We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting DC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting DC!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This cozy and beautiful hotel is situated in a great location, at walking distance from all the main things to see in DC (Smithsonian museums, monuments and memorials, white house, georgetown etc...). The quality is very very good: everything is brand new and super clean. There is also a gym that is open 24 hours. What I liked most was the room: super warm and comfortable with everything I needed. The bathroom was big and nice as well.
All the staff was very helpful, polite and friendly, always smiling.
This made my stay amazing!
The prices are fair for the quality delivered.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiziana780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Since you liked that room so much... When you return we will make sure to give you the same room!! We have saved all your preferences so that way you can enjoy your stay everytime you're in town. :)

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    534
    133
    33
    28
See reviews for
499
345
96
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

my wife and i enjoyed our stay in there; the service was very good. In fact, better than some of 4 star hotel which we've been in Newyork! it was in walking distance from the DC tourist attraction too. E.g white house

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saeed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Better than the 4-star hotels, huh?

That could be one of the best compliments we have received! We surely pride ourselves on providing exceedingly exceptional accommodations and we are glad you expereinced it. We hope to see you again!

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hospitality of the staff, the comfort of the rooms and the location of this hotel made this trip a wonderful experience. I cannot say enough good things about how friendly the employees were and how spacious the rooms were.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
That's our goal! :)

Glad we could make you feel comfortable!

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After a long night of travleing, we were greated (at 1:15 a.m.) by the very friendly staff and then settled in the GWU Inn. The room was very well decorated and especially warm with it being 20 degrees outside. After a 4 1/2 hour "nap" were arose to get ready to send our daughter off to a medical school interview. With the Winter storm Janus rapidly approaching, we were told all interviews were cancelled (understandingly so). So we packed our bags and headed to the check out counter. Once again, the staff was very friendly and understanding, wished us safe travels and sent us on our way for another 8 hours journey back to SC. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great location, clean, friendly staff and very accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MT198954359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We remember! Oh boy... As we discussed, we hope that the weather will not affect your next trip into DC.

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I always stay at the GWU Inn whenever we visit DC. It's our first choice for many reason: great location, very large and comfortable rooms, terrific price and an excellent staff who do everything to make our stay a success. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCFB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Wow! We're bluishing :)

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are happy to make your stay more than enjoyable.

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It is a very good hotel! Cleanliness and good location for sightseeing on foot.
It is not expensive.
The great positive point of this hotel is its location - a few meters away from Foggy Bottom metro station and walking distance from so many attractions, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 474123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
474123,

...And you're a great guest!! So happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you again soon? We hope!

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A more intimate hotel slightly off the beaten path, The George Washington University Inn is welcoming and comfortable. Close to public transportation, the Kennedy Center, and within walking distance of Georgetown and Dupont Circle, this small hotel provides a great base to explore DC. The room is well sized with a comfortable bed, good amenities toiletries, including a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The staff was accommodating and even acknowledged a special occasion for us. The fitness center was small but more than adequate for needs. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC10025NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
NYC10025NY,

We are glad you found us! It is our goal to exceed every guests' expectations! We are glad you enjoyed yourself and the special occassion. Hope you celebrate the next one with us too!

See you soon,

The GWU Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,683 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,485 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
381 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,812 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing