We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go-to hotel in DC.”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable with a tasteful decor. I was pleasantly surprised by the heated bathroom floor. I also appreciate the fact that each room has free high-speed internet access. I'm amazed at the number of hotels that charge their patrons extra. The staff at the front desk consistently go out of their way to help me with anything that I need, and the servers in the bar and in the restaurant are very attentive. The location couldn't be any better--in the heart of Dupont and a short walk to the metro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcprice78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear JC, thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We are glad you enjoyed your stay while with us and kindly appreciate being your "go-to hotel in DC." We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,965 - 1,971 of 3,323 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

A clean, beautifully decorated & very well-managed hotel. The staff has cornered the market on outstanding customer service. The convenience of the Metro to this location can not be overstated, whether one is traversing DC for either business or pleasure. There is a European feel to this hotel that accentuates a comfortable & efficient, yet luxurious quality. After a five night stay we definitely wanted to stay longer. The DuPont Circle Hotel is at the top of our list for return visits to Washington.

Room Tip: Higher rooms= less street noise. However, we were located on a main street & didn't have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickle40207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay while with us. We are glad you were able to benefit from our location and hope you got a chance to explore everything you wanted to in the city. We look forward to your next trip to DC as we hope to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is modern, with great styling. The bar is great, with a lot of atmosphere. Every member of staff was friendly, professional and went out of their way to help. The room we stayed in was really nicely styled, but not that practical for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the room was noisey and the window shutters meant that the room wasn't dark, all making it hard to sleep in. The bathroom doesn't allow for much privacy as there wasn't a proper door in the room we stayed in - the vanity area was open with just a glass door to separate the toilet - not ideal. The bed was quite comfortable and a fridge was provided free of charge. The location is good, but this best thing about this hotel is the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJA_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for being a recent guest of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff makes guest satisfaction the priority, so we appreciate your comments. We hope you enjoyed your time in DC and will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed for a race on a preferred hotel package rate. The location near the Metro was very convenient offering access to and from the airport as well allowing us to avoid the rental car shuffle.
The room was clean bright and modern, my wife really liked the heated floors in the bathroom. The room was a little tight for 2 beds and 3 people but overall nice. Walking distance to many great restaurants in the area and easy walk to the White House. The bar offers a lively and energetic scene, we happened to be there the night of the Press Corps event and it was packed with people bar hopping their way up the street to the event. It's a good location, good price, staff was attentive and service excellent.

Room Tip: Request one with a view of the circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonstoptwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the extra amenities our hotel offers. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughtful feedback. We love to hear from guests about their experience, and we are pleased when expectations are met. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to have you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Book a deal via hotwire (4 star hotel) and was not disappointed.
Rooms are great, very modern, great decor, well kept and very clean, same for bathroom. Bed was very comfortable.
Service was great and the location (right at Dupont Circle) is also great. Did not go to the bar downstairs but looks like a great option, always crowded and with a nice atmosphere.
Would be back and recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpolicicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We appreciate your kind review of our hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in DC and we are happy to have provided you a comfortable stay. Thank you for being a guest of ours; we welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The reviews are right, this is a good new addition to the DC hotel scene and one I shall be using from now on..but not the restaurant. It's busy, noisy and full ....and some othis causes problems.

My five star points are that the staff are really great and helpful...young and willing to please.. The bed was so so comfortable and the (smallish) room really well designed and thought out. Great shower and bathroom ..v stylish and practical and I have always loved Aromatherapy Associate products for their clean scents ..in fact I use them at home although very pricey....so finding them here, although in a slightly different format was a major major bonus for me! Free wifi. Yes please!

So why not five stars? Well a couple of things.
Firstly it is really noisy on the ground floor in the evening as the bar is so popular..and somehow the acoustics are amplified throughout reception and the seating area. that itself wasn't the problem as its good to be popular and lively...and I couldn't hear a thing in my room..the real issue was whilst I was there a number of people, some elderly and not really liking the decibels, wanted to sit with guests and have a coffee or wait for a while after check out and there was nowhere quiet to go. I heard several ask if they could find somewhere quiet to sit or have coffee in the restaurant ( actually it's really more of a coffee shop in decor ) but they were told its closed some of the day. This is a real shame..why not have it open all of the day ? Would be very popular. Certainly there are coffee shops outside but the addition of all day opening would be really great.

And secondly The restaurant itself has issues. I waited 45 minutes for breakfast once and twice my orders were forgotten. I saw it happen to people around me as well. A few people really not pleased and kept being told the orders were just backing up which was true, but my neighbour waited nearly an hour for eggs and bacon.. I had two good (eggs Benedict) and one poor cooked breakfasts. The Croque Madame, a personal favourite, was made from two pieces of deep fried bread dripping in fat, puddling on the plate, with fried, dried up, ham between them and no sign of the cheese. It was so greasy it was inedible. It should be a toasted ham and gruyere sandwich, or even lightly fried, with an egg on top. The egg was fine.

On balance however I loved the room so I really will stay here again as it's well designed comfortable and convenient and clearly extremely popular. but in will skip the restaurant and just go to Starbucks for coffee and breakfasts from now on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Gwyneth, we kindly appreciate your thoughtful feedback and we thank you for being a guest of ours. Your compliments of our staff are much appreciated as well, as it is our priority to make our guests feel welcome and attended to on all accounts. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We do take all guest comments seriously as we continuously strive to provide the best possible guest experience. Feedback from guests like you helps us to achieve just that. We look forward to your next stay with us next time you are in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Staying here for a week on business. From the first entry and great welcome at reception things are good. Not just a 'have a nice day' service but people who really do go the extra mile. A colleague needed specialist dry cleaning. Note under the door with name, location, a google map and 'phone number. The food is good although a little pricey, as is the bar.
The rooms are well designed an appointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Richard, we appreciate your kind review of our hotel. We definitely like to go the extra mile for our guests, so it is nice to know that it does not go by unnoticed. It is our goal to make each guest feel welcome and exceed expectations. We hope you got some time to enjoy the city and we do hope we see you again on future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,658 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
454 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing