We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a great hotel. it is perfectly situated to walk to work, take the M all round and find good places to eat and drink wine and or coffee. The room is just what a business traveler wants; well appointed, modern with all conveniences (except no wine in the mini-bar). Really comfortable bed, nice furnishings and a LG flat screen TV to watch while unwinding.

The staff is very accommodating and friendly. They seem motivated to help and the atmosphere told me this is a well managed establishment.
I hope to come back on my next trip here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,614
    843
    242
    93
    56
See reviews for
521
868
186
873
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed at the Level 9 suite with my wife for a getaway.
Great room and great service.
Great locations with tons of things to do in area.
Metro stop right there so leave the car at home.
Staff very helpful and amenities were nice.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are available on Priceline for last miniute
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob98fatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Dupont Circle Hotel during the recent Labor Day weekend.

We were greeted by a warm and friendly staff that did everything in their power to make our stay enjoyable.

Our room was super clean and modern. It was comfortable and had a great shower. I was also very impressed with the fact that the room was very quiet despite the fact that we had a family in the next room.

The hotel is conveniently located at Dupont Circle and has a Metro Station at the circle. Plus, there is a wonderful farmer's market that is just a few blocks away and is held on Sunday mornings. We only wish we could have had a means to store some of the great produce and meats that we found at the Farmer's Market.

About the only negative comment that we would have about our stay at the hotel is that they did not have a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaeger1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Like this other couple--we also in DC for our 1st anniversary over Labor Day wknd. They also checked us in 2 hrs early with no problem. The Concierge--Lynn was very helpful!!
The Lobby was very clean and stylish--Loved it. The Restaurant/bar looked very cool but we had too many other recommendations to go that friends gave. I guess was a hot spot since it was always busy.

We were put on the 4th floor facing Dupont Circle--nothing spectacular but was nice view. The room is exactly what you see on other reviews--we had a Superior room. Small but very nicely set up and was very clean. We knew the bathroom was an odd set up---but the sink area was very modern with heated floors (awesome), the shower connects right to toilet area, it was very clean and not bothersome----it was a very intertesting and neat set up. The Bed was very comfortable and crisp white linens.

The blinds are part of what attracted me to this hotel---there are none of the tacky curtains in this hotel--it is slightly bright in the morning though but that was fine--i will take that over cheesy curtains.

Hotel is right on Dupont circle---1block from metro station, Starbucks across the street along with other bakeries instead of paying for hotel breakfast. Many french restaurants. Perfect place to stay and would definitely stay in this area next visit to DC

Restaurants that friends had recommended----Pizzeria Paradiso...upscale pizza place was excellent choice
Estadio in Logan Circle---spanish cuisine....amazing romantic dining or with friends
Circa at Dupont----do not go....the food was aweful for such an attractive looking spot
La Pain Quentidine Cafe--french bakery was a great breakfast, next to pizzeria paradiso
The Black Fox--jazz place....was a nice relaxed bar to listen to live jazz for free or go to Blues Ally in Foggy bottom with a $25 cover.....the black fox was just 3 blocks form hotel
Bier Baron AKA Brickskeller---old beer pub....with huge selection of beer...very popular in DC
Birch and Barley, Cork, and Mesa 14 also fanstatic restaurants...

Overall the Dupont Circle was amazing and a great choice---glad it was recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I just came back from an EXCELLENT trip in DC. We are 29 and 34 and wanted a super great location and this hotel definitely offers that. Amazing food in every street corner and steps from the Metro (which is one of the best systems I have seen in my travels). The hotel staff is beyond friendly and helpful!

I do have two complaints:
#1 the bathroom design as you will see in some of the pictures posted on this forum is super strange. There is no door, no lock and the door does not reach all the way down to the floor or the ceiling. Sooooo....not to be too graphic but all sounds in the bathroom can be heard in the room.
#2 the room we stayed in (not sure if all rooms) have these beautiful wooden blinds.....that dont block the sun AT ALL!! Considering we were on a leisure vacation we had no plans of getting up early but the amount of sunlight in our room at 7am told us otherwise. A curtain would be a nice addition to the room to allow us to get some Zzzzz's!

But let me reiterate. GREAT LOCATION and DC is an amazing city that I cant wait to go back to

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JessLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge Mountains
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in D.C. and stayed 2 nights at the Dupont Circle Hotel. Check-in was easy and they actually allowed us to check-in early without prior notice. This was a definite plus. The lady who checked us in was "Cole" I believe, and she was fantastic. We found that all the staff (waiters included) were wonderful as well and really seemed to care about our stay.

Our room was fairly small, but cozy, and the bathroom was huge (and spotless)! We loved the heated floors in the bathroom - what a treat! I had originially asked for a room on a higher floor, but only ended up on the 3rd floor and had no view to speak of, but hey - they let us check-in early. Internet service is free and we had no problem with it other than being a bit slow. I must say that our room had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a hotel! The linens and the duvet were clean and crisp, and the pillows weren't flat and gross like most hotels give you.

The location of this hotel can't be beat. The Dupont Circle Metro is just around the corner, so you can get just about anywhere with little effort. Parking at the hotel is $32 a night, so we just parked our car at Union Station for the weekend and left it for $20 a night.

One of the huge pluses of this hotel is the fabulous restaurant/bar. Cafe Dupont was amazing and we actually ate our anniversary dinner there. The mussels were perfectly cooked and presented, and the truffled french fries were to die for! Cole had a special dessert delivered to our table which was a nice suprise and very thoughtful. I must say, the chef at this restaurant is Spot On!

The fitness center was very cool and dimly lit, so it felt "spa-like". Everything was clean and in working order which is rare to find in a hotel.

The one problem we had at the hotel had nothing to do with the hotel itself or the staff. Let's just say that next door to us was a very "loud" couple who appeared to enjoy sharing their "business" several times a day. I guess if the hotel walls had been thicker, we wouldn't have been bothered by them, but I must say - they were LOUD!!! I know we weren't the only ones to hear them either, and I guess someone should have complained, but it makes for a good story.

Dupont Circle overall is a fun, fast-paced place to visit, and having the Dupont Circle Hotel located in the heart of it all was just what we needed! We will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port au prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was my second stay at the Dupont Circle Hotel, the first was in august 2009. I was happy to go back because I was so pleased the first time around.
The Hotel is modern. It is true there are no real doors to the bathroom area. This was not an issue for my husband and I, however if you are shy it may be. In both rooms I have stayed in, the "throne" area was NOT visible from the bed. SO if you're using the commode, and your partner is sitting on the bed they will not see you... They will however hear you, but I've found that to be an issue with regular bathroom doors as well, not just glass ones. From a design point of view, the room is gorgeous, and the glass fits in with the retro mod look of the place. The shower has great pressure and is spacious enough for larger/taller people like my husband and I (6', 200lbs). The bed was also big and comfortable. I found the pillows too soft though. Also the only downer was that the Wifi was sporadic. It was super fast when it worked, otherwise half the time we could not get online. I did not complain about this, because we were out most of the time and this was no big deal to us... The staff was courteous and welcoming.
I have not been to many hotels i DC, but having found the Dupont circle hotel, I am not really interested in experimenting... I will just stay there when I visit. The restaurant downstairs is pricey (we had 2 courses each two cocktails each, and a glass of wine each, and the tab was $160), but we really had a fantastic meal (crab cake was amazing). The lounge area serves strong cocktails... again a bit pricey at 10-12 bucks a drink, but it's the scene, and a great atmosphere. Two convenient metro stops red line nearby, starbucks and bakery right outside if you don't want to splurge on their breakfast (we didn't even though we probably will next time...)
It is a fantastic place and we will be back.
4 stars is for the iffy wifi connection, and the way too soft pillow... AND because they didn't have Khiels bath products any more :-( (they had them two years ago when I first visited... now they switched to stuff that doesn't smell very good in my opnion, waayyy to herbal, but they are quality aromatherapy prodeucts so it's a matter of taste...)
Thank you Dupont Circle Hotel for a wonderful stay ina gorgeous city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haititoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Doyle Collection, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing