We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff and location”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice staff and location”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Got to the hotel late in the evening and we couldn´t get our normal upgrade (Expedia Elite) which was kind of a drag. The staff was nice and courteous and we got our room pretty quick. The rooms are kind of small and cramped but with very good taste in decor. I specially liked the heated slate flooring in the bathroom...great touch. Since we arrived past 10:30 pm we thought we could order room service but to our disappointment room service only runs until 10:30 pm.
Cleanliness was ok and food was fine too but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoQC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We would love the opportunity to hear more about your experience, so we can improve next time. Please contact the Hotel Manager so we can discuss possible solutions! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    890
    262
    98
    57
See reviews for
595
924
192
947
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The room is in a decent size, very well appointed. The bathroom is chic, spic and span. Furniture items are all designed with intent to honor the spirit of minimalism, to a brilliant effect.

Featuring a colonial style, window frames in white timber are just a treat for the eyes.

Staff are pleasantly warm-hearted and smiley. Concierge specialists are informative and eager to recommend where to go in this might-be-one-of-the-America’s-only-few-pretty-cities-in-reality city of Washington D.C.

The gym is small but very nice, sufficiently equipped for purposes of cardio and weights.

The location is just good enough. A lot of dining and sightseeing options are around.

In short, this hotel is a classical example of American chic-ness.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we have the opportunity to earn a full 5-stars next time. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, VA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

On January 14th we booked this hotel for a stay on January 22nd for one night. A day later I cancelled the reservation because we found a much better deal. I had and still have confirmation numbers for both the reservation and cancellation.
A few weeks ago I was checking our credit card bill and saw we had been billed for one nights stay. I called the hotel and asked what was going on. The person answering the phone couldn't help me and more importantly did not seem very concerned. He even asked me if I had booked the hotel through TravelZoo (I had) and if so why I had cancelled my reservation. He transferred me to someone else where I ended up on voice mail. I left a message. My call was never returned.
After waiting a week, I called the hotel back and explained what was going on. This person helped me, but again they seemed apathetic. They finally reversed the charges and explained that due to a computer error their system had booked two rooms for me (though I only ever got confirmation for one room) and only one was cancelled.
By this time I was upset about I had been treated. I don't always check my credit card bills carefully and could have missed this charge completely. I then had two spend well over an hour of my time straightening out their error. No one at the hotel seemed to care and I never received an apology.
I e-mailed management about this situation. I am still waiting to hear back.
I realize that since I never actually stayed at the hotel that this review is incomplete.
HOWEVER, I think my experience with this hotel is indicative of their attitude towards their customers. I will never have dealing with this hotel chain in the future, and I feel that if I was a potential customer and someone else had experience what I did, I would want to know about it.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

After a screw up at another well known hotel down Conn. Ave., I was rebooked at The Dupont Circle Hotel. The rooms have some very nice features for those who appreciate higher end touches. Nice lobby, excellent 'come and go' valet, exceptional customer service from the folks at the front desk, free tea in the lobby. Plusses for me. Lights on the headboard good for reading and not keeping your roommie awake; heated floor tiles in the bathroom great on cold days. Do not disturb is a button by the door, no having to open the door and place a worn and dirty tag on the handle. The only downside to my room was the beverage fridge was not cold and the door did not have ample stripping/sealing on it, so we could hear everything in the hall. I did advise the front desk who assured me they would repair (I didn't want the interruption for the 2 days we were there). The bar, Bar Dupont was great for people watching and dessert. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you plan ahead, request a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoutheastJeromeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered regarding you mini fridge. We hope that you'll join us again soon upon your next visit to Dupont Circle. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg South Adrica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I booked the Du Ponte Circle Hotel from the reviews from TripAdvisor as I liked the location and the boutique hotel. We arrived in Washington at 8:00 am after a 19 hour flight so I had emailed the hotel before we left to request an early check in which they said they would see if they could arrange. We arrived at the hotel really not expecting the room to be ready and were advised your room is ready! I was so grateful to be able to check in early take a shower and make the most of the day. I can not fault the hotel at all and I am a fussy person. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for an amazing review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We love to hear that we could make you so comfortable during your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Dupont Circle Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rehoboth beach.de
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the week end at this beautiful hotel.the minute you walk in the door you get the feeling of elegance.
It is a modern decor and the rooms are great.we had one over looking DuPont Circle.
Room was adequate size and loved glass in the bathroom.
Convenient location and Starbucks across the street and Metro a block.
Breakfast was in very good and reasonable.
Many near by restaurants great staff.
Will stay again on next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavonne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have an 18 year old daughter who has autism and booked five days for the two of us and her longtime aide to visit. D.C. last week. At the last minute, I had to stay back so I called the hotel to let them know about the change and they immediately "stepped up " and took care of them from the moment they walked through the door. The person I spoke to on the phone had the manager call me when they arrived and made sure they had gorgeous adjoining rooms. There were several concierges and all were incredibly helpful and patient with recommendations for sightseeing and transportation. I was very nervous to send them without me but want to thank the management and staff for an excellent stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamSuzeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are happy to hear that we could be of service to your daughter and her aide during their stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,063 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,167 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing