We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location, extremely friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Arcadia, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great quiet location, extremely friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Based on the other reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to book a week at this hotel. I'm glad I did as it was a charming boutique hotel on a quiet, tree-lined side street. It is about a block and a half from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station and 2 large blocks from the Kennedy Center. There is a Safeway market about a block away in the lower level of the Watergate Hotel.
We had a regular room with a king sized bed which was very comfortable. The room was very large. It was nice that the microwave and refrigerator was located in another room so that the noise from the mini frig didn't keep us awake at night. The staff was very responsive and extremely friendly and helpful. The carpet was a little worn, but the rest of the furnishings were fine. The bathroom was clean. Great value for the location and for a boutique hotel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photodiver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    525
    129
    32
    28
See reviews for
481
341
96
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

When searching for Washington Hotels we were a bit dismayed as they seemed very expensive for anything within a reasonable distance of the major sights. After some persistence we found the GWU Inn that seemed to be a good price and had good reviews. We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased with the service and rooms provided by the hotel. We found that we had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was very spacious with a large living area, kitchenette and a separate bedroom with king bed. Our room looked out toward Georgetown and the Potomac and over the residential neighbourhood. We also looked at the Watergate Hotel we discovered where we found a Safeway grocery store with good supplies for breakfast and a couple of meals when we were too tired from all the museums and monuments). The exterior of the hotel and the lobby are plain and modest but the room was clean, well appointed and well equipped. It was an easy walk to Georgetown to all the boutiques and bars as well as the metro which took us in no time to the mall and the major attractions. At night it was quiet and the area surrounding the hotel was very safe. On top of all this it was good value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Washington and at the GWU Inn and will be recommending this to other Australian friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2x2KINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Just got back from spending four night at the GWUI. Great hotel: two blocks from the metro. Very clean. Large rooms. Helpful staff. Small restaurant and bar in hotel. Great neighborhood. Five minute walk to Kennedy center, restaurants, shopping plaza, waterfront. Small fridge and microwave in room. Very helpful if you have leftovers and/or want to have cold beer or wine.
This hotel is basic, it's not fancy. But it was clean, spacious and quiet. Slept great all four nights. Also received a discount with AAA card.
Highly reccomend this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmitch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece, Acropolis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I stayed at the George Washington University Inn, when visiting a friend in DC.
The rooms were very spacious (my room had a kitchen also - very comfortable for preparing a quick coffee early in the morning) and clean. Staff was polite and friendly. It is definitely a value for money!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Acropolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Went to DC to soend my birthday with my cousin. Was more than pleased with this property. Central location....short walk to the Watergate and the rest of the sights including the memorials at the Mall. Metro was 2-3 blocks away. Very happy with my stay and will visit there again my next time in DC.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lammyleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

My wife and I were being tourists for MLK weekend, and chose the GWU Inn due to reviews and closeness to the Metro. We found both to be good reasons. Staff were uniformly helpful and friendly, the place was clean (though a little worn in spots), the room (a one bedroom suite) was spacious and very quiet. Will very likely stay with these folks again on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An_Often_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Great hotel in a great location, Walking distance to the White House, Capitol Hill and the national Mall. A nice walk to Arlington and Jefferson memorial but doable! Right beside Kennedy center and walking distance to Georgetown. Spacious rooms, clean, tidy and comfortable. Even though its beside GW university its a quiet area. Great hotel overall!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, General Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Dear GraceyLou,

Thank you for providing feedback about the George Washington University Inn on Trip Advisor. I realize the time it takes to do so.

I am so pleased you had such a great experience with us on your recent visit. I will be sure to share with the team you comments as they always like to hear when things go well.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,636 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,471 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,798 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing