We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
The Plains, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful small hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had a great experience here. Spoke to Beau by phone before arrival and was checked in by Dante, both exceptionally helpful and friendly. I got a great deal online for what turned out to be a comfortable double queen room (very quiet on sixth floor) with a view to the Kennedy Center. Pleased by the quality bathroom fixtures, small fridge/freezer and microwave, and little details, like real mugs on the coffee tray and cookies and candy in the lobby. Friendly manager Sarah was in the lobby in the morning. Checkout and valet were super fast. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Room 610 was quiet and comfortable with view to Kennedy Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganatGreystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    512
    125
    29
    23
See reviews for
453
336
95
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel and do not plan to ever come back. I paid $300 per night for a so-called efficiency suite, just a bigger room. The place was full and that was the only room I could get in that DC neighborhood. Don't waste you money on this place. My room is noisy (entrance courtyard below), lobby is tiny, food is expensive and the restaurant is creepy with the same fake Italian music as five years ago.

Room Tip: rooms facing the entrance courtyard are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am disappointed to learn we fell short of satisfying you during your stay. As our other guests have stated, we truly do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. I hope you will provide us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great hotel staff. I felt like I was among friends immediately upon entering the property. Staff went out of their way to provide great service. The rooms are very comfortable. It has charm without trying to generate "an experience". The location on a quiet street is great, especially for GWU and other Foggy Bottom destinations. I will be coming back to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Your review was one of the best compliments we have received. We are so pleased that you felt this way and enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we get to see you again soon!

Thank you again,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just got home from a week in DC at The George Washington Inn. Excellent location. Very quiet after a long day of sight seeing. Convenient to restaurants, Lincoln Memorial, Kennedy Center and the waterfront. Beau at the front desk went above and beyond as a gracious host.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmorris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Beau is very pleased that he was able to make your stay a "5 star review"! Thank you for the great review. We all hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is the best starting point to explore the capital of the US! It is conveniently located near Foggy Bottom metro stattion, That allows easy ride to Dulles airport and almost any destination in DC, Va and Md one would wish to visit. Moderate proces, comfortable rooms with all amenities. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 15 minutes walk to a great recreation spot in Washington - Theodore Roosevelt island. If you rent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evgueniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully we get to see you again soon.

Thnak you for the kind review,

Jared BAirstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were in DC for an admitted student day at GWU. We arrived very late. And there was some issue w/ the hotel's AC system. However, the front desk went out of her way to accommodate us. We just opened the windows and the room temp was fine. We were very pleased and will look to stay again as our daughter has selected GW as her college.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Can't wait to see you for your next stay! Thank you for the kind review.

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Ms
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We are finishing our stay in DC and have been thoroughly pleased with the service and accommodation at the George Washington University Inn. Just an easy 2 block walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station, this is a very convenient location for sightseeing trips. There is a Whole Foods store about a block away, to collect groceries and supplies for use in the kitchenette -style room. The room is large with a seating area for relaxing and watching television. There is also separate space for the kitchenette (stove/ 2 burners, microwave, fridge, and cooking utensils) and a 2-seat dining table area. Lots of storage with full closets in the entry area and in the bedroom. There is also shelf storage in the bathroom.

The service has been excellent throughout our stay. We arrived several hours before check-in and were able to store luggage until later in the day. The map we received at the hotel desk was the BEST of any map we used during the entire trip - it was our "go-to" map for getting to the right place all week long!

The price for this trip was very competitive and we will absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 2nd floor facing New Hampshire Avenue (east) and there was some street noise in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Your review was a great compliment to all of the staff. Thank you!

See you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing