We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Dupont at the Dupont Circle Hotel”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #32 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cafe Dupont at the Dupont Circle Hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We are consistently impressed each time we dine at Cafe Dupont at the Dupont Circle Hotel. The service is among the very best that we have ever experienced, not only in DC, but anywhere we have visited. An excellent example of this is server Ryan who makes each of our visits to the restaurant a memorable and fun experience by his great personality and certain small perks, such as remembering our favorite drinks, and other personal preferences of ours. Diogenes, the restaurant's manager, has a simliar outgoing and personable style which clearly trickles down to his staff members to make the dining experience a wonderful one. We always enjoy kindly being welcomed back by various other restaurant staff members, like Manny, Gladys, and Elio, for example, during each visit who know us now by name. The restaurant's culture makes us feel as part of the family instead of just customers who are coming in to eat. The focus of this review has been on the staff and service of the restaurant. This is because we believe that many restaurants serve excellent food, as Cafe Dupont truly does, but the service is an equal part of the experience for us. The food menu changes seasonably and includes a wide variety of selections, each of which are fantastic and of utmost quality, with a fine attention to detail by their excellent Chef. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy Cafe Dupont! Thank you for your continued loyalty as well. Our service team will certainly be recognized for their efforts in assisting you. We look forward to your next visit, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,701
    873
    253
    95
    57
See reviews for
563
895
189
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The hotel is perfectly located on Dupont Circle and the metro station. The outside of the hotel is nothing special but the interior (I guess) recently refurbished. The room with a modern interior was very nice and clean. The service by staff was very good. Delicious breakfast with many choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return. We strive to provide world-class service to each and every guest, and we appreciate your comments regarding this. Please join us again soon, we would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
204 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My parents stayed here many times in the past, even years before it was renovated and renamed from "Jury's" to The Dupont Circle Hotel. I live locally and joined my mom this trip for a staycation, as I call it, over Thanksgiving. The location is a good central spot in the city to explore from if you are a tourist, and full of conveniences, tourist or not. The valet service is top-notch and they are quick to retrieve your car. The lobby area in front of the front desk has a cozy couch, but the larger lobby around as you enter is fantastic, with comfortable benches and single seats with tables, a modern fireplace and a glass wall to watch the world go by. The revolving door adds a nice touch and is functional too, keeping the weather out and heat in. We had a queen/queen bed which marginally has room to get around at all, but has a window seat as well as a desk. Our room, on the 7th floor the east side of the hotel, faced an office building. It had split plantation shutters which gave privacy but did not block out light fully when closed. The room was classy and modern, but there is no bathtub since the total hotel remodel---bummer in my book. Another disappointment in functional design was the frosted glass door to the toilet area in the bathroom. It was a bit awkward, albeit gorgeous. The hair dryer was fantastic, not the cheapo kind some hotels add. We dined in the restaurant on the side of the hotel (there is another one with a bar) for Thanksgiving dinner; not a great meal but the service was great, and we have eaten many fantastic meals there before, so I would not hesitate to return for dinner. Overall, its a great hotel, in between two Metro exits, surrounded by restaurants and a lovely place for a staycation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViewsAndReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dupont Circle Hotel, and we appreciate your loyalty over the years. We hope that you'll join us in Bar Dupont soon for a drink! Please come again soon, we would love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We are a small foundation located in Iowa. We held three different events on three separate days at the Dupont Circle Hotel. Every event was well executed by the very capable, friendly staff. Dealing with the accounting end of things following the event was a breeze. Alex Glass was exceptional to work with, and Vijay Chinnam, Banquet Manager, took care of all my questions and requests at a moment's notice. We would definitely recommend the Dupont for business meetings as well as for sleeping rooms. The sleeping rooms were clean, spacious, and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJA937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Dupont Circle Hotel. Our banquet team is truly exceptional, and they will surely be recognized for their efforts in making your group feel at home. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The Dupont Circle Hotel has been one of our associations favorite locations to hold meetings. It is a very comfortable environment and the staff is wonderful to work with. The majority of the meeting rooms we have used, all have had natural light, which makes the meeting a lot easier on our attendees. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking to hold a small business meeting or a larger meeting.
Not only is the hotel nice, it is in a great location. Dupont Circle is has so many different restaurants in walking distance, which give attendees the opportunity to walk around the city a bit.
Thank you and your staff for all of your hard work.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our meeting facilities and event team. We hope that you'll choose us again for future events and meetings, and we look forward to seeing you soon! Join us again for a bite at the Cafe Dupont or a leisure stay at the hotel. We would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Great location and awesome hotel. Rooms are perfect for one or two people. Staff was fantastic and bar scene was a lot of fun for a couple drinks at the end of the day.

Was in town for business Friday to Tuesday and had very nice time. Plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgil2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This hotel has lovely rooms (heated bathroom floors... mmmm nice), and pleasant and efficient staff. It is centrally located and steps from the Red Line Metro stop.

The rooms are not the standard cookie-cutter types that seem to be the same the world over in brand name hotels. The location plus the rooms makes this hotel competitively priced for this area. In addition, I consider free wi-fi to be $12/day discount compared to the corporate chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We love that you appreciate our complimentary wi-fi and find that we are different than some other hotels. We make it a goal to stand out! Please join us again soon, we would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing