We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were huge and ours unexpectedly had a kitchen and dressing room. Fantastic views of Washington too! We would stay here again. It's within walking distance to everything- it was for us anyway; we did a lot of walking and explored the local area which was great.

Decor of the hotel is not new and it doesn't offer a chic style but it does have very comfy big beds, very helpful staff and is situated in a great location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumbleandthemog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    535
    133
    33
    28
See reviews for
501
346
96
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This is an older hotel, but well maintained . The check was fast and the young lady at the front desk was charming . We liked our room very much , large and very clean. There was a fridge and microwave in the room also . We state for 5 days and did not have a problem. The restaurant was very handy for breakfast or dinner and the good was great. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May. The hotel is within walking distance to all the main sights, including the White House, Lincoln Memorial etc. We didn't need to use the metro at all (except to get back to Union Station at the end of our stay). If you're used to walking it's not too far to walk to China Town, where we went for meals and drinks. The hotel is situated down a quiet street so you don't hear any noise from outside.
We were greeted by friendly staff, and our room was MASSIVE - so much space with all the facilities we needed. Very clean, bright, spacious and affordable .
Overall I would say that this hotel is excellent and would recommend to anyone visiting DC. It's a shame we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblyWelshGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Yes, the location is fantastic, close to metro, dining, and whole foods, etc. Yes, the rooms are in need of renovation, dated bedding, furniture, etc. So, you know what you're getting when you book. Upside: the king room I was in was HUGE! There was a seating area with a fold out bed, a small dining table with two chairs, a desk, a 6 drawer dress, a kitchenette with dishes, and pans and utensils, in addition to the king bed and still lots of room to move around. The closet was big and the bathroom was small. I didn't hear anyone else except for the doors opening and closing. The staff was nice, I only interacted with them when I checked in and out. The parking, if you're a AAA member was only $20 a night, a real steal in DC, in my experience.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 501. It is bright over the entrance off the street. No real view, but, good light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank datwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is good - but I couldn't see what everyone was raving about. It is in a very good location, very close to Foggy Bottom metro and our room looked out to the Watergate Building. The staff were nice on check in but we barely spoke to them after that.

The room was big but very old and dated. We found we didn't sleep very well as the sheets weren't big enough for the bed so we ended up tangled in sheets every night.

I had decided on this hotel based on the reviews here. Like I said, it was good but it was nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cblee_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of satisfying you. I hope you will provide us another opportunity in the future to wow you. As the other reviews have mentioned, we strive to exceed our guests' expectations. I hope we get the opportunity to do so for you!

Thank you again for your review,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herford, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I can only repeat what most of the other reviews mention. GREAT Location for sightseeing in DC. Walked to all major sights...white house, lincoln memorial, national mall, etc. Easily walked to Georgetown as well. Nice and really helpful staff at the frontdesk. Didnt have breakfast included but there is a whole food market just around the corner which was a great hint of the hotel staff. Would definitely come back here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we get to see you again soon!

Thanks again,

Jared Bairstow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Loved our week visiting Washington, and the GWU Inn was the perfect base camp. Kitchenette was great, staff were friendly, lots of shops nearby, and it was an easy walk to every point of interest. Two short blocks to the Metro station made getting further afield a snap. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMirtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Front Office Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to see you soon,

Jared Bairstow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,688 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,487 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,815 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing