We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot to stay in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to stay in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I once lived in DC and now come back for work mostly. I've stayed at this hotel 3 times now and it is such a beautiful place. THe rooms have been lovely, with beautiful views of Dupont Circle. It is so luxurious. And the staff are very helpful. It is in a great location too, right near the Dupont Circle Metro and lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissajoylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    860
    248
    94
    58
See reviews for
542
886
189
896
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

This is a superb urban hotel in a great location. The hotel is service oriented and the experience with staff was excellent and professional. Staff would practically run to open a door for me. The hotel is stylish and very clean. I would say the rooms are a bit small. I have stayed in room with 2 full size beds. That could be cramped for 2 people (maybe) but it was fine for me. They have single king size bed rooms but I arrived at 9AM and they accommodated my early arrival by offering what they had. I was pleased at being accommodated! There is a popular and well stocked bar and restaurant. The bar was very convenient for get togethers. They are 1 easy block to the subway. I would encourage price shopping -- they do utilize some of the discount sites and offer great value that way.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your loyalty! It is our prerogative to ensure that every guest has a memorable stay like you did. We hope to see you at the Dupont Circle Hotel or Bar Dupont very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed at the Dupont for two nights early in Dec and 2102. As a world traveler, I am accustomed to the tradeoff there often seems to exist between the quality of the facilities on the one hand, and the surliness of staff and predatory prices for minor services (luggage, parking, coffee, extras..) on the other hand. Given DHC's location and its amenities, I was bracing myself for a stodgy service experience. I was wrong. From the receptionist (a warm young woman with a creative hairdo when I checked in, and an equally warm one when I checked out) to the concierge, parking valet, and kitchen staff, everyone was EXCEPTIONALLY pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I did not do any room comparison
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parfait E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time at the Dupont Circle Hotel. We truly appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again upon your return to the DC area. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAICHUNG
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

There were no problems at all with my two night stay at this hotel. The check in and check out staff were exceptionally firendly, the room was comfortable, well appointed and quiet.

The hotel is very convenient for the Washington Metro and also not too far on foot from the tourist attractions. The immediate area has a selection of restaurants.

My only comment is that, in the room I had, TV is wall mounted and cannot be moved, making it impossible to view it from the bed. Not a big issue! I would return there again on future vists to DC.

Room Tip: As with other hotels, avoid rooms which are too close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPAMELOPE010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during you stay or with the set up of your room. We hope to see you again soon at the Dupont Circle Hotel or the Bar Dupont. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at the Dupont Circle Hotel in late October. The location was convenient to the lively Dupont Circle area. Lobby was open and aerie. It took 20 minutes to get valet service for our car. The check in staff were somewhat friendly but were not informative about where things were in the hotel and its services.
When I got to the "superior" room, I was horribly disappointed. The room was apparently too small to even fit a dresser (i.e., there wasn't a single useful drawer anywhere). The amoire could only store items length of a shirt - long jackets or dresses end up needing to be folded to fit. There wasn't shower curtain or a locking door to the bathroom. When you shower, the entire bathroom floor gets wet - so you may have to change outside the bathroom. Note they do not provide robes!
The windows only have shutters, so if you need a dark room to sleep - this becomes a problem. The hotel DOES provide eye shades as an amenity, but I found they are both uncomfortable and become displaced while sleeping. I had marginal sleep for three nights because of this.
On the second night (Friday), the liveliness of the bar and streets wafted into the lobby. When I walked through the lobby after returning from dinner, I had a horrifying experience. A woman was drunk and passed out on one of the ottoman's in the lobby - and she wasn't alone as many drunk people were also staggering about trying to get into the elevator (I emphasize trying - they literally fell into the elevator). This is definitely not a place I would take my grandchildren!
As I waited for the next elevator, a man approached me asking if I wanted to buy some drugs. Horrified, I declined and immediately went to one of the hotel's security staff. The guard shrugged and said there wasn't much he could do. I said I understood that they can't control what someone says, but they can kick people out - and then they reiterated that there wasn't anything that they could do.
Later that and the following nights, I was frequently awoken by noise in the halls. The adult activities of two (or more) neighbors could be heard through the paper-thin walls. Furthermore, their door opened and closed every half hour or so - it was almost like there were streams of people going in and out. I was too afraid to investigate, but it was like an "escort" service was running there.
The last day, as I was checking out, one of my small bags was taken. After acting a little helpful including giving me the phone number to the police, they more or less said it wasn't their fault and I needed to watch my own stuff- which I agree with. But they wouldn't let myself or the police review the lobby videos to identify a suspect thief. In the end, a thief acquired some of my dirty laundry, a coffee card, some toiletries and my nice bag (wallet was in my hands) - so I wasn't going to fuss more with it beyond a police report.
I stay in DC about once a month and this was my first visit to the Dupont Circle Hotel. In the future, I'll stick with my reliable locations: St. Regis, JW Marriott, Willard, and Ritz Carlton. The service, cleanliness, and security is signifcantly better at those locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbelTasmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences or issues you encountered during your stay. The safety of our guests is our number one priority. We take great pride in offering our guests a comfortable and safe place to stay when they are far from home. We are looking further into this incident, and would like any more insights you can offer. Please contact the hotel directly to discuss the situations with a manager. Rest assured this is a rare occurance, and strays far from the norm at the Dupont Circle Hotel. We hope to remedy your experiences, and make up for these challenges. We hope that you’ll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed ar the Jury's in Boston a few years ago and I loved this hotel. I chose the Dupont Circle Hotel based on the fact that it is part of the Jury's group and my experience in Boston. The room cleanliness was very pleasing and although there are some minor inconveniences I want management to know that what sealed the deal for me was the superb service and friendliness of the staff. This is unlike anything that I have experienced in the US or Europe - India being the exception. I entered my room and although the room was nice I hated the unpleasant view of some rusting rooftops (not sure what part of the hotel that was). I was just about to pick up the phone when it rang. It was the manager asking about my room and after I explained she said that she would give me the requested street view. I said that I would be down in a bit and she said: "No need, we'll send the key up to you." Reception staff walked up and down the reception area and lounge asking if they could assist; the manager greeted me in the lift and seemed to patrol the floor area constantly; restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate me and my guests. The complimentary apple cider and cookies were delicious. Based on the level of service which surpasses a lot of the 'fake' friendliness in five star hotels, I will keep coming back and the location can't be beat. Keep this up and you've got a winner. I wish that I can remember the names of the ladies who did my check-in and check-out. One was Jenny, I think. SUPER service and genuine good wishes for the 18-hr flight ahead of me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JburgSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your review! The Dupont Circle is proudly part of the Doyle Collection. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in DC. We can assure you are team will certainly be recognized for their efforts in creating a memorable stay for you. We hope that you'll join us again in the Cafe Dupont or Bar Dupont. We look forward to your return, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Super convenient location, nice renovated room, friendly staff. Even had free holiday cookies in lobby each afternoon. Lots of shops and restaurants in neighborhood. Short metro ride to all the downtown attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in Dupont Circle. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing