We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar location, comfort, and service!”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After living in hotels at various parts of the US and Taiwan, I believe that Dupont Circle Hotel is the best hotel I have stayed in! An ideal hotel for me has excellent location, comfort, and service and Dupont Circle Hotel has excelled my expectations in all these three aspects.

Location:
Located at the Dupont Circle, this hotel is only a short cab ride or a subway ride away from the National Mall. The Dupont Circle red line subway station is just right across the circle park, so you can easily hop on to directly reach Chinatown and Union Square or various parts of the National Mall by transferring to the silver line at Metro Center station. The hotel is also surrounded by restaurants and shops that are all within walkable distance. Even without a car, this hotel serves as a good starting base to explore Washington DC.

Comfort:
I am unfortunately not a easy sleeper outside my usual bedroom, but I slept very well at Dupont Circle Hotel. Not only was the room comfortable, the decor was also classy but yet casual. The adjustable heated floor at the bathroom sink area and the wall couch were especially nice touches. The entire hotel including the room and the hallway was clean to the spot, which made my stay there even better!

Service:
The moment I checked in, I was greeted by the friendly staff at the counter. Everytime my family was either walking in or out of the hotel, the doorman actually rushed before us to open the door and greet us. One day, we have entered and exited the hotel more than a dozen times and the same doorman still greeted us with the same friendliness, so it was also a pleasant experience returning to the hotel. Our few front desk requests including one for extra comforter set for the couch were also fulfilled almost instantly. The service was certainly one of the best I have experienced!

---
Overall, Dupont Circle Hotel is absolutely a stellar hotel that exceed expectations! If you are planning to visit DC and especially want to use the subway often, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Jay, we are truly appreciative of your kind and thoughtful review. What a compliment to us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel and had fun in our Dupont Circle neighborhood. It's our great pleasure to have had you as a guest, and we hope you will return again soon for another stay. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,722 of 3,325 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Joerg K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at the hotel, with a family of 4. Hotel location was excellent, close to the Metro and room was very modern and clean. Room was tastefully decorated, beds comfortable and clean. No problems at all with the standard of the room. The only thing was that we felt that the room was small, whilst having a rather large bathroom. We had the Superior Double Room, with 2 Double Beds and 4 bags, not much room to move around. Maybe more suited to 2 people in the room.
Hotel itself excellent, front staff always helpful, and close to restaurants and a great feel in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seaslug007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for being our hotel guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and invite you to look into our Level Nine luxury accommodations upon a future return. Your review is appreciated and we hope you enjoyed your travels to D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we got a great deal at this hotel in the heart of DC and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has been bought renovated recently by a British group ( Doyle) who are first rate. The rooms are compact and effecient, very sleek and modern. The staff are friendly and helpful. We were lucky to connect with the concierge, whose name is Cole, and is a real gem... She went out of her way on several occasions; It is close to shopping, retsaurants and great walks, and of course, the Metro!

Room Tip: ask for the quiet side so you dont hear sirens on Connecticut Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank taibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We thank you for being a guest of our hotel and we are pleased to hear you liked the decor and amenities of the property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and happy that our staff could be of help to you. We appreciate your review and hope you will be back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My vote was to stay at the nearby Kimpton, where we had had a great stay previously. I was outvoted by my fellow travellers and we ended-up here at the Dupont Circle. As it turned out, it was a great, vibrant location, fabulous modern rooms, a great lounge and the best complimentary coffee I have ever had - I even nixed the Starbucks across the street. Great shopping and restaurants close by. Friendly staff and very clean hotel. Was not disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms look out onto the roof hvac system, but it shouldn't be a problem unless you aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We thank you for being a guest of our hotel and we are happy that your stay was an enjoyable one. It's great hearing from guests who have never had the pleasure of visiting our hotel and who leave with a favorable impression. We appreciate you sharing your hotel experience with us, and we hope you had a fun time in D.C. We hope you will consider staying at our hotel again next time you return to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We chose this hotel mostly because of its location, but the surprise was what a lovely stay we had there, with such a comfortable room and and excellent friendly staff. To a person, each staff member we interacted with was gracious and helpful. I know the Washington scene is very competitive for hotels and restaurants, but I would put the Dupont Circle Hotel right at the top of my list. It is stylish, but not in a self-conscious or precious way. Rather, each thing (such as the flowers in the lobby or the toiletries provided in the room) is there to please the senses and make you feel cared for. So it's a thoughtful place, in that way. Almost by accident we ended up having dinner in the restaurant in the hotel, Cafe Dupont, where we had a superb meal (hazelnut-crusted scallops, gazpacho, lobster in tarragon butter sauce with various vegetables), every bit of it so delicious. We were only in the hotel for one night, and for us it was a splurge for a special occasion, but every bit of the tab was worth it, and we do plan to go there again. I would heartily recommend the Dupont Circle Hotel for anyone visiting DC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dlgfabric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

We definitely know you have several options when it comes to hotels in D.C. so we truly appreciate you choosing our property for your recent visit. We are glad you had such a fantastic experience and also had a chance to dine with us as well. We hope you have an opportunity to return to visit us again in the future. Thank you for wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel has great location just inside DuPont Circle and across the metro station. Service was friendly and overall ok. We stayed for a business trip so we were interested and access to transport and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudiaS339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you, Claudia for your review. We are happy you had the opportunity to stay with us during your business trip and enjoyed the Dupont Circle neighborhood. We hope you have a chance to return again on future travels and be a guest of ours again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,190 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,660 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £78 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing