We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed, and wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed, and wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What a pleasure to be in this great city but it was made even more pleasant by the experience of staying at the George Washington University Inn. It is close to Foggy Bottom Metro, and Whole Foods as well as Trader Joe's. With the kitchenette, you can make your stay more scheduled to your personal time line.
The Staff are so accommodating and personable, always holding the doors an pointing you in the right direction in the city that is built on a hub.
I am a walker and I found it invigorating to walk everywhere….so excursions to the various museums that are part of the Smithsonian, or the Kennedy Center (very close) or to the White House were great adventures.
(I saw 'Bo' and 'Sunny' being walked on the White House grounds and asked the gentleman if he had to 'scoop their poop' and he flatly said, 'Of course…')
But, the one problem was how dry the hotel rooms became, which we solved by putting wet towels on the heating units. it was a solution that Pavarotti said that he would use when he was touring from hotel room to hotel room and he needed to keep his 'pipes' in perfect condition!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Catherine Y,

I am very grateful you took the time to review our hotel! Also thank you for such an outstanding one, I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you back again in the future!

Secondly, thank you for expressing your concern about the room being dry. I have communicated this concern with all of the staff and our engineering department will certainly develop a resolution to this.

For your return to DC, please feel free to contact me direct to handle your accommodations!

I look forward to welcoming you back,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    511
    124
    29
    23
See reviews for
451
336
95
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at the GWU Inn. The room was spacious (1 bedroom suite with kitchen), clean and well equipped. The location was perfect, close to the Metro and Whole Foods and many restaurants (Bayou!). The price was very reasonable. The highlight, however, is the staff. They were all very pleasant and helpful. Brian, in particular, went out of his way to help us find our way, pick a restaurant, lend us an umbrella and refrigerate over groceries while we went out. Thanks for a home away from home GWU Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Christine D,

I can speak for the entire staff here at the GWU Inn when I say we are more than happy to be your home away from home!! We strive to make all of our guests' feel exactly how you did! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The George Washington Inn was a huge surprise! Being new to the Foggy Bottom, D.C. area, I was unfamiliar with the hotels there. I took a chance and am glad I did. The staff is amazing; very pleasant and customer service friendly. The accommodations are fantastic; comfortable and clean. The location, around the block from George Washington University Hospital and the Metro, couldn't be better. Can't wait to return; it's my new regular place to stay when in D.C.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp9b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Mp9b,

I am so excited to hear that you will be staying with us regularly when traveling to DC! Since it was your first stay with us, we only just got to know you! The next time you are traveling to DC, please contact me if you have the time, so I can handle your accommodations. Thank you for the wonderful review! We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to see you in the near future!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just came back from a weekend in DC and stayed at this lovely boutique hotel. Great location, practically on campus. Rooms were clean, service was great! Steven at the desk was especially helpful. The most impressive thing about our stay was the Manager, Sarah Conigliaro. When there was an issue with the breakfast we had already purchased vouchers for, she sprang in to action, single handedly setting up the entire breakfast, serving our beverages and clearing our plates. She turned a potential negative experience in to a winning one. A+ for customer service and service recovery!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!!

I, personally am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I can speak for the entire team when I say, we welcome you back anytime! Sarah and Steven were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your positive feedback with them.

Again, we welcome you back to the George Washington University Inn anytime! Please feel free to contact me for your future stay and I will make sure to personally set up your accommodations!

Thank you,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

You cannot beat this small boutique inn for location and value. In the heart of historic Foggy Bottom, the Inn is close to Georgetown and many of the most visited tourist sites. This property is not for those who prefer a Hampton or Marriott experience. Rooms are small, but nicely appointed and many have efficiencies. The staff is exceptional and rooms are quiet and very clean. If you have a student at GWU or someone being treated at the GWU hospital, this is an ideal location. Great price point! Oh, and it is a short walk to the Metro. And, there is valet parking (albeit limited). The area feels safe for walking as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Liltjl,

Thank you for the great review! As you may have noticed, it is our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for making our other TripAdvisor readers aware of our amenities and location. If you have any requests for your future stay with us again, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to personally handle your accommodations!

Thank you again for your review!

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com

PS: Do not forget to contact our reservations department to hear about our GW promotions and discounts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.c.
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The first time we stayed in this hotel we were in a room that had a kitchenette. The room was very spacious and nicely done and clean. This next time we expected a kitchenette based on the third party room description from the on line reservation company. The room assigned us did not have the kitchenette. When we remarked on this with the reservation clerk at the hotel he was very willing to change us. We like this hotel because of its location to the hospital and public transportation. The staff is very professional and the beds are comfortable. We will have no problem rebooking at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Virginia B,

Thank you very much for your review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us as much as we love having you! Now that we know you prefer a kitchenette in your room, we will assign that to your profile. Next time you stay with us, we will make sure to provide you with your favorite type of room! Also please feel free to contact me directly if you should have any further requests on your next visit. I hope to see you in the future!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I think the GWU Inn was the subject of my very first TripAdvisor Review in 2011. My wife and I were back for five nights over Thanksgiving and, once again, we had an excellent experience. This is not a fancy, big name hotel with a sprawling lobby. In fact, the reception area is small enough that the person at the front desk will warmly acknowledge you each time you come or go. During our 2011 visit and again this time, we found the prices at the GWU Inn beyond reasonable--and all the more so this time as we got a complimentary upgrade to a small suite. If I had to find a fault, I'd say some of the carpeting and furniture here is about due for replacement, but that's not to say that there's anything shabby about the place--there's not. And the most important thing about any hotel room--the bed--was exceptionally comfortable. (My wife, usually a restless sleeper, enjoyed the luxury of sleeping through the night.) Since our son lives only a block and a half away, the location of the GWU Inn is particularly convenient. It's also an easy walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station. Our thanks to Nadia (who checked us in and out) for her helpfulness and to the rest of the friendly staff at the GWU Inn. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimP_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review!

On behalf of the entire team here, I can say it was our pleasure to welcome you back. We hope to do so again in the near future. Nadia was more than happy to be able to assist you. We look forward to your return to DC.

Thank you again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing