We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

My first trip to DC & I did not have a clue where stay. I found this gem on a discount web site and decided to take a chance, Im glad I did! Beautiful hotel in a a great location. Restaurants, transportation and a even a 24 hr drug store across the way! The neighborhood is hip & all the businesses were filled with locals. Hotel bar has a great Happy Hour! We enjoyed our stay and definitely will stay again!






  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,588 - 2,594 of 3,430 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Unless you are traveling alone the glass-doored bathroom leaves you with little or no privacy and the lighting in the bedroom is inadequate at best. On the hand, the hotel is immaculate and the beds are extraordinarily comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We love the Circle because it is lively and convenient to the Phillips Museum, the metro, and just plain nice walking around. Stayed here because we got a good price for it and we were very pleased. Our room was well-equipped and the common space was vibrant and pleasant. The Cafe Dupont is a better than average place for breakfast, particularly in nice weather with the outside tables and the service people were helpful and warm. I noticed the manager of the restaurant watched constantly to make sure all guests were being cared for and I appreciate that commitment to do a good job. I even liked the hotel's art: more interesting than the average by far. We'd return again which says a lot since DC has many fine hotel options.

Room Tip: I understand some of the rooms are smaller than others: you might want to check when you book and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I just spent our 33rd anniversary at the Dupont Circle Hotel and had a wonderful time. Our room was small ( to be expected) but very comfortable and great shower. The restaurant and lounge were also excellent. The entire staff were excellent and took care of all our needs. We will return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed there early September 2012. The DuPont Circle hotel is very well situated on the lively and pleasant circle, surrounded by restaurants and shops, and on the red subway line.
The overall appearance of both the common parts and of the rooms is very good and modern. The rooms are nice, but a little smallish.
The staff is very professional and helpful. The restaurant and terrace offers food of good quality. Only the extremely noisy bar us to be avoided.
To be recommended if available at the right price. We paid an average of 210$ plus tax per night excluding breakfast which is a bit high but the pleasant location makes it worth.

Room Tip: A room on the patio would be better for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartolomeus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The strongest positive factor is an excellent location, right on Dupont Circle surrounded by restaurants, bars, bookstores, a drugstore, etc. and next to the Metro Red Line. Had a Deluxe Room on 8th floor w/ large (unable to open) windows that gave room a nice feel (but shutters didn't block all light and couldn't all be open at once). Other positives included free internet, easy to access outlets, complimentary water bottles, in-room safe, nice toiletries, and comfortable bed. TV wall-mounted w/ terrific picture quality (but immovable and placed directly above desk making it awkward to eat/work and watch). On the down side, room layout uncomfortable. Closet was small/cramped, w/ no room to store suitcase and luggage rack blocked access to safe. Drawers were at a minimum although open shelves in closet. The minibar allowed no room to put any small personal item like a yogurt that needed to remain chilled. Recessed lighting looked nice but no light at all over desk and bathroom lighting made applying makeup a challenge. After 3 days, still not used to the fact that the bathroom and sleeping area are not really separate and only a frosted half-wall divides sink area from bed. The toilette was separated from sink with a frosted glass door that had a small gap and it felt like there was no privacy. Shower also had half frosted wall and no curtain so water sprayed onto floor and temp could not be adjusted prior to stepping in. Complimentary USA Today not delivered to door as described, although papers were available in lobby if you got down there soon enough. Strangely, there is no expedited checkout. I tried to prepay the personal portion of my bill tonight so the balance in the morning could go directly to the corporate account without confusion and not only was I not allowed to, I was told that guests have to personally come by the front desk to checkout so that the hotel staff would know that the room was actually vacated. Seriously? Yup, guests apparently are not trusted to call down to say they are leaving or just drop off keys on the way out. Super inconvenient when trying to make a morning meeting or catch a flight. So, the rooms are clean and the location is great but if someplace else is available, I will choose it next trip.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, avoid the rooms facing the street where there is not only routine traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousTraveler8048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I would love to come back and stay here. I first found this place on Trip Advisor. It is located dead center of Dupont Circle. Noise level is surprisingly low. Service was great. They even had heated floor tiles for the bathroom. Although the room was a bit small, the big bath towels made up for it (they were the size of beach towels)! I got a deal to stay here for half the price on travel ticker. Beds were comfy. The only draw back was that there aren't traditional curtains, only french blinds so the sun peeked in during the morning forcing you to wake up!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,614 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,757 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £112 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing