We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #48 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toccoa, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our first visit to Washington, DC and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and spacious. There is a separate bathroom and "dressing room" entering the bathroom with a coffee maker and refrigerator. The refrigerator was a good size, which was very useful for our family. The extras offered at the front desk, such as apples, candy, and hot chocolate were a welcomed sight after a long ten hour drive or a day of sightseeing. The Valet parking staff was always very prompt and courteous. We were even welcomed by a snack and water in our vehicle, upon our departure. Plus the windshield had been cleaned for our journey home. The personalized service you receive at this hotel was outstanding!!

Room Tip: This is a very spacious room with a nice size refrigerator with a small freezer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharoninga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! It was great to have you stay with us and I hope you can come stay again soon.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    500
    118
    28
    20
See reviews for
437
328
94
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We enjoyed four nights at the GWU Inn and were thoroughly impressed with their attention to detail from the minute we walked in -- courtesy of a very warm attendant at the door. The desk clerk promptly checked us in, and graciously upgraded our room to a suite. We were travel weary, and greatly appreciated this gesture. The suite was nicely appointed, the bed quite comfortable, and the extra living space via the separate living room/kitchenette was very welcome. We enjoyed cocktails at the cozy bar, and had a superb dinner at the adjoining restaurant. We walked to the Kennedy Center, GWU campus, Georgetown for dining, and transited from/to DCA via the nearby Foggy Bottom station. No need for a vehicle! Perfect location. We went wine tasting in VA, returned home with dirty wine glasses, and the housekeeping staff went out of their way to wash them -- which we did not expect them to do. How kind...Thanks to all the staff that made us so comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks to YOU for staying with us. I have shared your feedback with the rest of our team, and we all are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be coming to stay with us again!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

i loved this hotel. it was fantastic. the staff were great, very professional and always willing to help. what made this hotel special, was its lovely little touches it offered. for example at reception there was a bowl of apples for you to take, along with free cofee/tea/ hot chocolate and a few jars of different lollies. was great when you had come in from the afternoon hungry and cold. they also had body butter and make up wipes for the girls in your rooms! lovely! the room we had was also equipt with a friedge and microwave.

the location of this hotel was great. right next to a subway station- for easy access to anywhere in washington. was also walking distance from cafes and restaraunts. there was also a food/ grocery/wine shop close by which was handy when we needed to grab a quick meal etc.

all in all fantastic experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skimbo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for the review. I hope we get to serve you again in the near future!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is not fancy and the outside kind of looks like an older apartment building, but as soon as we walked in our doubts vanished. We were warmly welcomed and given a very spacious room with a large bathroom. We loved the outlets on the front of the table between our beds---very handy for charging phones overnight. The hotel is just a short walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station---very handy location and we felt totally safe walking around at night. We were hoping to have dinner at a nice Indian restaurant and they recommended a fantastic place that we walked to from the hotel. All around a great stay for a really reasonable price. When our flight was cancelled at the last minute they were very accommodating about letting us leave our luggage there all day while we walked around DC. Excellent service! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
...And we look forward to having you back!! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We will see you soon...

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is located about half way between Georgetown and the Lincoln memorial, just minutes away from Foggy Bottom station. I was honestly surprised by the quality of the hotel for the price I paid! The hotel is very classy, well decorated. The staff are professional and helpful. All rooms are large, comfortable, spacious and clean with modern amenities. I was so impressed with this hotel I told my parents to book the same one for their visit to DC as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tejas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Wow! Thank you for the great review! I hope you get to come stay with us again. We will be more than happy to have your parents stay with us as well!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very nice hotel. Great service. Cozy rooms. Nice amenities. Excellent location. You couldn't ask for more if you're looking for a reasonably priced, nice place to stay in Washington, DC. I was particularly impressed with the staff at this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vam912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad you loved your stay with us. We hope to see you again real soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our reservation was originally for the Marriott Hotel. Due to a mix up we had to stay at G. W. University Inn, we were very pleased with the friendly staff and the room. It was my birthday weekend, the front desk was told about that and I was very suprised when I picked up our room keys they wished me a Happy Birthday. They also allowed us to stay pass check-out time. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELLIFE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
I am very glad we were able to add a little surprise to your birthday weekend. We all are glad you enjoyed it here with us! We hope to see you again.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing