We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #25 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in D.C. We had never stayed in the Dupont Circle area, so decided on this hotel. We had so much fun. The room was lovely and the bed was heavenly. In the mornings we had breakfast in the restaurant which also is connected to the patio if you prefer to be outside. The food was delicious and attractively served. Great coffee. In the evenings after a hard day of being a tourist we sat outside on the patio that's also connected to the bar and enjoyed a drink while soaking up the lively atmosphere of the area. Great first floor layout. The location was wonderful, near lots of great restaurants and two blocks to the metro.

If there was one down side it would be that the bathroom door is made of glass and it is definitely not soundproof! So if you're trying to preserve the mystery and magic of your relationship, you might not be comfortable with that. We've been married long enough that that wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: It's the city. It's noisy. Maybe higher up and not the side over the outdoor bar.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy you and your husband decided to visit us in Dupont Circle and are glad you had such a wonderful stay. We hope you had a chance to taste several items off our menu in the restaurant while taking in the neighborhood ambiance. We are sure your DC trip was a fun one and invite you to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,197)
There are newer reviews for The Dupont Circle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,692 - 1,698 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel leaves a lot to be desired with regards to cleanliness, plus there's construction on the road next to the hotel. Unfortunately they did not tell me about the construction when I made my reservation. My original room had a bathroom that was so gross, that they moved me to another room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Idap_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are disappointed that you did not have a more favorable experience at our hotel. During your visit in December there was construction occurring near us, but it was not being performed by our property, which means unfortunately, we had no control of any disruption it caused. Should we have been aware of this prior to your arrival, we would have contacted our guests in advance.

With regards to the cleanliness of your room/bathroom, our staff is thorough in the inspection of each guest room to ensure cleanliness and comfort, so we are surprised to hear otherwise. We will make sure to take your concerns under advisement and we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very glad we chose the hotel. Location is great. Room was very nice and bed and pillows extremely comfortable. I went for a run in the morning and the doorman handed me a bottle of water on my way back in which was a nice touch. Front desk staff could have been a little friendlier. Free coffee in lobby in the morning was very good. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaNJCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Lisa, a surprise girls trip sounds fun! We are definitely happy you chose to stay with us and that you were pleased with our accommodations. We hope you all had the opportunity to join us for dinner or happy hour as well during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff are exceptional--really go out of their way to be helpful in terms of logistics, reservations, transportation. The location is convenient as well as being fun--excellent people watching on Dupont Circle and nearby shops, bookstore, restaurants. Had an inside room, so while I didn't get the view of the circle, it was very quiet and restful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFTraveler070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. You're right -- we definitely like to go out of our way for guests to ensure their comfort. We are happy you got a chance to explore the neighborhood as Dupont Circle has a lot to offer. We appreciate your review and look forward to another opportunity to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Clean, comfortable room. Perfectly situated near a metro stop and several bike share locations (loved Capital City Bikeshares 7 dollars all day deal). Room and lobby were stylish. Good bed and tv. Excellent soaps and great smelling shower stuff. Friendly staff. Enjoyed Kramerbooks nearby for brunch and books. Will come back!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Eliza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed so many of the amenities we have to offer our guests and it's great you took the opportunity to explore the neighborhood as well. Kramerbooks is definitely a city favorite. We hope you enjoyed your visit to DC and we look forward to your next stay with us at Dupont Circle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel has a most helpful front desk and two concierges for planning restaurants and logistics in D.C. Our room was clean and modern with a view over the park. Metro is only a 5 minute walk from the back door of hotel. Busy bar and efficient breakfast service. It is a bit noisy being located on Dupont Circle, but that comes with being in the city. Excellent on all levels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerEstesPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your wonderful review of our hotel. We love hearing what stands out to our guests about the hotel and we are pleased you found us to excel on all levels. We invite you to join us again next time you are visiting DC and we thank you for being a guest of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was in town for a week with my partner who was attending a business conference. This hotel is in a great location, right on Dupont Circle. It's a very modern and stylish place to stay. But what really made my trip so enjoyable was the impeccable service by a very talented staff.

The doormen were always there to open the doors with a smile and hail taxis etc...

The conceirge, Micheal, was so helpful in getting us reservations and suggesting fun activities. Nothing was too much trouble for this man and his front desk team.

The restaurant, the Dupont Cafe, has a great breakfast selection, and delicious dinner menu. Our server, Mohamad, was fantastic and even wrote down the number of a restaurant we wanted to try with the name of the manager to make sure we could get in.

The Dupont Bar was a totally hoping place, with a great outdoor area. All their juices are freshly squeezed that day, and soda's served from mini bottles, none of that watered down gun stuff. But again the star feature was the staff. I want to mention some names here because they all made such a great impression on me. So here are my shout outs to: Shane the manager, Johnathan the bar tender, and the rest of the team that went above and beyond: Dave,Caroline, Cece, Drew, Gisela, Soufan, Mike, James, Ashley, Junior, Walter and the rest of the team I dont recall the names of.

Finally, the house keeping staff were attentive and made my room cozy and welcoming every day.

Bravo!

Next time I am in D.C. this hotel will be on the top of my list to stay, and I highly recommend you make it your's too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Brian -- we are overwhelmed with gratitude for your wonderful review. It is always our top priority to ensure our guests receive the 5-star hotel experience they deserve and we are so happy we could make you feel welcome during your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer and hope you enjoyed your time in DC. We welcome you back anytime to stay again. We appreciate you taking the time to share your hotel experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,125 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £105 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing