We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I didn't like very much, but I have to say this was a very comfortable hotel.
If you are able to walk, you can reach public transportation in 10 minutes.
There are many restaurants ans markets nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hello MRental,

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry you did not like the hotel very much but happy you found the hotel comfortable, and our location great due to the many public transportation alternatives as well as the many restaurants and markets. I hope you will give us another chance to wow you in the future.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
There are newer reviews for University Inn Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was very clean and located close to the metro station so I loved the location. Service was also great, they were very accommodating. The only disappointment is no complimentary breakfast and please don't waste your money at the adjunct restaurant it's both expensive and terrible-- the breakfast food and dinner. On the upside there's a 7/11 on the same block.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jasmine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello Jasmine K,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed you found our restaurant too expensive and, most troubling, the food terrible. I appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant and will make certain your concerns are discussed with the team. On a positive note, I am delighted to see you found our rooms clean and our location well suited for your needs. Additionally, I am glad the team was able to offer you a great and accommodating experience. I hope you return to us the next time you are in the area.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is my first stay at this establishment and I must say the rooms are clean and kept in excellent condition. I have stayed in five star hotels in the area and I must say this one is equal to them for the price. Located in Foggy Bottom, it is near many wonderful restaurants and the University. Walking distance to all attractions as well as the metro.

I would venture to say I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Greetings Lauren S,

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled you found our rooms clean and in good condition; an area we always try to give extra attention to. On behalf of all of us at GW, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regard,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

As a family of 4 , we went for the suite (large living room, kitchen corner and bedroom). Although the furniture felt a bit too old style, this worked very well and felt comfortable. Staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
The neighborhood is very interesting: in foggy bottom, a few steps away from the renowned Watergate building, a short walk away from the subway, and the surrounding restaurants, 15 mn away from the Lincoln Memorial AND a 10 mn walk away from the Georgetown waterfront area. This was our first visit to dc and we loved the neighborhood!
Parking is also available, as well as wifi.
For a visit to DC with a family, I highly recommend. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello Lisa D from Paris,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your trip to Washington DC! We are happy you found our rooms comfortable and the team friendly, helpful, and efficient. Additionally, we are happy you were able to take advantage of our location and its close proximity to all the attractions, especially Georgetown which is known for its boutique shops and delicious restaurants. Visit us again the next time you are in Washington DC!

Thank you,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed while we dropped off our son at local college(not GW). Want to explore city so we try different areas each time down. We may be done exploring. Nice people, clean room, great location. Walk to JFK CENTER, Georgetown, waterfront, and great neighborhood. Very close to GWU, metro stop( 1 block)and Watergate complex. Quiet, and simple. By no means fancy- we don't like paying $200 a night just to sleep. As is available at most DC hotels, you don't have to pay them for parking- street on weekends is usually available you just have to hunt a little. Nice find if you don't need fancy. Only disappointment was a margarita and a soda was $17. We won't make that mistake again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NCurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Greetings NCurl,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you found the team nice, our rooms clean, and our location suited to your needs. Being tucked away in Historic Foggy Bottom, the GW is in a wonderful location; with the rows of beautiful town homes and quiet streets, one can easily forget they are in Washington DC. We are also thrilled to hear you may be done exploring DC for the perfect hotel. Please do not forget to mention you've been with us in the past as we love surprising our repeat guests with a little something extra during their stay as well as a discounted rate.

Thank you
,
Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We needed to come to Washington for my older sons academic conference and I am glad that I chose GWU Inn. All the staff were attentive and courteous to my needs, the room was decorated nicely and spacious enough for my children with a pull out couch. The room was equipped with a stove so I could cook breakfast for my kids, So I did not have to go out in the morning for a hot breakfast.

Will stay again at GWU INN.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Renae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Renae S,

I am pleased you had a wonderful time at our establishment and found your room well suited to your needs. I am glad you were able to use our stove top to not only cook a family breakfast but also help save a little bit on your trip. Thank you and hope to see you the next time you stay with us.

Kindest Regards,

Wil Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

There is nothing grand or spectacular about this hotel but you get what you pay for. The good things where it is in a nicer area we felt safe the whole time, a close walk to the Metro, the staff was friendly, the beds where pretty comfortable, the rooms are a decent size and there is a Whole Foods and a CVS near by. The bad points are the hotel is dated the wallpaper was peeling in places, the ceiling had paint coming off, our air quit working two different times and there is not many eating choices in the area but we noticed that was common in all of DC.

Room Tip: The walls are thin so ask for a room away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ana1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil L, Hotel Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Ana1210,

I’m sorry to hear you only found the hotel decent. We strive to offer our guests the very best accommodations, and just “decent” is not what we strive for. While our hotel is not the newest one in town, we continuously focus on improving and maintaining our rooms. We located the room you stayed in and patched the ceiling that, we are embarrassed to say, had a little paint peeling. We also addressed the HVAC unit issue. I hope during your stay with us you were able to visit Georgetown or Dupont Circle, which are both a 10-15 minute walk that offer over 50 restaurants to choose from. Please reach out to me the next time you or a friend is in the area, and I will personally make sure the rooms are perfect. I will also recommend some excellent restaurants in the immediate area.

Respectfully,

Wil Laura
202.625.0020
WLaura@ModusHotelsDC.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
1,725 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#7 of 142 in Washington DC
1,506 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
443 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 142 in Washington DC
1,842 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#38 of 142 in Washington DC
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £118 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing