We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive Rooms and Early Wake-Ups!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Massive Rooms and Early Wake-Ups!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

So the positives are that the staff are friendly and the rooms are massive. The bed is as big as our room was in New York!
Unfortunately a few things made me unable to rate this higher than average. We got a persistent 5am wake-up call that wasn't meant for us. The room wasn't made up when we got to it (they had said it was). And breakfast is not included. I can never give 5/5 when you pay so much and get no breakfast. All minor details that don't bother me much but can't give more than 3 on that basis.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Greetings Bridger79,

I am very sorry for the early wakeup call and the room incident. Unfortunately, mistakes do happen, but we take full responsibility for not confirming the guest name when one of our guest requested a 5 a.m wake up call for your room. I completely understand how frustrating it is being woken up at 5 a.m when one is on vacation. We will use this as a training tool to ensure this does not happen in the future. I truly hope this incident, as well as the room not being made up on time, does not deter you from returning to us or recommending us. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience; I would like the opportunity to make your next stay a flawless one.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
202.625.0020
wlaura@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    524
    129
    31
    28
See reviews for
480
340
96
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable, clean room near several restaurants. Mattress is exceptionally comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Workout room is ample. Iced lemon water is available in lobby. Ideal Foggy Bottom location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello ITrip8,

Thank you for the review. I am very happy you found our location ideal, our staff helpful, and our pillow top mattress comfortable. Please visit us again the next time you are in the city, and make sure to mention your prior visit to receive a discounted rate.

Kindest Regards,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Rooms are a little old but comfortable. Reasonable price. Staffs are friendly , and always helpful. need to up grade bathroom facilities. Free High Speed internet and kitchen are bonus for people like me who have to stay longer period and not afford expensive restaurants. Closed to metro, Potomac river front. Great Stay. I stay two weeks to attend summer program at GWU.
Best place for who have to attend some events at GWU. It closes to all GWU faculties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YHT567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello THY567!

I am delighted you chose the GWU Inn as your home away from home for two weeks. While our rooms are not brand new we, like you, feel they are very comfortable and perfect for a long term stay, especially our rooms with fully equipped kitchens. I am thrilled you were able to enjoy our location and found the staff friendly and always helpful. Please visit us again and we’ll make sure not to disappoint.

Thank you,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Beach, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the restaurant is amazing and is so close to many attractions. The bedrooms are quiet and comfortable and the rooms are all big with kitchens and living areas which are reallly an added bonus. The only thing that needs to change are the towels! Why do the towels look like they came from someone's bathroom? Highly recommend this hotel, thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: The view is amazing from 803, you can see for miles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cupcakesmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Greetings Hurricane74,

Thank you so much for returning to us and leaving a wonderful review. I am excited you found Notti Bianche amazing. It’s one of those restaurants that you know you’re going to have a wonderful meal anytime of the day. Sorry you were not very happy with our towels. Please reach out to me directly the next time you plan on returning to us. I’ll make sure to place special towels in your room just for you on top of offering you the best possible rate.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
wlaura@modushotelsdc.com
202.625.0020
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in one of the apartment sized rooms with a kitchenette. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, close to the Metro and to Whole Foods, great for cooking meals in what we consider to be an expensive city in which to eat out. No, it is not perfect - the carpets do need to be replaced, and it is in need of some upgrades. It was a reasonable price for what you get here, and the staff was friendly. If you use Google Maps, USE THE ADDRESS to find this hotel. It will send you to the wrong hotel if you use the hotel name. It is a brief walk from the metro, and the hotel website directs you perfectly.

Room Tip: Some rooms, (803) have a view of the Potomac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Margaret,

I am pleased you found our location well suited for you needs and that you took advantage of our kitchenette for cooking meals in your room. Having Whole Foods and Trader Joes just two blocks away is truly a blessing and can save one quite a bit while visiting our Nation’s Capital. We are looking forward to our upcoming refresh of the hotel that includes new carpets and hope you are able to visit us again once complete. Thank you for the tip regarding the room view and letting us know about the error in Google; we have contacted them and hope to have this fixed as soon as possible.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a single night to see a Kennedy Center show (a convenient five-minute walk away), returning home the next day. Hotel staff were perfectly friendly and professional. The physical plant isn't what we'd expect at this price point, though. The suite we stayed in (room #711) had a shabby, over-worn feel, a tub faucet that dripped continuously, and both the bedroom and sitting room had a musty smell, obvious immediately to each of us. In addition, the louvered corner of the floor-level radiator (we assume that's what it was) in the bathroom had a grill that appeared to have been burnt or melted in its corner. Had we been here for more than a single overnight, we would have pointed these things out to the staff and/or asked for a different room. As it was, we were happy to be leaving the next morning. We won't be repeat customers. And, we rarely say that.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Greetings Toreadorable,

Thank you for your honest review. I truly appreciate the opportunity to correct the issues you found in your room. I apologize for the odd smell and cosmetic flaws you mentioned. We have shut down room 711 in order to address the items you mentioned as well as deep clean the room. I truly hope to make your future stay with us perfect. Please reach out to me directly prior to your next trip to DC so that I may personally make sure your stay is a flawless one.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
202.625.0020
wlaura@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived at our final destination on a 7 1/2 week trip around USA and Canada. We were given an upgrade to a suite which was just perfect for two tired travellers seeing Washington for the first time. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable with a nice kitchenette. We enjoyed it so much we ate in every evening! The location is lovely on a quiet street, with a couple of minutes walk to Foggy Bottom metro, a Whole Foods Market, restaurants and cafes. You can start sightseeing within a couple of blocks. In fact, we did a whole day of walking from the hotel, seeing many of the sights. The staff have been very friendly and helpful at all times. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelsToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings Cels Toowoomba,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am thrilled you had perfect stay with us and were able to take full advantage of your kitchenette. Being located only two blocks from both Trader Joe's and Whole Foods, it’s a perfect way to stock up and save a little while vacationing in our Nation’s Capital. I’m delighted you had the opportunity to explore Washington DC by foot. While DC may seem big at times, many of its main attractions are in walking distance of one another as well as the hotel. Please visit us again the next time you are in the area.

Kindest Regards,

Wil Laura
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,468 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,797 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing