We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I'd stay there again. I traveled with my husband, 10 yr old son and disabled father.The rooms were very nice. The staff were helpful and professional. I was just not a fan of the honor bar in the room. Plus I would have like a mini fridge too.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toobored2argue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your feedback as well so that we may better understand what our guests like/dislike. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,849 - 1,855 of 3,322 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

From check-in to check-out everything the hotel staff could control was excellent. Comments on outside noise levels in a bit. We arrived early and had lunch in the Dupont Bar. Salads and sandwiches were very good and the service excellent. Front desk staff kept us informed of when our rooms would be ready. We were in 617 which was a king bed overlooking Dupont Circle. The room set-up was excellent. Housekeeping does an excellent job - room was perfect on arrival. The only downside was the noise from Dupont Circle. Generally, got quiet from midnight to 5:00am, but we had fire trucks one night and a loud garage truck another morning. Try for a room furthest away from the circle and not overlooking the street.

Complimentary early coffee (and tea) and newspapers are available in the lobby. A nice touch to start the day. We ate breakfast in Cafe Dupont (2 mornings) and the food was excellent. Berry plate was a nice selection of blueberry, blackberry and strawberry. The corned beef hash was homemade - no uniformed diced pieces of potatoes and corned here (hash lovers no what I'm talking about)! Smoked salmon bagel also very good and the portion of salmon was plenty. Service was outstanding. Never had to ask for a coffee refill and the staff was always around to ensure everything was OK!

The Dupont Circle Metro station (Redline) is literally around the corner. We valet parked for our stay ($37/day) and used the metro to get around. Walk out the side entrance by the Dupont Cafe, turn right and walk up 19th street to the corner, which is "Q" street. Turn left on Q, walk about 1 minute and the metro station is on your left (just across Connecticut Ave). It's about a 3 minute walk.

I would definitely stay here again when I'm in Washington DC.

Room Tip: 617 has a nice view of Dupont Circle but you also get the street noise that comes with the view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bollwage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy you had a chance to dine with us during your stay and that our staff could accommodate all your needs. The vibrancy of Dupont Circle always means a little extra bustle of the city but we are glad your stay with us was a comfortable one. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to your next visit next time you are in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel for a wedding this past weekend. It is located in a great neighborhood, easily accessible from the metro. Rooms are small but we didn't mind. Modern, sleek look. The front desk was very accommodating and the concierge was helpful. The service at the attached restaurant was extremely slow for breakfast one morning, however.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remyalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Remy, thank you for being a guest of our hotel. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our modern accommodations and that our staff could be helpful to you. Thank you for sharing your concern about your experience in the cafe, so that we can address that matter with our team. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope you have a chance to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The DuPont Circle Hotel is a great upscale boutique hotel right on DuPont Circle. The location is perfect, and is in a nice neighborhood with lots of great restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean, with a modern touch. We were upgraded to a penthouse suite, so the balcony was really nice, and the floor to ceiling windows on both sides (it was a corner room) provided for a great view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again, though would probably park my car elsewhere - the valet was pretty pricey.

Room Tip: If you're able to get a corner suite, go for it. The views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Kristin, thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are pleased that we could upgrade you to our Level Nine suites. We hope you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer our Level Nine guests. We appreciate you being a guest of ours during your stay in DC and we do look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have just come back from a week at the DuPont Circle Hotel - the hotel is fantastic: greT location, excellent service, food in DuPont Cafe is very good, Dupont Bar is very lively. However, the traffic noise late at night and early in the morning is very loud. I was on the 4th floor at the front - I would suggest requesting a room higher up and at the back? The rooms are quite small but perfectly formed and beautifully designed. You can request a teas maid in the room or there is complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby. I also requested a DVD player to entertain the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We appreciate you being a guest of our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and that we could meet your needs during your stay. Dupont Circle is a lively area, so we do apologize for the traffic noise disruption. We do thank you for your nice review and hope you will visit us again upon your next visit to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this nicely appointed hotel and was very pleased. It is in a great location right across the street from the metro stop at Dupont Circle. The room was spacious, clean and modern. The bar was a lively neighborhood gathering spot for young people. I will be staying here again the next time I visit DC.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank J_Hawk_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your hotel review with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our accommodations and convenient metro location. We appreciate you being a guest of ours and look forward to your next visit to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted to spend the weekend in DC being tourists. We chose the DuPont hotel based of of what we saw here on tripadvisor. It was more than we expected! Service was very kind and the Hotel was beautiful. We stayed in a room on the forth floor and had such a nice view of the city and the sunset. We will definitely choose this hotel again if we visit DC, the location is perfect. Just very short walking distance from the metro which was very convenient it also has many delicious places to eat near by. Breakfast at the DuPont cafe was lovely as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's perfect for little getaways!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brooke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Brooke, we are so pleased you and your boyfriend decided to join us for your weekend getaway. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are glad that your DC excursions were made easier due to our metro proximity and we are glad you had a chance to dine with us as well. Thank you for your kind review and we hope you have a chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,658 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
454 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing