We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from another stay at the Dupont Hotel - this time to celebrate my best friend's birthday. On this trip, we had a better opportunity to meet and chat with more of the staff. Everyone was really wonderful - especially Cece, Jade and Serge in Bar Dupont. They went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. Then of course, there's Cole, the manager, who ALWAYS goes above and beyond during our stay. It really felt like coming home and being among friends. Aside from the A-list service, this particular hotel has a great location - walking distance to lots of great shops - although with such a great view of Dupont Circle, it's tempting to just stay in and do brunch in the restaurant or cocktails on the patio and people watch (Tip: order the "Alan's Love" cocktail!). The bathrooms are pretty lux with heated floors and modern appliances and the beds are super comfy. Overall I'd say this is a pretty quiet hotel (not many kids running around) and even with 3 weddings happening it seemed like the usual bustle of the city and arrivals to the hotel. At night Bar Dupont gets packed. It seems like the place to be - even for people who do not stay in the hotel. So arrive early and get a good seat/table. This is by far our favorite hotel in DC. Definitely worth giving a try if you've never stayed here. It's a well oiled machine and simply a gorgeous hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Dupont Circle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See_Chris_jetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for your return visit and kind review! We are truly happy to hear how satisfied you and your husband were as guests and we will definitely pass all of your compliments on to our entire team. On your next stay, as you know, if there is anything we can do to make your stay a comfortable one, just let us know. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    861
    249
    94
    58
See reviews for
545
887
189
897
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location is great, close to metro station and there is a 24hr pharmacyl store, Starbucks and bookshops nearby. The Superior Double room with two double beds was very disappointing, there was no room to put one suitcase never mind our three without blocking the door, fridge or seating area. Very little room to walk around the end of bed. The bathroom is cleverly designed to fit a small space. We were staying for five nights and when I contacted reception they did move us to a wheelchair accessible room. This room would only be suitable for two people with hand luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMEE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our excellent location. Although we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your original room, we are glad that we were able to accommodate you with a room transfer. Should you stay with us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly prior to your visit so that we can make sure all your needs are met. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed in July, on one of the hottest weekends of the summer. It was a business/fun weekend with a group of other travel agents. The location is great. There are two meto stops very close by, so it's easy access to all of the District from the hotel. It's in a safe, busy neighborhood not overrun with government buildings. There are several embassies in the area and that naturally adds to the area's cachet. Lots of restaurants and shops in the area. I stayed in an executive room on the 7th floor and had a great view. The shutters on the windows added a homey touch to an otherwise modern room. The window in the bathroom actually opens, so showering to a spring breeze would be delightful. The bathroom was spotless, good-sized and light and bright. My room had a full-length frosted glass wall separating it from the bedroom, so sharing with a friend wasn't as awkward as one reviewer stated. There was a mini-bar in the room and complimentary bottled water on arrival.
The staff is excellent. Young and enthusiastic, they were more than ready with suggestions and recommendations. Everyone was professional and polite. Even the cleaning crew had a smile and hello for us.
The Cafe DuPont has a great menu and excellent food. The Atlantic cod was perfect. The bar was packed in the evenings with locals as well as tourists. Good spot to feel the vibe of the city.
Overall, an excellent hotel for business or leisure travelers. I feel confident recommending it to all my clients.

Room Tip: Go for the executive rooms for the additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cap561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We are happy you were able to enjoy all of our accommodations and that you found our staff so helpful. We always want to go above and beyond for our guests. It's great that you were able to dine with us as well and we will pass your compliments on to the chef. Thank you again for leaving such kind words. We hope to see you again for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Nice upscale hotel. Room was small. I was sharing the room with a friend, but we're not a couple, so the "open" bathroom created some awkwardness. You can't excuse yourself to use the toilet because there's no privacy. However, the staff was very good: special thanks to Antonio. The location on Dupont Circle is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownManhattanGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy you found our location to be convenient for your visit. We also appreciate the compliment to our staff and will make sure to pass your thanks to Antonio and our team! Should you stay with us again, please feel free to reach out to us to make sure all your room expectations are met. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was equipped with very comfortable rooms,chic decor and located in an awesome neighborhood. The only draw back would be that the outside noises were a little loud in the morning on the weekdays. All-in all it clean and staff was courteous and the prices were good. Free Wi-fi as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the comfort of your room and our modern decor. We are also happy to hear you were a fan of our neighborhood as we enjoy being able to provide guests with an ideal location for their stay. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a fairly typical upmarket chrome-and-glass hotel but what stood out were ....

1) the staff, extremely helpful (special thanks to Derek) and approachable
2) the bed was exceedingly comfortable
3) fee wifi (take note UK hotels!)
4) fresh bottled water (free) every day. Really handy as it was a hot summer
5) good breakfast in Cafe DuPont but at businessman prices
6) location, location, location. The area is very. Bohemian with lots of cares, restaurants and people sitting around in the Circle playing chess. It felt so relaxed. Only 20 minute walk to the Whitehouse and a metro stop is just the other side of the circle. No need for taxis, the metro goes everywhere and is great value for money.

A couple of things to be aware of at the hotel ......
a) we were on the 7th floor facing an indoor courtyard. Air conditioning fans were at least 5 floors below and were quite noisy. That shouldn't put you off staying, just check the room as soon as you arrive and ask to be moved if it's a problem for you.
b) the shutters on the windows were fairly rubbish at keeping out the light. That wasn't a major problem for us but we have some friends who need total darkness who would have a big problem if they stayed here. Thoughtfully, the hotel provide eye masks in the rooms.
c) we arrived on a Saturday and the bar was heaving! Could barely hear myself breathe. If you like a buzzy atmosphere it's great but not if you want to sit and relax and chat.

If I ever went back to Washington, I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I always reckon that the higher, the better and this applies to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithmT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi Keith, thank you for taking the time to leave such thoughtful feedback. We appreciate it! We are happy that we had several standouts for you at the hotel especially courtesy of our staff who always go the extra mile for our guests. We are also proud of our excellent location and it's great when our guests can benefit from it.

As you noted, we want to make sure that your room meets your expectations by just letting us know of any concerns as they arise. And we do take our guests' comfort into consideration with extras like the eye masks and our other amenities. We hope you have a return visit to Washington and that you choose The Dupont Circle Hotel again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stay was perfect from start to finish. Hotel staff is very professional, friendly and accomodating - they have obviously been very well trained and must like working at the hotel. Room was very nice with a nice view of DuPont Circle. Very comfortable bed with high quality linens. Nice restaurant and bar and the property location is in a perfect location for sight seeing and shopping.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hi John, wow - thank you for your kind words. To hear that your stay was perfect is what we strive for when serving our guests, so we appreciate your feedback. We are happy that our location was accommodating to your day-to-day itinerary and that our rooms provided you comfort with a view. Thank you again for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing