We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, price, and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Loved our week visiting Washington, and the GWU Inn was the perfect base camp. Kitchenette was great, staff were friendly, lots of shops nearby, and it was an easy walk to every point of interest. Two short blocks to the Metro station made getting further afield a snap. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MikeMirtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I really do not understand the good reviews, thanks to them I ended up here... I am sorry to say that this place needs to be completely renovated, it is not just a matter of cleanness (which has to be improved anyway), you can tell that no upgrade has been done in a very long time... The furniture is old and doesn't give you a good feeling, Blankets and sheets need to be replaced, they are of a very bad quality, old and kind of yellow...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onofvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am disappointed to learn we fell short of satisfying you during your stay. As our other guests have stated, we truly do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. I hope you will provide us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the most POSITIVE Review I have given to date!!!
George Washington University Inn was our destination on our recent vacation to WA, DC. We hit the jackpot in selecting this wonderful place to stay. Perfect location - near many, many things to see. We walked to the Lincoln Memorial and all the War Memorials in one day. Lots of walking, but so worth it. We were located about 7 minutes from the Metro (subway) in Foggy Bottom area. The Inn is in the Foggy Bottom area. Just a few blocks away was the very neat Georgetown shopping and restaurants. Amazing stores .... all in old, historical buildings. People walk everywhere. And as the fabulous kicker.... we were like 5 minutes from the Kennedy Center - which was incredible to see; and the Watergate. Then beyond that, maybe 10 min. walk is the Washington Waterfront area...full of really neat places to eat, have cocktails - right on the water/Potomac River. I can't say what a great location this Inn is in. And now for the staff - VERY friendly, helpful in every way, called us by our names whenever they saw us...namely Beau (behind the desk)...see photo.... - he was terrific. And a Driver - Mamboo - so friendly, so courteous. We would not stay anywhere else in WA DC when we go back again. Our room was on 7th floor overlooking darling, colorful row houses, and a bridge over the Potomac River. There is an upscale restaurant attached to hotel - and a little bar. Everyone was so friendly - and helpful. What a great vacation. We love you all at the George Washington University Inn. The Wagners - from Las Vegas.

Room Tip: On the 7th floor we had fabulous views. The Inn does have a wonderful person who can drive you to v...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusieRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

From the time we checked in to checking out - Beau made our trip special. At one point my wife said "I feel like I'm back at the Four Seasons" based on his attention to ensuring we had everything we needed, wanted, and were enjoying our stay. Truly - exceptional and genuine service attitude by everyone and in particular Beau. Anyone who can make my wife feel like she is at the Four Seasons is my hero. We stayed here because it is on the edge of GW's campus. We could have stayed at the chain hotel across the street but my wife and I enjoy finding boutique hotels. The hotel exceeded our expectation on all accounts. We would stay here again in a minute for any DC stay. Next time we'll use their complimentary bikes to ride around the mall. Thanks to the staff and in particular Beau who made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claycourtdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel met and exceeded our expectations. The location was convenient to many Washington DC attractions and was within walking distance to the Lincoln Memorial and the White House. Taxis were always readily available and we found them to be reasonable. The Whole Foods store for groceries is open until11:00 pm and five minutes walk away through a safe neighborhood. The one bedroom suite we stayed in was very adequate for us - three generations. (Three people)
The front desk staff were wonderful and Dante was very helpful. We stayed for four nights and even walked onto Georgetown for our last evening.
With three of us we didn't try the metro or even have time for the Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour - there is so much to see and the eleven year old with us really enjoyed this trip. It was perfect in that he had been learning about the Revolution and our United States Government in his fifth grade class.
Overall great trip, great accommodations and great location.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor - fairly quiet except for some ambulances going on calls.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sonia5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at GWU Inn for the first time April 24-27, 2014 because of its proximity to the Kennedy Center and the Metro. I will stay again. Every place I wanted to go--Kennedy Center, GWU Auditorium, Georgetown, Eastern Market, the Mall, Dupont Circle area, and Nordstrom--was either within easy walking distance or on a Metro stop. There are good restaurants in the area, as well as a Trader Joe's and a Whole Foods Market.

The staff was very helpful giving directions, and the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet, just what I wanted.

I was traveling alone and felt safe all the time. Woiuld recommend for single travelers, couples, and families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank watso43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days for work related training at the GWU hospital. I was very unimpressed as it felt old and in need of updating. However it was clean and the staff was friendly. Its located in a quiet neighborhood and within walking distance to the hospital and the Metro. If youre renting a car,be advised there is no parking and it ussully cost around $40 or more a night to valet it. Street parking is scarce. I would only stay here again if I got a really good deal and there was nothing else available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaklyn9811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am disappointed to learn we fell short of satisfying you during your stay. As our other guests have stated, we truly do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. I hope you will provide us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,727 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,844 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#37 of 142 in Washington DC
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £122 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing