We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and service”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing location and service”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a great stay at the Dupont Circle Hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel's easy access to the metro to get around DC and see the sights, as well as the restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood around the hotel. Dupont Circle is definitely the best spot to stay in DC...the neighbourhood is always lively, with tons of great spots to eat/drink, and is conveniently accessed by road or subway from anywhere in the city.

A couple of drawbacks of our stay were the fact that the hotel had no king bed rooms available...it was disappointing to have to share a tiny double, and the room was cramped with the two beds in it. Also, the washroom is not separated from the room and the shower/toilet area is only segregated by a frosted glass door. If one of us had to get up to use the washroom in the middle of the night, it was impossible to do so without waking the other. Finally, we were told by the concierge that a cab to Dulles would cost $60-75, and when we asked them to call us a cab, they called us a towncar. Assuming this is what they meant when they told us to expect a $60 cab ride, we went out to the airport, and it ended up costing us $100, so we were pretty annoyed that the staff misled us on that front, and decided to bring us a towncar when we clearly asked for a taxi. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I would definitely consider the hotel again wen going to DC.

Room Tip: Specify the type of bed you want in advance, to avoid being stuck with a cramped two double bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,745
    885
    258
    96
    57
See reviews for
575
914
191
932
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent three nites in this modern comfy hotel on DuPont Circle, located 30 min walk NW from The Mall. Using DC's great bikes makes it 15 min away!
Hot spot for young professionals. Good bar scene. Super service by all staff. Comfy bed & linens, clean contemporary design of space and furnishings.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have no view but not a negative since room was a respite after full days of sight-seein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignerDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I work at an embassy and my guests love the ambiance of the Dupont Cirlce hotel. the hotel is right there in a central location, it really doesnt get any better than Dupont Circle to get a flavor of DC.

Management and staff are truly nice and they pay attention to your needs. I am not hestant in recommending the hotel to diplomats and senior delegates. I think the Dupont Bar is also a huge plus, the cuisine and drinks at their restaurant is really great. Their breakfast is also one of my favorite breakfast places in DC.

I would only give this four stars because I think the people at the reception could be more efficient and freindlier.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Immaculate Hotel, great rooms with modern facilities. Staff were helpful and efficient. Close to some good restaurants etc including a great Fondue restaurant. Close to transport or a good walk into the main attractions and monuments. Perfect spot to explore DC

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonno015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

My first trip to DC & I did not have a clue where stay. I found this gem on a discount web site and decided to take a chance, Im glad I did! Beautiful hotel in a a great location. Restaurants, transportation and a even a 24 hr drug store across the way! The neighborhood is hip & all the businesses were filled with locals. Hotel bar has a great Happy Hour! We enjoyed our stay and definitely will stay again!






  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Unless you are traveling alone the glass-doored bathroom leaves you with little or no privacy and the lighting in the bedroom is inadequate at best. On the hand, the hotel is immaculate and the beds are extraordinarily comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We love the Circle because it is lively and convenient to the Phillips Museum, the metro, and just plain nice walking around. Stayed here because we got a good price for it and we were very pleased. Our room was well-equipped and the common space was vibrant and pleasant. The Cafe Dupont is a better than average place for breakfast, particularly in nice weather with the outside tables and the service people were helpful and warm. I noticed the manager of the restaurant watched constantly to make sure all guests were being cared for and I appreciate that commitment to do a good job. I even liked the hotel's art: more interesting than the average by far. We'd return again which says a lot since DC has many fine hotel options.

Room Tip: I understand some of the rooms are smaller than others: you might want to check when you book and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,034 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,565 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing