We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service, but need to work on bathroom”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I love this hotel and have stayed here for years, going back to the days it was Jury's Hotel. The room service is prompt and delicious, the location perfect and the rooms very clean and nice. My only complaint is the bathroom. For some reason or another the futuristic look they are going for means I guess that in the future, people will have see through glass doors in their bathroom, and low shower walls that get water everywhere.

If they were to update the bathroom, I would rate them excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PCreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,844 - 2,850 of 3,389 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

The reviews on this place were all over the place when I was deciding on it, I felt I had to weigh in with my opinion. The Dupont Circle Hotel is probably more suited for the business traveler or a couple. I wouldn't recommend it for families. The hotel is nice, elegant and priced a little lower than comparable hotels in the area.

Dupont Circle is a vibrant urban community with many bars and restaurants nearby. The bar in the hotel lobby itself was a hopping place way past my bedtime every night. A Metro stop is also right there, so you won't need a car for DC commuting. Dupont Circle itself was full of life in May when I was there - people singing, playing music and just hanging out. I found it enjoyable. The apartments and condos had gardens out front, so it was also a nice area for an early walk or run.

The rooms themselves were European efficient but very nice. There is not a separate room for the bathroom, so this is why I say it probably isn't appropriate for families. The toilet and shower area all just kind of blend together with half glass partitions in between. A glass door separates this are from the sink area. Slate tile covers the heated floor in front of the sink. The room is nicely furnished in art deco style and a large HDTV. The bed is comfortable and the room quite at night.

The lobby is a comfortable place to unwind at the end of the day with sofas and a firepit. You won't find a free breakfast in the morning, but they do offer complementary coffee. There are quite a few quick breakfast places nearby. They also don't have a fitness center, but you will probably do a lot of walking during the day.

I would definitely stay at Dupont Circle Hotel again although one could ask for more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloshgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is an older property recently renovated. Decor is modern and trendy as is service approach. Hotel is good for business travellers, couples on vacation but not recommended for family travel.
Good: housekeeping, restaurant, desk, front door, and bar staff all excellent. Great location.
Needs improvement: no robes, desks in rooms have no lamps so rooms tend to be dark. Refrigerator is a mini vendor type, zero room for personal drinks, etc. Valet took 20 minutes to retrieve our car on checkout. No guest laundry, no pool or gym onsite (guets are referred to Mint gym). For laundry, recommend Imperial Valet close by, $2.50 per pound.
Overall it was an okay stay but will look elsewhere on the return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I stayed at the Dupont Circle hotel for a business trip and was impressed with the contemporary rooms and friendly staff. The bedrooms (I had King) are a nice size with a sitting bench and desk with plenty of outlets. The hotel provides free WiFi which is great for business. The bathroom is very large and modern. There is a nice bar area and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

Aside from modern interior and design, the friendly and helpful staff really set this hotel apart from others in DC. There is a great bar and restaurant in the lobby and the hotel is located directly on Dupont Circle so you can walk everywhere. The metro is also only 1.5 blocks away. I would recommend this for business travel or a vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Active_Travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Dupont Circle Hotel is part of the Doyle Collection of hotels. It exudes class from the minute you enter. And then some more,,,,, We had the extra pleasure of Level 9. This section of the hotel is described as a hotel within a hotel. And that sums it up. You have private access by lift to it, arriving in the Lounge. Here you can choose to relax and enjoy snacks, tea, coffee, a range of alcoholic drinks and juices. All of this is included in the price. But that is only the beginning of your treat. Your suite is absolutely cosy, complete with sitting room, bedroom, balcony and large wet room. There is daily renewal of fruit in your room, a turn down service with nice chocs. And you have an extensive bar with full bottles of spirits and wines and bubbly. Treat yourself. You will definitely be on a different level of hospitality on Level 9 at the Dupont.
The hotel is ideally situated for browsing in Washington and many good restaurants are within walking distance. Go on: you're worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a very nice hotel. Service is great. The only downfalls of the hotel is that the bathrooms are not very private, the sink is in an open area and the toilet and shower are behind a frosted glass door. So if you want privacy this isnt for you. The other is on the internet it has a pool, when we asked where the pool was we were told it is at a sister hotel on Connecticut Avenue, not very practical when the kids want to swim. The hotel sets in a good area as well. When we were looking all the hotels seemed to look nice but wasnt sure about the areas. I am so glad we stayed in Dupont Cirlce. The hotel is close to many eateries and stores and the metro is across the street. We seen some of the other hotels when we were there and on the internet they were beautiful but the areas of some of them not so good. Actually got to see a motorcade go into the White House.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I spent a very hot weekend in DC for the Fancy Food Show.
The Dupont Circle Hotel was great.
From the moment I arrived at reception I was greeted by a wonderful young lady who grew up in Boston near me and could not do enough for me. The room was really nice with all of the amenitys that I could possible want. Everything was very clean. Plenty of room for 1 or 2 people. Bathroom was interesting with an open shower like in Europe. Very comfortable bed and large flat screen TV. I used the business center for checking my emails and printing off my return boarding pass. Very convenient.
Hotel location is in a great area with lots of good restaurants and close to the Metro. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Just be nice to the people in reception and ask for an upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gitter assoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
494 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing