We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice location in a residential area”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a great weekend stay. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Everyone we met from the front desk to the bartenders to the housekeeping crew, all were pleasant and made us feel welcome. We also loved the location of this hotel. Quiet residential area. Nice for walking around. Easy access to the Metro and a short cab ride downtown. One of the hop-on-hop-off buses had a pick-up around the corner so that was very convenient and yet not "in your face". The room was clean and comfortable, a little small and no view, but we were only there for a good night's rest in between sightseeing all day, so that was irrelevant. We purchased a breakfast option (through Orbitz) that provided $25 vouchers per person; more than enough to cover the cost, and the breakfasts were excellent. The bar was noisy, but the sitting area off the lobby provided a nice view of the street while we sipped our beverages away from the crowd. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, and the area felt safe to walk at night. In all, a great hotel that we will definitely go back to.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like a triangle and many of the rooms look inward towards the other side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are happy you were able to benefit from and enjoyed our Dupont Circle location and hotel amenities. We value your kind comments about our staff and we were more than happy to accommodate you. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 3,437 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for a few days in April while visiting DC during spring break. The location is convenient. You can walk to all the attractions, even with a 6 and 8 year old, but the metro stop is just across the circle to be used on rainy days. There are also lots of choices of restaurants nearby.
The hotel is very trendy. Chill music and beautiful people. This is the type of hotel that we would have loved pre kids. The room very superbly clean. The beds were super comfortable. The hotel was accommodating and brought us extra blankets. Room was a little small for the four of us, but for a couple if would have been perfect.
The bathroom was odd as the glass door didn't afford the most privacy. I would say that this was our major complaint and why we wouldn't stay here again. But, on the other hand, this is not your typical family hotel. I would say the clientele here were singles and couples mostly. So, I would recommend this hotel to those. The bar was lively at night ... Again full of beautiful people and in the evening the restaurant / bar were filled with folks relaxing outside people watching and enjoying lounging and having a fabulous time. The bookstore across the street has a great selection in case you want to pick something up to read late in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weegeewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for being a guest of ours during your recent visit to DC. We are glad you were able to benefit from our proximity to the metro and enjoyed the vibrancy of our hotel. We value your feedback with regards to the modern design of our bathrooms and are happy the beds proved comfortable for you and your family. We thank you for your stay and hope you will consider us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at this very stylish hotel 25th to 29th April 2014. Cannot rate the staff highly enough. Very courteous and helpful. Made for a delightful stay in DC. Bed very comfortable and the food was lovely. And great location, lots of shops bars and restaurants nearby and the Big Bus hop on/hop off trips have a stop just round the corner which is very handy.
The only thing that I can say against it is that it is clearly very popular with the locals and the bar and outside patio tends to get extremely busy. We couldn't get a seat outside one glorious day because it was very busy and we weren't allowed to take seats available out with where servers were located. We were happy enough to get our own drinks at the bar but we were not allowed. Very disappointing to not be able to sit outside on our holiday despite being a resident because all seats were taken by non residents and particularly when there were free seats that we could have sat on! Doesn't seem to make sense.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireHiscox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Claire, we thank you for being a guest of our hotel and we value your kind words and feedback. We are so pleased to hear that our staff helped make your stay that much more enjoyable and that our location proved to be convenient to you. Your observations are correct about our bar area as it does get quite lively, and we do apologize that you were not able to enjoy seating on the patio. We appreciate sharing your concerns regarding this matter so that we may look into it and how we might be able to accommodate guests better. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Dupont Circle Hotel was a comfortable and convenient home base for my family’s tour of Washington DC. It is one very quick block to the very quick Metro. It’s only two stops to Downtown’s Metro Center station for Ford’s Theatre and Shopping. There you can make a transfer then ride another stop or two for the rest of the major sites. At Dupont you’re close to everything, but away from the brunt of (other) tourists.

The hotel itself is attractive, clean and up to date. The front desk staff were helpful and efficient. The bar was pretty hopping at night with comfortable outdoors space. We only ate at the restaurant for a couple breakfasts, but they were pretty good and a surprisingly good value compared to the well-known Kramerbooks across the street (which was also good.) There were many good dinning choices for every taste and budget within a ten-minute walk. The family favorites were Pizza Paradiso (great beer and crispy-crust pizza) and DGS Delicatessen (spectacular lunch of the best prepared kosher made with ingredients of crazy high quality.) I took a late-night solo stroll to Hank’s Oysters for more great beer, $1 oysters (10pm-midnight) and friendly conversation with the bartenders and other customers... a nice little vacation from the family vacation.

Back at the hotel, the rooms were clean and updated, though just a bit tight. We were on the 8th floor and had no issues with noise from inside or outside the hotel. We were cozy but happy. My only two gripes are the same gripes I have with many hotels lately: 1) Thick down duvets are too hot and too heavy, but we needed to call for reasonable blankets. 2) Hotel designers of the world please note that 100 out of 100 people would prefer NOT to be heard by (or hear) loved ones when in the bathroom. PLEASE, everyone wants real doors! Otherwise the place was very good. We would consider it another time.

Room Tip: Families should request the largest available room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBuffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for being a guest of ours during your family's recent trip to DC. We are happy that we could provide such a comfortable and convenient location for you throughout your stay. We think it's fantastic that you really got to experience all our hotel has to offer including our dining options. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful review. We also will keep your concerns in mind with regards to your bedding and the bathroom layout. Comments from guests like help us learn more about what our guests value and favor about our hotel. Thank you again. We hope your travels bring you back to DC soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I often travel to DC for business but this was my first stay at The Dupont Circle Hotel. After a long day of travel, I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The hotel is situated in a great location, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly, and the service was exceptional. Their attention to detail was impeccable -- I especially loved the heated bathroom floors! Everyone from the bellhops, concierge, front desk staff, to my new friend Omar at Bar Dupont made my stay enjoyable. If you are staying in the DC area, please consider checking out the Dupont Circle Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a little claustrophobic, ask for a room with a view. If you are a light sleeper, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busylady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We definitely like to take care of the details for our guests to ensure that each guest enjoys a premium experience. We appreciate you review and sharing your experience with us. We are happy we could provide you with a comfortable stay in Dupont Circle and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night, got engaged, shared some happy hour cocktails in the bar and had a really great time.

The staff were very helpful and polite. They went out of their way to help me find nearby parking and look after our luggage when we arrived early and the room wasn't ready.

Unlike a lot of US hotels the mattress was not far too soft, it was just right.

Room Tip: A tip: get a room on a high-floor, great views over the city if you are facing towards the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxJoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for being guests of our hotel. Congratulations on your engagement! How wonderful that you could spend such a special occasion at our hotel. Thank you for leaving us your kind review and we hope you will be back to visit again next time you are in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Looking for a good location for a weekend getaway?

Look no further than the Dupont Circle Hotel. The hotel is in a prime location for all your D.C. needs.

The hotel bar, Bar Dupont, is a great place for a few drinks and friendly conversation. A popular place for the after work locals, Bar Dupont gets very lively and busy during their generous Happy Hour.

My only tip is that if you may need to spend a little money to get a good room. The average rooms are a little less than desired. They are a bit small and dark. If you get a bigger room then you may have the opportunity to face the tree lined streets. I, on the other hand, had a view of the interior courtyard, which was an unsightly sight of the hotel's ventilation system, as well as viewing the other windows of customers with lovely view. I recommend when booking to ask for a room with a view!

Other than that, I think it's worth a stay for a night or two.

If you don't stay at the hotel, you still must visit the Bar Dupont. It's worth trying their refreshing Ginger cocktail! My favorite drink on the menu.

Room Tip: Rooms with the city view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsettingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We appreciate your thoughtful review of our hotel and we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay while with us. Many of our rooms have excellent views of Dupont Circle and we definitely always welcome you to indicate your preference while booking with us. We are happy you were able to visit our bar as well while you were a guest of ours and that you had such a nice time. Whether it is for a meal, drink, overnight visit or all of the above, we welcome you back to our hotel anytime. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you for a future stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,614 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,226 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,757 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £112 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing