We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed last weekend at a very good group rate. However, the room to which we were first assigned was impossibly small. The king-size bed was almost against the wall, with a mirror protruding between the bed and the narrow path the to tiny bathroom. The toilet blocked the access to the bathroom, the sink was half sized. The storage drawer was under a table and I would have had to crawl to get to it! Fortunately, the very pleasant staff moved us to a larger room. Very clean; nice linens and towels; poor lighting; overly large furniture for the space. The public areas were lovely and lively; great location. Breakfast is pricey, as is parking.

I would stay there again for the amenities and location, as well as the price.

Room Tip: Don't settle for the very small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear William, thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are glad we could quickly rectify your room situation for you to accommodate your needs accordingly. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and location and we hope you will return again soon. We are appreciative of your fine review and hope your time in DC was fantastic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,810 - 1,816 of 3,325 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

You may recall the aphorism, "Except for that, how was the play, Mrs. Lincoln." This hotel has a lot going for it. The staff is well trained. The rooms are rather new and well appointed. The elevators are responsive. The showers are good. The location is convenient, with a Metro stop one short block away.The exercise facility,while not great, is more than adequate. The TV works well with many HD stations. The rooms are reasonably quiet.

But, but, but...The shades on the windows are somewhat similar to Venetian blinds, except they are constructed of wide slats that do little to block light coming in as they can't be tightly closed. This means that at night the streetlights illuminate the room and in the morning, well, forget sleep if yours is one of the 50% of rooms on the eastern side of the facility, as the sun will brightly illuminate your room starting at 5AM in the summer. (See attached photo.)

What is the prime purpose of a hotel? To provide a place to sleep. If a hotel can't do that, then it should be avoided no matter how good is everything else.

The crazy thing is that the cost to the hotel to fix this would be trivial compared to its other costs. It's hard to understand why management would neglect the key responsibility to provide an adequate place for its guests to sleep.

Until they fix that, avoid the place, unless being woken up very early is your thing.

Room Tip: Demand a room on the west side to avoid morning sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mac,

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We were thrilled as we began reading your review as we seemed to have hit the mark on several levels: well-appointed rooms, responsive elevators, nice showers, well-trained staff, location convenience, etc. Therefore, you can see why we were both surprised and disappointed that your rating was not reflective of how you viewed our hotel.

With regards to the light being bright streaming in, we definitely do not want this to disrupt the sleep of any of our guests, which is why we provide eye masks for comfort and convenience. Depending on your guest room location, the outside lighting will differ, but we had an easy solution ready and available for you. Thank you for your feedback and be assured that your comments will be taken into consideration. We do not want this to deter you from visiting us again and we do hope that you will consider our hotel for your next visit to D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great location, wonderful rooms, amazing staff (especially concierge Michael)!
I was in town for a conference at a nearby hotel but I am now so glad that they were booked, this was an excellent experience.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location was convenient to everything you could want to see and do.
I highly recommend The Dupont Circle Hotel to other travellers and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haligirl142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for leaving us such a heartfelt review. We value your feedback and appreciate your compliments to our staff. We are more than pleased to hear your stay here was a fantastic one and look forward to the next time you have a chance to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The personnel are extremely friendly and accomodating. I was not lacking anything. I had a room in the 27th tier. This is a room "deluxe double bed". Great view. I really liked the Dupont Bar. Efficient bartenders with an area that has ceiling to floor windows facing the Circle. Having a drink or two or three is a PERFECT way to end a day. I have been coming back to this hotel for approximately 3 to 4 years. It was always a nice experience and I highly recommend it to my traveling associates.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators, especially on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Raymond, thank you for your glowing review. We appreciate your thoughtful words and we are pleased you were able to experience much of what our hotel has to offer. We thank you for being a guest of ours and hope you will join us again on future travels to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in D.C. We had never stayed in the Dupont Circle area, so decided on this hotel. We had so much fun. The room was lovely and the bed was heavenly. In the mornings we had breakfast in the restaurant which also is connected to the patio if you prefer to be outside. The food was delicious and attractively served. Great coffee. In the evenings after a hard day of being a tourist we sat outside on the patio that's also connected to the bar and enjoyed a drink while soaking up the lively atmosphere of the area. Great first floor layout. The location was wonderful, near lots of great restaurants and two blocks to the metro.

If there was one down side it would be that the bathroom door is made of glass and it is definitely not soundproof! So if you're trying to preserve the mystery and magic of your relationship, you might not be comfortable with that. We've been married long enough that that wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: It's the city. It's noisy. Maybe higher up and not the side over the outdoor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy you and your husband decided to visit us in Dupont Circle and are glad you had such a wonderful stay. We hope you had a chance to taste several items off our menu in the restaurant while taking in the neighborhood ambiance. We are sure your DC trip was a fun one and invite you to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel leaves a lot to be desired with regards to cleanliness, plus there's construction on the road next to the hotel. Unfortunately they did not tell me about the construction when I made my reservation. My original room had a bathroom that was so gross, that they moved me to another room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Idap_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are disappointed that you did not have a more favorable experience at our hotel. During your visit in December there was construction occurring near us, but it was not being performed by our property, which means unfortunately, we had no control of any disruption it caused. Should we have been aware of this prior to your arrival, we would have contacted our guests in advance.

With regards to the cleanliness of your room/bathroom, our staff is thorough in the inspection of each guest room to ensure cleanliness and comfort, so we are surprised to hear otherwise. We will make sure to take your concerns under advisement and we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very glad we chose the hotel. Location is great. Room was very nice and bed and pillows extremely comfortable. I went for a run in the morning and the doorman handed me a bottle of water on my way back in which was a nice touch. Front desk staff could have been a little friendlier. Free coffee in lobby in the morning was very good. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaNJCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Lisa, a surprise girls trip sounds fun! We are definitely happy you chose to stay with us and that you were pleased with our accommodations. We hope you all had the opportunity to join us for dinner or happy hour as well during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,660 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £78 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing