We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vlad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vlad”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Excellent position near the White House suitable for exploring the city.
Rooms are spacious, clean and tidy.
Professional friendly staff willing and able to help.
Restaurant in the hotel
Near the subway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HV75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit! I'm sure you still have more exploring to do, so we all hope to see you again soon.

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    516
    127
    31
    24
See reviews for
463
337
96
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It is a small, but beautiful hotel with classic charm. The staff is wonderful and really had the guest's needs in mind. The hotel room was huge, and the kitchenette (complete with stove, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and all of the plates, pots, pans and silverware you could need!) was a great added bonus and helped save some money by not having to eat out for every meal. You are close to everything you could ever need- the Foggy Bottom metro is one block away, and if you are up for some mild exercise you can walk to a lot of DC's famous monuments. My only complaint is that the wifi was weak- maybe it was just because we were on the far end of the hotel. It didn't bother us much, but if you staying for business, its something to consider. There is an Ethernet cable so you can always use that as well!
We stayed for 3 nights before changing to another hotel we had booked in a different area in DC- I wish we would have booked our whole trip at George Washington University Inn! Our other "big name" hotel was such a let down after our fantastic stay at GWU Inn!
Beautiful hotel, perfect location, wonderful staff- we will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to Washington DC

Room Tip: The King suite is huge- its more like an apartment with completely separate bedroom and living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Kelly F,

I have great news! We are updating our WIFI soon, so that will no longer be an issue!

Thank you for the awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed it here at the GWU Inn. I hope we get to see you again soon... I'm sure there has to be at least a couple more monuments/museums you want to visit.

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I recently stayed here with my friend to ring in the new year and the hotel was actually very nice.
When we arrived it didnt look like much but when we walked in the lobby gave us a feeling of a grandma's house but not in a bad way.

The night manager Lavel was great . We had a party to get to but it was lame she recommended a place for us to go and it was awesome.

tips for staying at University Hotel
call directly for the best rates
ask about promotions- we just did a walk up but Lavel gave us the works
ask for a late check out or a free upgrade they are very generouse
oh and find street parking regular price is like 50bucks but we got a nice deal for like half off because of a promotion.

If i visit washington again I will definately stay again thanx for the fun!!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 7th floor in a corner room on the backside possible 712
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Was it the fresh baked cookies or the jars full of candy that made it feel like walking into Grandma's? Or both! HAHA. We are very thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. LaVelle says that she is glad she was able to direct you to a NYE worthy party place.

New month, new promotions! Come see us again!

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed 1 night. The Hotel was a little hard to find since it does not have a large sign out front. In fact, we finally found it only after looking for the Marriott Renaissance Courtyard which is directly across the street.

We booked room 808 (it cost $14 more for an eight floor room) but is was worth it. The room had a great view of the Kennedy Center, Watergate appts, and Saudi Embassy. The room was large with a full kitchenette, couch table etc. Everything was clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet. It would be a great room to stay in if you are visiting DC for a week or more.

It is a short walk (0.3 miles) to the Kennedy Center (our purpose to be in DC) and not too far from a Metro station.

The staff was friendly too. What still amazes me is that the total cost for our Room (including taxes et al ) was $150. We had a coupon for free valet parking ($40 more). We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely consider paying a little bit extra to get on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxed81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us such a good review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Secondly, I look forward to your next stay with us. Contact me in advance and I will handle your accommodations, making sure you receive the same amenities as last time, plus more!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a great, small hotel in the middle of Foggy Bottom. This was my second stay and again, it was terrific. I had a lovely, room that was an upgrade, it was a surprising value, and all the staff was pleasant. I will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Jay K,

We look forward to your 3RD stay!! :) Except this time we will have even more upgrades and amenities for you!

I hope to see you soon in the future. Please contact me after you have decided on your travel dates and I will set up your accommodations!

Thanks again for the awesome review!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What a pleasure to be in this great city but it was made even more pleasant by the experience of staying at the George Washington University Inn. It is close to Foggy Bottom Metro, and Whole Foods as well as Trader Joe's. With the kitchenette, you can make your stay more scheduled to your personal time line.
The Staff are so accommodating and personable, always holding the doors an pointing you in the right direction in the city that is built on a hub.
I am a walker and I found it invigorating to walk everywhere….so excursions to the various museums that are part of the Smithsonian, or the Kennedy Center (very close) or to the White House were great adventures.
(I saw 'Bo' and 'Sunny' being walked on the White House grounds and asked the gentleman if he had to 'scoop their poop' and he flatly said, 'Of course…')
But, the one problem was how dry the hotel rooms became, which we solved by putting wet towels on the heating units. it was a solution that Pavarotti said that he would use when he was touring from hotel room to hotel room and he needed to keep his 'pipes' in perfect condition!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Catherine Y,

I am very grateful you took the time to review our hotel! Also thank you for such an outstanding one, I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you back again in the future!

Secondly, thank you for expressing your concern about the room being dry. I have communicated this concern with all of the staff and our engineering department will certainly develop a resolution to this.

For your return to DC, please feel free to contact me direct to handle your accommodations!

I look forward to welcoming you back,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at the GWU Inn. The room was spacious (1 bedroom suite with kitchen), clean and well equipped. The location was perfect, close to the Metro and Whole Foods and many restaurants (Bayou!). The price was very reasonable. The highlight, however, is the staff. They were all very pleasant and helpful. Brian, in particular, went out of his way to help us find our way, pick a restaurant, lend us an umbrella and refrigerate over groceries while we went out. Thanks for a home away from home GWU Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Christine D,

I can speak for the entire staff here at the GWU Inn when I say we are more than happy to be your home away from home!! We strive to make all of our guests' feel exactly how you did! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
jbairstow@modushotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,586 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,777 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,449 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,678 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing