking public transportation (we arrived by train). Can't think of anything to complain about EXCEPT that I didn't really like the open bathroom concept. There's a door where the toilet & shower are but the sink area is open to the room. So if you are going there on a romantic getaway with a new beau or belle, forget about getting transformed in private. Actually forget about doing anything bathroom related in private. Its all pretty much open to the room in one way or another. Other than that, I enjoyed re-discovering DC and staying at the Dupont Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aselemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Dupont is right on dupont circle so obviously quite a nice and convenient location. I was attending a conference at the walter e. washington convention center and simply walked the 1.1 miles. It's about a 25 min walk at a casual pace. The room was average size but they took care to make it more stylish than most which I appreciated. There's a bar/lounge on ground floor and the staff were generally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almanorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburban washington d.c.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nites - 3 days 7/22-7/24/11. We requested a room w/2 double beds. The room was beautifully furnished (recent renovation just complete). However, it was so cramped! I measured 7" between the wall and the end of the bed. Not enough room to transport my suitcase to my side of the room! I had to hoist it onto the first bed, then onto my side. We are not big people - god help any plus-sized guests! The TV didn't swivel (wall-mounted) so whomever was occupying the bed furthest from the TV could not view at all. Additionally, in order to pull out the desk chair to sit down, the chair hit the end of the other bed.

Bath: TINY sink area. No room to place a grooming kit. Toilet: behind frosted glass door; connected to shower stall. No tub - so if you had to use the toilet while companion was showering, there would be no privacy. There was 1/3-frosted glass wall alongside shower stall. When showering, water sprayed the whole marble floor, making it exceedingly dangerous for slipping. I fell twice. Was told this is "Europen" style. The rate for this "superior" room is $298/nite.

Also: No coffee maker. Coffee available in lobby; my husband went down to get some. None there. He waited 15min. for them to brew some.

Amenties: TWO bath towels. A few washcloths. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash. ONE tiny bar of soap. Vending machine inside mini-bar.

Staff switched the room for us - slightly different configuration but no bigger, This time, opening closet door caused it to scrape against side of bed.

No drawers for clothes - a few cubbies in closet.

Staf was pleasant; hotel tasteful and attrative; bar area enjoyable. We we return? Absolutely not.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p8umpkinseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Great hotel in very convinience location with metro and lots of nice restaurants nearby. Has free high speed internet acces in the room which is very important to me. Staff very helpful especially Niamh at reception which made our stay very pleasant. Would stay here again if in DC.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Stayed here for a week with the family, and work paid for the rooms. Nice design and renovation, but the rooms are simply too small for a family (twin doubles); however I wouldn't pay $335 a night for an extra room for my two girls (under 7). Parking is $32 per night, but you can unload the car, and drive across the road where parking is $20 per night (but no access after 11pm). Metro station two minute walk away, which gets you to all the attractions, and Trolley Tour stop is 5 min walk away.

Room Tip: The higher up the better to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Very engaging associates. Rooms are clean and up to date!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing