We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly Staff”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location for anyone travelling to DC for work or play. Steps from the metro stop and tour bus stops makes it easy to get around and see all the sites. The staff was extremely helpful, especially Cole in guest services. She gave my family and I great tips on places to eat and things to do and went out of her way to make sure we had a good time in DC.

As I believe is the norm in major metros, the room was a bit small for 4 (the reason for the 4 versus 5 rating) but we made due. The bathroom does not allow for privacy due to the open design. When one person was up for the day, everyone one else had to be, too.

I would definitely stay here again, especially if it was just me or my wife and I travelling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you, Rich for being a guest of ours. We value your feedback and we appreciate you sharing your hotel experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,744
    884
    257
    96
    57
See reviews for
575
914
191
930
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I picked this hotel becouse of the location and nicely appointed rooms, the scene here is lively and can get a bit lound especially if you have rooms above the bar. Becouse of the party atmosphere I decided to send my wedding guest to this property, I have secured a group rate and sent out the information to my wedding guests. To my suprise the 'preferencial' group rate was $100 more than what I was offered and all of the guests decide to book trough kayak. None of the hotel employees wanted to address my issue and after a month and a half of waiting we gave up any hope of having this embaressing issue recitified. If you are looking for a room and a good bar you should stay here, if you are looking for good service look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwypych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We had taken some time to look more into this situation and we were unable to locate anything similar. If you'd like to message us directly, we'd be happy to explore this further as we are sorry to hear of any misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've organized two large events in this hotel and had a positive experience overall. I also work and live nearby and tend to stop into the bar and cafe frequently. The quality of the food and drink is acceptable (4/5) and the staff are very nice, but can be slow with handling checks.

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bru b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for being a return guest of ours. We are pleased to hear that our facility continues to be a good option for you for events. We appreciate your feedback and we are always here to help coordinate any events you have with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would like to acknowledge the superb customer service I received from the Hotel Staff, particularly Tamara, Jenn, and Dayonna. They were life-savers for me and my client and made my client's stay a fantastic one. Thanks a million!

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful compliments to our staff. We will make sure to share them and we are pleased that we could make your stay a great one. Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel a a time of a big meeting in DC. The prices doubled, making me feel staying in a hotel where there is no value for money. The bell man does not provide meaningful help,. the concierge is never there. The receptionst provides minimal service. So very poor quality service. The rooms are nice and clean -- the bathroom is open to the room... That is not my taste...all that for USD 400 a night!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Badara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for taking time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not receive the kind of friendly and helpful service that we are accustomed to giving our guests. Please know this is not typical and we will take your concerns under advisement. Thank you again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Ok, I am willing to disregard the fact that the bathrooms have all glass doors and that EVERYONE in the room can actually see what you're doing in the bathroom. I am also willing to disregard the $30 overnight fee that you pay for the parking because that's DC and $30 is quite the standard... However what i can't seem to disregard is the fact that us, seven people who drove all the way from NYC got all bumped up into two rooms each with ONE king size bed when our reservation was made back in March and clearly stated 8 people. This was supposed to be a family vacation for myself, my two sisters and our nephews and niece. David, on the reception, was extremely polite and great however we were told that there were no double queen bedrooms available so we had to stick to those two rooms. My nephew had to sleep on the floor and my sister had to tweak that small sofa in order to sleep on it. I personally think that was REALLY a big boo boo from the hotel.

It is definitely a modern hotel and the location is perfect. Close to everything. the staff are extremely friendly so i won't be fair by just highlighting the negatives... I would have really loved to give you the five stars because of your great staff but we didn't get what we were promised.. Finally, I honestly don't think this is a 4.5 star hotel, I think it should be 3.5 stars.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happinnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and we apologize for the inconvenience regarding your reservation. We thank you for making the trip to stay with us and we are happy you found our location to be convenient and our staff to be helpful in your needs. We do hope you enjoyed your family vacation in D.C. and we thank you again for being a guest of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

travelled to Washington DC with our 3 young adult children. The Dupont was in a great position, close to the subway & only a few stops from all the Smithsonian museums and all that is Washington DC. The staff at the Dupont were very helpful and the hotel bar very lively and popular. The rooms were clean and modern. Dupont circle is a lively community, with lots of restaurants nearby. The Dupont circle park hosted an impromptu jazz concert while we were there that my husband noted was a highlight of his trip to the USA.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for being a guest of ours and for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear you had such a great stay and enjoyed our Dupont Circle neighborhood. Hopefully, you will have a chance to visit us again in the future. We are appreciative of your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,034 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,563 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Property: The Dupont Circle
Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing