We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hotel in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We only stayed here one night and it was a memorable one. Not only is the staff friendly and accommodating, but this lovely hotel exceeded our expectations. As the weather was very chilly, we spent a lot of time in our cozy room with HDTV, and a gorgeous view of Dupont Circle. The major bonus we weren't expecting - the bathroom had heated floors! This hotel is blessedly dog-friendly and we had our chihuahua with us. Dudley had a great time here too, and even enjoyed meeting a certain celebrity's doggy.
We had only one complaint, and that was that someone had set the iPod radio alarm to go off loudly at 5 am, so we sat bolt upright in bed! What a shock. But when we mentioned to the staff so they could have the maid reset the alarm, they offered us breakfast vouchers as compensation. That, we were also not expecting! Many hotels we've stayed out might not even blink an eye at such a report and only grunt out an apology. But Dupont Circle Hotel made the effort to make amends, and boy was their breakfast yummy! Be sure to try the restaurant in the hotel, you won't be disappointed! Finally, we were made to feel very much at home as the General Manager even came to speak with us and all members of staff were incredibly friendly. We will be sure to book here again next time we're in DC!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Lori, thank you for being a guest of ours. We truly appreciate your kind review. We are always happy to go above and beyond for our guests; we are thankful for your recognition. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    860
    248
    94
    58
See reviews for
542
886
189
896
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. Our room was SUPER comfortable and well-appointed, the free WiFi was very much appreciated, and the staff just couldn't have been nicer. The hotel has a very intimate, Euro-chic style that just really fits in its hyper-cool Dupont Circle neighborhood. And the hotel's bar is the absolute perfect place to end a crazy DC day. And our room's bathroom? We were already planning a remodel of our master bath at our home and we have now tried out the prototype! (Seriously--took dozens of pics...hope you don't mind us stealing your design, hotel folks!!) We will DEFINTELY be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Bill, thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had such a nice stay and found our accommodations to be comfortable. We are definitely happy to hear that you enjoyed our modern decor including our bathrooms. Hopefully, it gave you some good ideas for your remodel. We hope you enjoyed your DC visit and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Good location, good value, good service, friendly and helpful staff. Only big minus for me was the bad WiFi connection in our room. One of the main reasons why I choice this hotel was the Free WiFi that they are offering. But the connection in our room was very bad. It was not possible to use it. In the lobby it was working fine. Maybe it was because we were on the 8th floor. BIG Plus is the free bottle water you get every day in your room. Just across the hotel is Starbucks and the Metro is at the other side of the square. I will stay in the hotel again if I am sure that the free WiFi will work like it has to work.

Room Tip: We asked for a High Floor room but the WiFi was not working good. Maybe the lower floor rooms have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoenIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for being a guest of ours. We appreciate you sharing your experience and feedback with us. We are happy we could be of service to you, but we apologize if the Wifi was not working as well as you might have expected. We thank you for bringing your concern to our attention, as it helps us going forward to continue to provide the best possible experience for our guests. We hope you enjoyed your DC visit, and will visit us again on a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Loved our weekend stay at the DuPont Circle Hotel. We had a small but elegant room on an upper floor with an entire wall of windows. (Window treatment was cool -- louvered wooden shutters!). Terrific bed with big down pillows and excellent bedside lighting for readers like us. Lovely bathroom with marble tile and those thick, rough, bright white towels like you get in a top spa. Fabulous staff everywhere we turned. The bar is a popular spot and so crowded we couldn't get in but we grabbed some comfortable seats in the spacious lobby and they served us there. Be sure to walk up CT Ave for amazing coffee at Dolcezza and ice cream at Larry's. And don't miss the farmer's market on Sunday -- just around the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter. DuPont circle is a busy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RootedinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations proved to be so comfortable for you. Your feedback is much appreciated and we thank you for being a guest. The weekend farmer's market is a favorite as ours as well, so we are glad you were able to partake in that. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Dupont Circle Hotel on a recent trip to the area and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel itself is modern with small luxurious touches - the heated bathroom floor was appreciated. Located directly on Dupont Circle, the hotel is ideally situated, but an unexpected bonus was the amazing view from our room. We were able to score a great little corner table for brunch the morning we checked out and made the most of people watching on the Circle - the cheese platter was delicious and the truffle aioli fries were to die for. The staff were exceptional and I truly felt taken care of throughout our stay. All in all, a great location, superb staff willing to go the extra mile, and luxurious feel means that my husband and I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G7059GQKimK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We kindly appreciate your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our modern accommodations and fantastic location and views. It is always our goal to make our guests feel welcome and taken care of, so it's great to hear that was accomplished. We thank you for being a guest, and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staff, facilities, room, ambience, food and bar really good. Several work colleagues stayed at the same time and we all had the same experience. Very definitely a well run venue and it was a nice hotel for a multi-night stay.

Room Tip: The circle opposite the hotel is a large roundabout with a park area which means plenty of noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear John, we thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant as was the stay of your colleagues. We hope you enjoyed your time while in DC and hope to have you back as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a great choice for a business traveller or tourist: great location two minutes walk from the metro, modern, well equipped, excellent restaurant. Unusual in not serving a buffet breakfast - but this is a great and unexpected bonus if you have time: it does take a little longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for being a guest of ours. We appreciate your kind review of our hotel. We are glad you could benefit from our great location, and had a chance to dine with us as well. We hope you are able to join us again on future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing