We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice of hotel”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived at this hotel on June 11th for a 5 night stay. We chose it from positive TA reviews, location and being a Doyle Group hotel we knew it should be good. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, following an extremely hot taxi journey from Dulles (taxi driver didn't turn air con on until we reached city centre!!) we were hot, sweaty and irritated after a long flight from Dublin and transfer we were greeted by extremely friendly staff and especially Calvin who welcomed us with ice cold bottled water as we checked in. Our room was spacious, well appointed, very clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable and black out curtains made the room nice and dark in the morning. We chose the bed and breakfast option and the food was very good. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient, even under pressure! Every member of staff we encountered was very polite and friendly with a special mention to Shane, who made us feel right at home! We highly recommend this hotel and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: High floor with view of dupont circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for your recent trip to D.C. We are pleased to hear our staff could make you feel welcome and comfortable, especially after your full day of travel. Your feedback is valuable to us and we always want to give our guests this top-rated experience. We appreciate you sharing your hotel experience with us and we hope you will have a chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 3,323 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great little hotel in Dupont Circle! Great staff! While the rooms feel a bit small, they are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The bathrooms are gorgeous and modern, but like others have said, they lack a sense of privacy if you're traveling with others.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank CC_Riggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for joining us during your recent visit to D.C. We appreciate your sharing your review with us and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a chance to dine with us as well and explore the Dupont Circle neighborhood. We are thankful for your feedback and hope you will stay with us again upon future visits to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Dupont was by far the most amazing hotel we have stayed in. We paid around 185 for our room for 2 double beds for a family of 4. Although we definitely enjoyed our stay, it would be better for either a business traveler or a couple without children.

Pros:
- Beautiful area that is busy with people all night; always felt safe at any hour walking outside
-Interesting people watching in a diverse and affluent area - especially in Dupont circle
-Rooms and lobby are beautiful; ours was a complimentary upgrade which I assume gave us the gorgeous view of Dupont Circle from the 8th floor
-Staff are courteous and helpful always
- Many great food places very close; we really enjoyed the breakfast at the Dupont itself

Cons:
-Room is tiny enough to add stress to a longer stay; not well-suited to a family of four esp if kids are older; not many places to keep your things
-Bathroom is not 100% divided from room; awkward for teens w/parents and anyone not 100% comfortable with no privacy
-While all key sites are "walkable" I wouldn't recommend it unless you are in amazing shape as 3-4 miles there and back is a long way since you are also generally walking all day in between. Pay for the Metro to get places.
-Parking costs - although that is more a con of DC specifically
-DC is noisy and cabbies love to honk; bring earplugs if noise keeps you up; bar is extremely loud - we were lucky to be on 8th floor
- AC did not get our room quite cool enough for my husband

All in all a great hotel.


Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank TakinItEasyinIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review of our hotel. Your feedback is helpful to us and we are appreciative of you for taking time to share your experience. We are happy you had a nice time while with us and enjoyed our Dupont Circle neighborhood. We thank you for being a guest of ours. We invite you to explore our Level Nine luxury accommodations upon your next visit. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I visit this hotel at least once a year. Beyond it's ideal location, there's something about the midcentury architecture of the place that sets my nerves at ease every time I see again for the first time of my visit. The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful. The rooms, once cutting-edge chic, have been imitated and/or surpassed in style by newer hotels still work. They may not feel as innovative as they once did but it's still a great design and I've yet to check into a room that looks like it's in need of an upgrade. I've also started making a point of having breakfast in the hotel because every morning meal I've had there has been really good. Everything about this hotel still works for me. When you find a good fit, why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

What a honor to hear that we are your chosen D.C. hotel year after year. Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel and taking the time to share your experience with us. Happy to hear that you've begun dining with us as well for breakfast and we hope that means you've stopped by for a dinner or happy hour, too. We appreciate your kind words and thoughtful sentiments and we look forward to your next Dupont Circle visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Crazy loud! My room was over the hotel bar and restaurant. There was a whole lot of good-timing (loud) going on until 2 a.m. Impossible to sleep with the racket. Although the receptionist at check-out told me that the noise was from the restaurant across the street, as Dupont Circle's closes at 11 pm- I'm not convinced. The noise was coming from people seated right below my hotel room. Also the windows in the rooms have wooden shutters which are lovely for the effect, but absolutely useless in terms of shutting out the street lights. The hotel does provide some flimsy sleep masks, but really- with the price of the room they should put in some decent black-out curtains.

For the price paid: really disappointing.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, and also when checking in- ask how close your room would be to the bar an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexInnGuests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We know how frustrating it can be to not receive a good night's sleep and we are sorry that the livelihood of Dupont Circle affected your rest. Guest comfort is important to us which is why we provide the sleep masks, but we appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and trip to D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I were in town for a conference and since we didn't book early enough to get a room at the Omni where the meeting was held, we booked at the DuPont with the overflow crowd.
Lucky us!
This is a great hotel in a great location, everyone at there provided excellent service except one gentleman at the front desk, who was quickly overruled by a supervisor. Great boutique, big city feel to the rooms. I probably wouldn't recommend to families though. Great dinner and breakfast at Kramerbooks, 100 yards away. Also, tapas at Boqueria was great.
The outside seating at the Bar DuPont for a late afternoon drink is the place to be. The circle across the street has a real cast of characters there, great place to sit and people watch. Lots of places to walk to shop and dine.
Will definitely stay there next year for the conference, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bambamohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for being a guest of ours. We're happy circumstances led you to our hotel and more importantly, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you embraced the chance to visit all the wonderful restaurants and shops available in Dupont Circle. Glad you were able to join us in Bar Dupont as well. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back as a guest. Thank you for your fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would not choose this hotel if you have a large family. The rooms are way too small! Just a few pros and cons to share:

Pros - great location for the Metro and nice selection of restaurants in the area, the bellman was nice.

Cons - room size, air conditioner does not work well. Our room was constantly hot - It was a hot time of year but the outdated TV and the open bathroom gave off a lot of heat. We called the front desk twice to fix. We had the temp sent as low as it could go. The bathroom configuration is not ideal - no privacy and the glass door swings out into the sink area (my daughter cut her toe on the sharp edge!) Lastly, the shutter windows looked nice but are extremely inefficient as a device for keeping out sunlight. There are no blinds, so expect direct sunlight at 6a!

It seems they went through a lot of effort to make an old property 'modern' but failed to keep in mind basic needs and conveniences. I would not choose this location again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank klech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. Your feedback is valuable to us as we always want to make the guests experience an exception one. We are sorry to hear you had trouble with the air conditioning in your room. Definitely during this time of the year we are extra cautious of making sure all units are working properly. We thank you for sharing your concern so we can evaluate further. We do provide free eye masks for our guests who'd like to keep extra light out in the rooms, so we hope you were able to take advantage of these as well. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you and your family had a fun time during your D.C. travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,660 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing