We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #48 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Greece, Acropolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location is perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

I stayed at the George Washington University Inn, when visiting a friend in DC.
The rooms were very spacious (my room had a kitchen also - very comfortable for preparing a quick coffee early in the morning) and clean. Staff was polite and friendly. It is definitely a value for money!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Acropolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    484
    112
    28
    18
See reviews for
422
318
94
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

Went to DC to soend my birthday with my cousin. Was more than pleased with this property. Central location....short walk to the Watergate and the rest of the sights including the memorials at the Mall. Metro was 2-3 blocks away. Very happy with my stay and will visit there again my next time in DC.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lammyleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

My wife and I were being tourists for MLK weekend, and chose the GWU Inn due to reviews and closeness to the Metro. We found both to be good reasons. Staff were uniformly helpful and friendly, the place was clean (though a little worn in spots), the room (a one bedroom suite) was spacious and very quiet. Will very likely stay with these folks again on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An_Often_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Great hotel in a great location, Walking distance to the White House, Capitol Hill and the national Mall. A nice walk to Arlington and Jefferson memorial but doable! Right beside Kennedy center and walking distance to Georgetown. Spacious rooms, clean, tidy and comfortable. Even though its beside GW university its a quiet area. Great hotel overall!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Dear GraceyLou,

Thank you for providing feedback about the George Washington University Inn on Trip Advisor. I realize the time it takes to do so.

I am so pleased you had such a great experience with us on your recent visit. I will be sure to share with the team you comments as they always like to hear when things go well.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

Had lots of trouble making a reservation through the website--while trying to establish an account, was asked repeatedly to create a password, but the site wouldn't recognize that I had done so. After eight attempts, my reservation was confirmed, but it was not for the type of room I requested. I phoned the hotel, and some spaced out, extremely slow talking, distracted person said she would correct my reservation. She canceled the reservation, then put me on hold and never picked up the phone again. Deciding that this was a harbinger of things to come, I made a reservation at another hotel. However, I decided to that I needed to confirm with the GW Inn that my reservation was completely canceled and that they did not subsequently reserve the room I had originally requested. I emailed the the hotel, and two days later had not received a reply. I called today, and was informed me that, indeed, I did not have a reservation. Whew!

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TanteBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Dear TanteBabs,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. As you know this is a great resource for us to get feedback on both positive and negative experiences.

I was very disappointed to read that you had such a difficult time with the reservations process. I can only imagine how frustrating that must have been for you. I would also like to apologize for the contact with the agent that you spoke with. I will definitely use your comments to further educate the entire team on proper phone communication and service focus.

If your travels bring you back to the Washington DC area, please contact me directly for assistance with your reservation. While I cannot leave my contact information directly here, please call the main hotel number and ask to speak to the General Manager and I will be happy to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moo913
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

I made a reservation two months in advance at the George Washington Inn for an interview I had at GW Medical. They called me the day I was supposed to check in, at 4pm (note, after check in time) and told me they could not accommodate me and would be moving me to their sister hotel (One Washington Circle). Even though the sister hotel is only a short distance away, it was upsetting to me that they acted as if this was not an inconvenience or even an issue for them to be asking me to move on the day I was arriving, after the time I could have arrived. When I asked them why I was being moved the first desk clerk said there was a problem with my room type but after I insisted on talking to the manager he told me that they had a group that decided to stay longer than their original reservation. Now, I don't know about you, but I have been at a hotel before and wanted to stay longer and if they are sold out they tell you NO. I don't understand why this hotel thought it was okay to drop another reservation because another guest decided they wanted to stay longer at the last minute. They also refused to adjust my rate in any way to account for the inconvenience. To top it all off, when I called the sister hotel to discuss my reservation they said they were not aware I was being moved and that their hotel was sold out too. Finally, after calling each hotel another 2-3 times I was given a new reservation number at the One Washington Circle by the GW Inn staff. When I arrived at One Washington Circle in the evening I was told the hotel was in fact sold out despite what the GW Inn had told me and they would only be able to accommodate me in the the Board Room of the hotel for the night. Once I was at the One Washington Circle everyone there was extremely nice and tried to accommodate me the best they could and gave me a discounted rate for my inconvenience - it was the difference between night and day compared to the GW Inn. If you have the option of making a reservation at one of the two hotels, definitely go for One Washington Circle. The GW Inn is poorly run, the staff is rude, and they have zero respect for the commitment they make to you when you make a reservation at their hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moo913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Dear Moo913,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience with the George Washington University Inn.

In reading your comments, it is certainly understood why you would have such a poor impression of our facility. Not only were we unable to meet the basic expectation of providing you with the room you had reserved, but also fumbled around when communicating to you regarding the reason that your reservation was not able to be honored. This is completely unacceptable, and quite frankly leaves me professionally embarrassed that this could even occur.

While I am pleased that the experience with the team at the One Washington Circle Hotel treated you well, I am extremely sorry that the situation even occurred.

While I cannot leave my direct contact information here directly, if you contact the hotel at our main number and ask to speak to the General Manager I would be most appreciative. I truly would like the opprtunity to somehow make up for the experience you had with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Spent five days at this hotel and was impressed with the service and cleanliness. The accomodations are roomy and comfortable. The location is very convenient to the metro, georgetown, national mall and many other key locations. The staff made every effort to ensure my stay was comfortable and even went the extra mile to assist with other matters as well when needed. Will be returning next month!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teague91772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Dear teague91772,

Thank you so much for taking the time to out of your schedule to post a review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you had such a pleasant experience while you were here with us in October. It is always rewarding to learn of another great experience and to be able to share this with our team is fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing