We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything great.............except "superior" room”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Customer service, bar staff and prices, scenery, location, and food are all great.................But the room is so small, no refrigerator, shower has no door and water gets all over the floor. microwave is $25 for the stay, pay to park at hotel is way overpriced in my opinion. Just wow not what I expect from an upscale hotel in the heart of DC. If you plan on staying for a long period of time or with a family I wouldn't recommend staying here. In my opinion this is a business meeting or short stay couple style hotel. If you do visit this hotel, I would recommend using the metro to get around its very cheap, easy to understand and saves you tons of $$$.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Rob, we appreciate you being a guest of our hotel and thank you for leaving your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall guest experience with us and enjoyed the area, especially our close proximity to the metro. We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you on another trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,966 - 1,972 of 3,393 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

the hotel is charming and the staff was attentive; the location was excellent for the meetings I had. I knew this hotel in the past,and it has been rebuilt after a fire far exceeding what it had previously been.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniexyz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you, Annie for your kind review. We are pleased to have had you join us again in DC and we are glad you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have been staying here for about a year now on business trips from Chicago. Hotel is very "W" -ish but with authenticity that is appreciated. Rooms feature higher than class finishes and bed is very comfortable. Bar is very welcoming afterhours with a mix of locals and hotel guest. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wxtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind review. We are pleased that you choose to stay with us when you are in the city for business. We are glad you enjoy our amenities and that we can provide such pleasant stays for you. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel has a very modern and swanky vibe to it. I would recommend it based off of that alone... Bet the service here was above and beyond what I could have ever asked for.

Ohm at Bar DuPont in particular was who made my trip the best. I arrived to the bar a bit late and to be honest, was rude being on my phone... But she was super attentive and kind...even at the end if what was probably a long, boring shift on a Monday. You know how sometimes the little things make a difference? She paid attention to the nuts I was eating on the side of my meal and because she was upset that I didn't have much time there, she gave me a to-go cup of them...

That was not only surprising, it was awesome. Service like that will keep me coming back to a hotel and a bar again and again. I don't know if there is a rewards system or not for the servers, but if there is Ogy deserves something for her above and beyond service that will turn me into a repeat customer,

Great hotel.... Awesome service.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a decent view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyoung3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We truly value your kind feedback and will definitely make sure to share it with everyone on our team. It is our pleasure to provide a guest experience that makes everyone feel welcome and wanting to come back. We are happy you felt that way about your most recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at the dupont circle hotel last year end of november. got a fantastic room on level nine, where very happy with the cool amenities and the friendly staff. we stayed at several DC Hotels before and this was by far the best experience. Efficient, very quick check in at the front desk, nice room with wicked pickled vegetables in a can as amenities, bathtop with view, cocktails even i haven't heard of at the bar, and spot on food from the kitchen.
On our next visit to DC, we'll definitely choose the Dupond again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonBenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you were able to experience our Level Nine luxuries on your most recent visit and we appreciate you being a return guest of ours. We hope you enjoyed your time in the city and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I was really impressed by the staff - many of whom seemed to be Irish - and who were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is wonderfully positioned. On one day I walked from the hotel to the White House, Lincoln Memorial, and Capitol - and on another day walked down to Georgetown. The rooms are really comfortable and quiet - though I would have preferred a bath-tub to just a shower. Free wi-fi works well. Bar good and friendly (with plenty of nuts too!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Hello David - thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our great location to explore the city. We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience and we hope you return as a guest of ours again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I cannot report on this hotel because I failed to get a booking but not for want of trying. I called to book several rooms at this hotel, received a price quote but was told to call back the following day. I did so and could but complete the arrangements because the travel manager was not available. I continued to call without success. Six days after my initial contact, I received a pleasant call from the reservations office. Alas, the price had increased 33 percent. The reservations office declined to honor the price quote. My offer to split the difference was also politely rejected. I guess there is no honor in such matters these days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
3  Thank oyezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,589 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,219 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
496 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing