We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great breakfast, friendly staff - but payment error spoiled my stay”
Review of The Dupont Circle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dupont Circle
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for a week on business. On the plus side, my room was clean and spacious. There was a truly wonderful breakfast selection and the staff were professional and charming.

On the down side, despite having confirmed that my company would be invoiced for the cost of accommodation, the entire cost of my stay was charged to my credit card, exceeding its limit. Staff could not have been less helpful when I flagged the problem, although hotel manager was apologetic. Refund took a week to be processed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Quill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for being a guest of ours. It pleases to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities we have to offer. However, we are truly sorry for any miscommunication regarding the billing of the room. We are disappointed that this put a damper on your experience and created an inconvenience for you. We value our guests and we hope that throughout the duration of your stay you were able to see that come through from our staff. Thank you again for staying with us while in D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,710 - 1,716 of 3,323 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I spent just one night at this hotel with my college-age daughter. We used it as a base while we took the Metro and went sightseeing all through DC. The room was not spacious, but it was well laid out so that we could move around and pile up our stuff without feeling cramped. The decor is really classy with a modern desk and chaise by the window for looking out at the street. Cool personal night lights and a framed flat-screen TV/mirror combo made the room look chic and functional. The bathrooms require that you are well acquainted with your roommate because the door to the toilet and shower is only fogged glass and there is no "soundproofing" (i.e., you hear all bodily functions.) In spite of that "intimate" requirement, the shower has dual shower heads for vertical as well as horizontal spray and a window for steam venting. I loved those features. The hotel includes very nice toiletries and even a couple of bottles of water and WIFI AT NO EXTRA CHARGE. Valet parking is extra but worth it in the city with unlimited in and out privileges and they let us keep the car there for a nominal fee even after we checked out. The room is noisy as there are late night restaurants all over the area and endless traffic on Dupont Circle. Eye masks are included in the room and it would be nice if they included earplugs as well. Being able to walk to everything (Metro, Connecticut Blvd shops, and lots of restaurant choices) is the good part of being in a noisy city area. We did not eat at this hotel but the outside seating and bar area were always busy and very attractive. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and try others in this small chain.

Room Tip: If they say that the room "has a view" you are probably on the street side and that may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaKay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Your feedback is valuable as well as helpful to us. We are more than pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the amenities and features of our hotel and that we could be your choice of hotel during your sightseeing trip. We hope next time you have an opportunity to dine with us as well. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location, obviously in front of the Dupont Circle Fountain, also next to Starbucks, CVS, Book store, and several restaurants.. On Sunday there is an open farmers market next to hotel- delicious fresh food! No pool, but there is a workout center. Room was very small/cramped (walk way between beds and wall, only open space was by entry door /closet) but well designed, updated, and clean. Comfortable bed (not pillow top but there was a thick washable mattress pad that added comfort) and pillows (firm & soft). Nice in-room amenities; heated tile floor in bathroom, dimmable lights, wall to wall windows, fluffy towels, Aromatherapy Brand sham., cond., soap & lotion, complimentary bottle of water, sleeping masks. Real hair dryer (not a wall mounted unit), flat screen TV, digital thermostat, standard alarm clock (no mp3/phone dock). Staff was helpful and courteous. Wakeup call is by a real person.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HNS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for being a guest of ours and for taking time to leave us your kind review. We are glad are extra special touches helped make your stay more enjoyable. And, it's great to hear you had a chance to visit our neighborhood farmer's market. We hope you enjoyed your trip to D.C. and we will return to visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed one night, on 4th floor. Very friendly welcome, room more than big enough for all 3 of our family(2 double beds) large walk in shower room. All clean and had modern impeccable decor. Very helpful staff. Complementary tea and coffee in lobby in the morning. We did not eat in the hotel as we had other plans.
Luggage storage was safe and efficient at no extra charge.
The only minor irritation was the air conditioning units for the building outside our window on the adjacent rooftop. Easily avoided by asking for a room on a higher floor or facing the street.
Excellent area, felt safe and was pleasant for walking with easy access to metro and interesting stores.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zzzzzxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your 5-star review. We appreciate you sharing your kind words with us and we are glad to hear you had a nice time during your D.C. stay. We hope next time you have an opportunity to dine with us. Thank you for being our guest and we hope you have a chance to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After living in hotels at various parts of the US and Taiwan, I believe that Dupont Circle Hotel is the best hotel I have stayed in! An ideal hotel for me has excellent location, comfort, and service and Dupont Circle Hotel has excelled my expectations in all these three aspects.

Location:
Located at the Dupont Circle, this hotel is only a short cab ride or a subway ride away from the National Mall. The Dupont Circle red line subway station is just right across the circle park, so you can easily hop on to directly reach Chinatown and Union Square or various parts of the National Mall by transferring to the silver line at Metro Center station. The hotel is also surrounded by restaurants and shops that are all within walkable distance. Even without a car, this hotel serves as a good starting base to explore Washington DC.

Comfort:
I am unfortunately not a easy sleeper outside my usual bedroom, but I slept very well at Dupont Circle Hotel. Not only was the room comfortable, the decor was also classy but yet casual. The adjustable heated floor at the bathroom sink area and the wall couch were especially nice touches. The entire hotel including the room and the hallway was clean to the spot, which made my stay there even better!

Service:
The moment I checked in, I was greeted by the friendly staff at the counter. Everytime my family was either walking in or out of the hotel, the doorman actually rushed before us to open the door and greet us. One day, we have entered and exited the hotel more than a dozen times and the same doorman still greeted us with the same friendliness, so it was also a pleasant experience returning to the hotel. Our few front desk requests including one for extra comforter set for the couch were also fulfilled almost instantly. The service was certainly one of the best I have experienced!

---
Overall, Dupont Circle Hotel is absolutely a stellar hotel that exceed expectations! If you are planning to visit DC and especially want to use the subway often, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Jay, we are truly appreciative of your kind and thoughtful review. What a compliment to us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel and had fun in our Dupont Circle neighborhood. It's our great pleasure to have had you as a guest, and we hope you will return again soon for another stay. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Joerg K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at the hotel, with a family of 4. Hotel location was excellent, close to the Metro and room was very modern and clean. Room was tastefully decorated, beds comfortable and clean. No problems at all with the standard of the room. The only thing was that we felt that the room was small, whilst having a rather large bathroom. We had the Superior Double Room, with 2 Double Beds and 4 bags, not much room to move around. Maybe more suited to 2 people in the room.
Hotel itself excellent, front staff always helpful, and close to restaurants and a great feel in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seaslug007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at The Dupont Circle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for being our hotel guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and invite you to look into our Level Nine luxury accommodations upon a future return. Your review is appreciated and we hope you enjoyed your travels to D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,660 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dupont Circle

Address: 1500 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dupont Circle 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the city's most vibrant neighborhoods, The Dupont Circle brings modern style to the nation's capital for an unforgettable experience. Urban chic comes to life in The Dupont Circle's sleek design, eclectic artwork and coveted location. Then there is LEVEL NINE, an elevated tier of luxury for the ultimate experience. These spacious rooms boast spectacular views across the city from private terraces and balconies with added amenities and benefits. Who needs to cab when you are staying in the heart of the cities restaurant, bar and entertainment scene. Dine in style at Cafe Dupont, a multi-sensory experience, offering a handcrafted modern American style menu with French influences for breakfast, dinner or brunch. Or mix and mingle in one of DC's treasured spots at Bar Dupont, busy with the cosmopolitan after-work crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dupont Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Washington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing